We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but I bet there's better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mekong Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mekong Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Mekong Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Road Taphul, Taphul Village, Svay Dangkum Commune | Siem Reap Central Area, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Xi'an, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay, but I bet there's better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pros:
*Property and rooms appeared clean
*Staff was very helpful with holding luggage, answering questions and helping with arrangements
*Pool is very clean though quite small. Pool lounges are comfy (there are only four).

Cons:
*Breakfast would probably have been good if we'd eaten as soon as it was put out. Food is not kept warm, so that left me with toast and fruit. (Sorry, cold eggs...)
*The noise level was aggravating on multiple occasions. We were one floor above the lobby and heard clanking of breakfast dishes, the hallway (staff) phone rang several times just outside our door, the coming and going up the staircase was loud. One morning, we were awakened at 2:40 by pool splashes, laughter, screaming, door slams and furniture scraping the floor. Apparently the staff did nothing to quiet these guests because this went on for an hour. Sure, this may be rare, but I was surprised the staff allowed this for so long.
*It's quite a walk to good restaurants and attractions. Tuk tuks are plentiful.

So You Know:
*Many tuk tuk drivers had never heard of this hotel. The front desk has business cards. Be sure to take a couple to show the drivers.
*There is a Mekong Hotel a street or two over. Make sure the drivers understand this is the B&B, not hotel. Helpful if you can kind of point them in the right direction once you're close.
*The bathroom is a shoilet, meaning the sink, toilet and shower are all in one small (but big enough) room. This is quite normal in Asia, but there are some out there with separate shower area so the entire floor doesn't get wet if you prefer that.
*The housekeeping staff won't make up your room unless you put the sign on the door. The bed will be made, trash changed and fresh towels delivered if you hang the sign but not if you don't. No big deal - just so you know.
*There is no elevator.

Room Tip: If at all possible, skip the rooms that face the stairs. The staircase is this big, wooden one that...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at The Mekong Bed & Breakfast for 4 nights, We hadn't booked any accommadation for our arrival at Siem Reap, the taxi driver who was there to pick us up from our bus suggested the place so we went and had a look, deciding to stay there $25 pn including breakfast, the room are basic but lovely and clean, the air conditioner worked well, and the beds were comfortable, the staff are all young people and so much fun, couldn't do enough for you, the breakfast is basic, asian and western food, there was plenty of it fresh fruit, hot food I had the omelette they were nice, different choices of eggs, toast , but no cereal, which I love in the morning. I can recommend the hotel for good value. it also has a pool small but nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have just spent 2 nights at this hotel. The staff are very helpful and the place quite clean. Certainly the beds are. Breakfast is good but you have to eat as soon as it opens because the food is not kept warm. The containers are not heated. The lids are left open so all heat is lost. The staff will help you with your tours. Theres a dip pool which is very nice and clean surrounded by sunbeds where you can relax after your busy day.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be off the nsin road do not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spend 3 nights there with friends, had book 2 rooms in this hostel. Rooms was not clean when we were there and 1 of the room was infested with bedbugs as well.

Location and breakfast was not something to be desired as it is not really that near to the pub street.

Overpriced Hostel at $25/night including breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms and a great location to explore pub street, the temples etc. From meeting other travellers in Siem Reap you can get more for your money if you shop around, and the wireless signal and breakfast left something to be desired. but otherwise would stay here again, especially for the reception staff who cant do enough to help

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff
Good proportion of price and quality/
The swimming pool is not so big as I`d like, but it was clean, and I enjoyed the gidromassage :)
WIFI is good, when you live in the room near wifibox)
My friends were not so lucky, so they had to visit me or sit on the hall floor under the box.
But I give my highest rate to the hotel because of friendly people and beautiful Siem Reap
Thanks a lot, guys!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was there for one night with my wife and kid. The hotel is good; price is acceptable ($17/night) including breakfast. The hotel facilities is also good and it's next to night market (just 5mn walk). There you also can find the tour services and ask for tour information.

The hotel has airport/bus pick up service which is very convenience for those who difficult to find taxi/tuk tuk...

....however, the hotel has a small pool which difficult to swim. There is no lift and you can imagine when stay on the top floor. hotel provide breakfast but from 7 to 9am only; i was missed that breakfast due woke up late

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mekong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mekong Bed & Breakfast

Address: Road Taphul, Taphul Village, Svay Dangkum Commune | Siem Reap Central Area, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming budget hotel located in the heart of Siem Reap town, The Mekong Bed & Breakfast is just a short drive from the famous temple of Angkor Wat "the world heritage site." The Mekong Bed & Breakfast had been turned into 42 rooms private en-suite, designed with comfort and style, Convenience and Accessibility. The hotel located just only 10 minutes walks to night market, old market and Pub Street. We are stepping from the national rout number 6,100 meters south of Caltex station and about 150 meters crossing Sivutha Boulevard by left from Angkor Market and Lucky mail. A peaceful location, garden-like, and a small Jacuzzi pool lighting, this will make you feel very relax. The Mekong Bed & Breakfast also offer a restaurant & bar at a very cool music and relaxation at the ground floor with a combination of western and Khmer Traditional food. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mekong Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.