We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond La Residence d'Angkor to your Saves list
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #17 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stay four nights at the Spa suite and everything was as expected and more. The only thing we were not use to there were a little bit of ants around the counter but the room service quickly took care of it. The foods are average but consider how poor the country is, one shall feel quilty to complain. The spa is the best we had tried even better than Four Seasons Chiang Mai or Bali. However we do feel disappointed with the conducts of some clients especially the westerner, they are so picky on everything. One woman request to see the spa facilities, materials use and personnels before decide whether to sign up for the treatments. One white guy complain about the $5 extra charge over the lunch which is included in his package. I feel sorry for these people if they thought three or four dollars extra are such a big deal they shall stay somewhere else. This is one very poor country and we shall do our best to help them, not complain about materials use in the spa or milk does not taste the same as back home. We enjoy our stay here and the few days in this country really make us feel bless to live in Canada!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    118
    30
    11
    1
See reviews for
169
528
52
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Definitely the best hotel of our trip. We enjoyed two beautiful connecting rooms, very nicely decorated. Wifi in rooms. Bathroom is spacious. Great service and very friendly staff. The pool is wonderful and a great way to relax after visiting Angkor Wat. The location of the hotel is just perfect. Reception and concierge staff very helpful. The restaurant serves a great breakfast buffet. We also enjoyed a nice dinner. Seriously, I can't think of any negatives for this hotel. Unfortunately I didn't have the time to try the spa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I think this was one of the best hotel I 've seen in my life...and because of businness I'm used to be in a lot of very good hotels...but this one was much more...I love the nature and here you're really part of it!! We arrived in the evening and the admosphere was amazing, close to the swimming pool a lot of small frogs where looking at you curiously, the very romantic lightening...and the rooms...well this is the best part of it, you have a huuuge window looking at the swimming pool, no insects, everything in dark wood, very very stylish. I'm sure there is a woman behind all this...

The welcome drink was also quite an interesting fruit mix...

If I come back to siem reap, this will be my number one.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

A charming hotel with smiling and willing staff, located a ten minute walk from the main market. We stayed 5 nights.

We particularly enjoyed our first floor river view room (No. 30) which curiously was cheaper than a pool view room. There is a road between the hotel and the river but the double glazed windows excluded nearly all sound and the scene is pretty and interesting. It was too hot while we were there to be tempted to sit out on the balcony.

The room was beautifully designed and well laid out, although elderly or less mobile guests would have difficulty using the very high bath in which the shower is also located. Wet shaving was no problem in the very wide discs of hand basins. There are no wardrobes, just a hanging area adjacent to the bathroom. The safe is located low down against the wall and is hard to use.

Suggest taking some insect spray as the room had a resident swarm of mosquitoes necessitating using the mosquito net over the bed, but as Siem Reap is regarded as a high risk area for malaria we took malaria prophylaxis anyway, which is not always 100% effective.

The pool is excellent as it is about 30 m long enabling a proper swim. Obtaining pool side service was not easy as the staff member assigned there also has to look after the outside “grill” area, so was difficult to locate..

The bar operates a happy hour and the cocktails are not notable for their generosity, being light on alcohol. We soon learnt that it was very much cheaper and better to eat and drink outside the hotel.

Our package included breakfast and one dinner which we used on one of the three nights on which the apsara dancers gave a short performance -Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. We were underwhelmed by the meal and whether it was ‘free’ or not were not tempted to dine in the hotel again. In fairness Cambodian cuisine is bland in comparison to Thai, but the area that lets the hotel down is its food. Breakfasts were OK but nothing special. The home made breads (usually a choice of two) and pastries were good as were the home made jams. Service is patchy at best in the dining room. It was difficult to get a second cup of coffee and anything ordered a la carte such as eggs Benedict usually arrived warm, not hot.

Generally service throughout the hotel was variable. Room servicing was the highlight. There was no evidence of any management supervision except during the dinner which had to accommodate a large group and as the dining room was full the expat F&B Manger was actively supervising. This was the only time we saw any sign of management which probably accounts for the variable service.

Beware of the hidden extras. We were slugged with a 17% addition to our bill which was not apparent either on the website or on the emailed confirmation. This was explained as 5% service, 2% hotel tax and 10% VAT.

Our tip for dinner outside was Sugar Palm restaurant a US$2 ride but moto or tuk tuk from the hotel. Ask the hotel concierge to book a table on the veranda.

Again tours organised through the hotel are very expensive and we set these up outside. Beware there are many steep steps at some temples, including Angkor Wat and when we went in April it was extremely hot. A hat or even better an umbrella is a must as is sunscreen and closed walking shoes. Women should wear shorts below the knees, or a skirt, to be allowed entry to any Buddhist temples.

Siem Reap is a great destination and is the highlight of our experience in SE Asia. We always felt totally safe and there was not the same propensity for people to rip off the foreigners at every turn as in more sophisticated destinations – no doubt that will change in time.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was our wedding anniversary getaway, and I could not have chosen a more beautiful place to stay. Food was fresh, beautifully cooked and presented. We ate all our meals at the hotel - food was too good to go elsewhere..the ginger ice cream was to die for. We had several spa treatments - this would have to be one of the most sophisticated spa retreats I have ever been to. Decor was cool and contemporary, with much use of granite, glass and water. We stayed in a Residence Suite. HUGE! The bed alone must have been 7 ft wide. We loved the pool area - massive pool, heaps of sun loungers, attentive staff taking drinks orders. The hotel also arranged all our siteseeing, we didn't have to do a thing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Everything I can say about La Residence d'Angkor is really positive. Since we arrived we really felt special, the service is amazing and all the staff is really kind and charming. The hotel itself is beautiful, small and charming, and they really take care of every single detail. The rooms are really awesome, and so the pool, spa and the rest of the amenities. It is well located by the river and 5 min. walking distance to the most crowded centre in Siem Reap.
As an example, I would just say that I forgot my mobile phone in the room when I left he hotel. I just made a call to the reception, and they kindly took care of everything and sent it back home to me. I really appreciated the service!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

The moment we entered the lobby we were greeted with the most lovely smiling staff and when we checked in we were given vouchers for the spa and complimentary cocktail.
our room overlooked the pool and it was so spacious and inviting, the room serivce was spot on, and replensihed at all times during the day..no wet towels here !!!
the pool area is just amazing and it was my 40th, so they presented me with a lovely cake at dinner. if only 5 days went on and on.... definately book this hotel its a total wonder.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate luxury hotel near Angkor Wat, set within a leafy walled garden. From here you are ideally placed to explore Siem Reap and to visit the temples of Angkor Wat, one of the man-made wonders of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.