We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words aren't sufficient to describe this experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat
# 104EO, Svaydongkun St, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
+855 63964989
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 103 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Tours
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Angkor Wat, in its beauty and state of preservation, is unrivaled. Its mightiness and magnificence bespeak a pomp and a luxury surpassing that of a Pharaoh or a Shah Jahan, an impressiveness greater than that of the Pyramids, an artistic distinctiveness as fine as that of the Taj Mahal.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Words aren't sufficient to describe this experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The magnificence of this place has to be experienced in person. I've lived long enough to visit quite a number of temples all around the world, and this was the equal of any, for example, Chichen-Itza in Mexico. One of the things I liked best was the relatively gentle restoration: although many parts show wear and tear, their condition is good enough to understand how the site was built and used. If you only have time to visit one temple in Southeast Asia, this should be the one you see.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,708
    1,388
    209
    23
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome architecture, experienced destroyed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

While Angkor Wat is amazing in that it is so old and something that huge and impressive was made alll those years ago, the place really doesn't set my world on fire. The sunrise (which by the way takes place at 6:50am in January) is not impressive at all. It would be if there wasn't giant green scaffolding up there which was there even when I visited 3 years ago. The most famous picture to be taken and they can't be bothered to get the work done and remove the scaffolding revealing what everyone wants to see. Do not leave your hotel 5am. Go at 6:30. The crowd piles in at 5am. It is chaos with Chinese tourists shouting and scrambling for position to take the perfect photo of the green scaffolding with the sun over it. By the time the sun is just above the temple, it is 6:50 maybe 7am. Don't get up early to fight the crowds. By the time the perfect picture is ready to be taken, 75% of the crowd has gone. Do not, unless you are a photography nut, buy any more than a 1 day pass. It might seem like a good idea, but after Bayon, Elephant Wall, Angkor Wat and Tomb Raider temple it all starts looking the same. The children selling the same old useless junk ad nauseam also gets old really quickly. It seems in English class all they teach these malnourished kids is 10 post card one dollaaaaaaar. That is all you will hear from every single child like postcards have just reached cambodia. It's been lilke this for 3 years. The same postcards, the same magnets and the same bracelets. And still one dollaaaaaar. Chinese people are everywhere, shouting, hawking, obstructing your photo, spitting and looking as disinterested as possible. There is scaffolding and construction equipment everywhere. The refurbished pieces are made of cement and most photos will include the new pieces. I would recommend staying away especially if you want the sunrise picture. Go there when they have dragged down the green scaffolding and tarp. Sunset on the hill is also a waste of your $5 for the tuktuk to take you there and the arduous walk up the steep hill. If you are not there with the first 100 people at the front of the queue, forget getting a place on top of the temple to take the photo. There are over 500 people scrambling to get up the steep steps. If you really want a good sunset and sunrise go to the beach or come to a South African safari.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We purchased a 3 day pass and you really should take the 3 days to view everything. We rented a tuk-tuk from our hotel, but you can arrange your own. We decided to book a guide and see Angkor Wat temple during the sunrise. It was well worth getting up early in the morning. I do recommend having a guide with you for at least one day. They know the best tricks for photos and when certain temples are busier than others (Ta Prohm aka the Tomb Raider temple). If you go in July/August, brief downpour of rain will occur. I brought a ziploc bag to put my ticket in as it was easy to show the guards at the entrances and kept it dry during the rain (some temples offer little refuge from the rain). Note, there are some very decent and well kept western bathroom facilities situated around the site. The ones by Angkor Wat restaurant stands charge you to stand up, yet the other facilities are all free to paying visitors.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fascinating history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked a private guide before and chose our own sightings which I recommend doing. We only spent one day there which I think isn't enough even if our heads already were overfilled with information. It was very crowded especially at dawn.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Angkor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I think most has already been said, you must get the 3 day pass as the temples are spread out over many kms , also very hot so take plenty of sunscreen and water late afternoon is a good time to visit but crowded most of the time, had some great chats with many of the monks but be aware some are fake, a real monk will not ask you for money. Angkor Wat really is one of the seven wonders of the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Wat also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Wat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Wat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Angkor Wat to your Saves list