We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiley's Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Smiley's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiley's Guesthouse
21 Boulevard Sivatha | Krom 1, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 342 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have been to Siem Reap twice and both times I stayed at Smileys Guesthouse. This is a family run place where they make all the food and can help you with a range of services and help. From all the places I stayed at between being in Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam this place takes the cake. For $15 you can get a room with A/C and hot water plus if you want 3 beds in one room. It is a great value for money place as the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and they supply you with towels and whatnot. The food is not included in your stay (breakfast is not either) but it is well worth your while eating at their little restaurant in the courtyard. The food is to DIE FOR. that is not an exaggeration because it's the best food i had on my trip. I recommend the pumpkin soup because I literally went to heaven eating it and the club sandwich! Also the chocolate pancakes are definitely worth a try. They also have a brother guesthouse is phenom penh which is fantastic as well. The food is just as good as Siem Reap and the rooms are much more modern and to be honest the bathrooms are a thousand times nicer. For the same price it is worth staying at.

I love Smileys and I will happily stay there again. It is close to the center of town and tuk tuks are easy to get from either the street or the men who work at Smileys. They can organise day trips to Angkor Wat or help out with general advice. The one thing I should say is that the computers are really slow but there are plently of internet cafes around the place that are dirt cheap. Im talking 50c for an hour. Also.. go to angkor wat bar on pub street and you are guaranteed a great night!

Room Tip: Maybe try and get a room which does not face the front of the guesthouse as there is alot of noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
1
15
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat Thani, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed at Smiley's for almost a week while I was in Siem Reap. You can't beat it for $5 USD/ night ($15, I think, for A/C and hot water). It's family run and the staff is super nice. They have two computers with free internet (a bit slow), good food at their restaurant, and it feels more like you're in an old, high end, hotel rather than a cheap guesthouse. Its also only a 10 minute walk or $1 tuk-tuk ride to the night market and Pub Street.

Room Tip: I only paid $5 USD/ night for a good size room with a full bed, fan, and private bathroom. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I've stayed in budget hotels in Thailand, China, and Cambodia, and this is the best budget hotel that I've stayed in. This was a school group, and we had single, double, triple, and quad rooms. My single room had a double bed (excellent mattress: like memory foam, that was an amazing surprise), air conditioning, older 13" TV (worked fine) with local cable TV including CNN and about 35 other channels. The room was very clean: shiny, ceramic tile floor. All our rooms (group rate) were very reasonable; under $20.

Bathroom has on-demand heater: took a bit to figure out to press the button which turns on the shower and then the heater comes on for hot water. Like many Asian bathrooms, the whole bathroom gets wet, so wear the (provided) slippers.

Location is about 12 minutes walk from the Night market, or 15 minutes from the old town market (or take a Tuk Tuk for a couple dollars). Seem quite secure, and the (family-owned) staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was very good: $2.50. Didn't eat other meals there.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room B5, which is shown in pictures. Building B is newer, but building A is well-maintai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed in the Smiley Guesthouse for 7 nights and only that long because one of us got sick. First of all, the rooms are really nice, big and have a comfortable feel. We saw two rooms because we had to move. In our first one, the tv didn't work any more because of the construction (every morning from 10-12, then long tv break, no working in the afternoon...) they had going on in another room. I guess they didn't realize that it was because of that. We told them, but they only offered us a new room the next day. So we had to move after 2-3 days. Pack all our stuff, move to another room. No sorry, no nothing. Just a 1$ more expensive room ("Room has fridge, so you have to pay more"). We lived with that because it was still only 12$ for a/c, tv, fridge but cold water. Hot water would be 15$, but you don't really need it in Siem Reap in March. The cold water was acutally always very warm - WHEN there was water pressure. One day we didn't have water anymore, so they flooded the whole bathroom to clean the pipes with brown, dirty water. After the water turned clear again, the guy just left - with the bathroom still totally dirty from the rust in the pipes. We asked him if he could clean it, and he was really surprised that we wanted him to clean up the mess. He did reluctantly, and left us with a half-dirty bathroom. Ok, lived with that and turned over the key the next day to have the total room cleaned (now we stayed here for about 6 days). We hung out the sign "Please clean room" and left for the temples. Came back: Room of course wasn't clean. We asked for new towels then, and the girl at the counter chatting on facebook said somebody will bring us new ones. After 30 minutes we asked again because we really wanted to get a shower, and she said, that the cleaning lady isn't there right now. So we asked if there is any way we can get a clean towel, and all of a sudden she got up and gave us new ones... She seemed really annoyed to have been disturbed. And talking about disturbed: When ordering breakfast or dinner in the restaurant, we could be lucky if we were heard, because the whole crew sits in front of the tv all day. They don't even start right now with preparing your order, when they want to finish something on tv. All the time, we had the feeling that we were disturbing them in their every-day-life by being guests in their guesthouse. Food was ok, but it was always a hassle to get it. Once, one girl even talked on the phone while taking our order and didn't listen...
The wifi didn't really work as it was supposed to.
I know, we are still in Cambodia and we have to deal with a couple of things differenty than in Europe. But we travel for 4 month now in South East Asia and this was the worst service ever. We can live with broken things in our room, with food not as good and bad tv reception. No worries - but please: At least even apologize and be friendly! ThatÄs all!

There was one highlight in the guesthouse: Our driver to the temples. He was VERY friendly and always observant and helpful. The best service in the guesthouse. If he hadn't been there, we would have moved a couple of days earlier. He even sometimes brought us the menu to order food (normally you had to get it yourself).

So, if you want to stay there, you should know, that the rooms are nice, the food is ok, but the service is the worst.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We had a lovely room for about $10; unlike many budget rooms in SE Asia it looked as though a bit of thought had gone into the decor, rather than just being furnished with cast-offs from someone's grandma. The restaurant was in a lovely partly open-air garden setting with big wicker chairs which were perfect for relaxing in the shade after a hard day's sightseeing.

Some of the staff weren't that helpful but it didn't really detract from our visit. We hired push-bikes for local trips for $1.50 a day and they were fine.

We discovered when we went out in the evening that the guest house is next door to a brothel, but nobody bothered us.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Smiley's is a very, very nice place withy a great patio with a area where you can eat, but also chill out. Staff is very friendly. clientelle divers and so are the room. There are rooms from $4 to $ 15 dollar, from very basic (cold water, fan, but all rooms have a bathroom in the room) to full equiped with aircon, TV and hot water.
Like a second home. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed there every year from 2003 to 2007 and can only recommend the house. It is well situated, cheap enough, a variety of rooms, has a fine garden and friendly staff.
No one is forced to use the tuck-tuck servive from the house. There are plenty of opportunities everywhere. The food is OK but there are better places in the town. If you only want to have breakfast or drink some beer in the evening the place is as good as any place and the garden is better.
The criticism in some articles neglect the fact that Smyley's is a budget place and friendly guests usually get a better servive than those who only demand and expect 5 Star facililies.
In the last stays I notived some red light places quite nearby but they where usually frequented by locals and did not affect my stay.
I will be there Nov, 2009 again and will write again then.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiley's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiley's Guesthouse

Address: 21 Boulevard Sivatha | Krom 1, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 342 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Smiley's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiley`s Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiley's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.