We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Save Saved
You added Belmond La Residence d'Angkor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off published rates
Ranked #9 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was a very nice experience. Every person is nice, kind, helpful. The food is excellent, the room and all areas in the hotel are very beautiful, including decoration, furniture. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose the river side rooms, because it is close from the street, and a little more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    751
    109
    26
    10
    1
See reviews for
159
496
46
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Veal Sbov
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My room was on the ground floor, poolside - it's great that the lush vegetation prevents people from looking in.The bathroom has a huge tub, which is not exactly practical. but worked as a shower too. Wifi in the room is complimentary and worked very well. I loved everything, from the wooden architecture, the spaciousness of the room, the beautiful garden setting and the very attentive staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a 3 week trip through SE Asia where we stayed at some amazing properties, including the Park Hyatt in Saigon, the Nam Hai in Hoi An, and the Hotel de la Paix in Luang Prabang. So we came with high expectations and they were all met!

We were a large group including 4 children and the hotel worked for all of us. The property is beautifully built with teak wood and has lovely gardens, water features and a wonderful center pool which we really enjoyed in hot Siem Reap. The regular rooms are spacious with huge bathrooms. The ones over looking the pool are lovely and centrally located. We also had a junior suite with a fabulous deck and a gigantic bathroom and dressing room/closet space, which served us well as we shared it with some of the kids.

Breakfast was great with a hot and cold buffet, made to order omelets and an a la carte menu. We had lunch in the restaurant too and ordered room service dinner which was also fantastic. Service was great with a kind, efficient and helpful staff. Lastly, it is centrally located and very close to Pub Street. We can't wait to stay again in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I don't know what the other high end properties are like here in Siem Reap but everything about this wonderful property Is magnificent. Took great cooking class with the chef and loved every minute of it. The only problem was we were not able to stay long enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We got a good deal through Jetsetter.com (160usd per night) and spent three nights at the hotel in early June. The check in process was fast and the lady was very friendly, helpful and professional with her tour of the room and facilities. We were given a ground floor room facing pool and didn't have an issue with traffic noise or privacy as mentioned by previous reviewers though we could hear the housekeepers shouting and talking with each other at times. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and well maintained. The pool is large and provided a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap - only minor gripe is the two unsightly plastic filtration pipes protruding from the side garden propped up by an old paint tin and lack of shade in the area but hey, it's not a big deal in the grand scheme of things.

The room was large and well maintained with a very comfortable bed and nice bedding. Bathroom was huge with giant bath tub and twin basins. Very comfortable overall. The gym was nice, though equipment is a tad outdated was good enough for a run on the treadmill. Breakfast was a bit of a let down. No problem with selection with a buffet and a la carte but coffee was bitter, fruit dry and omelet served cold and chewy croissants, we felt there was room for improvement in this area to compete with other five star hotels. Breakfast staff were nice and helpful.

We didn't end up trying the dinner at the hotel as prices were unjustifiably high, same went for the spa and room service. We are not stingy travellers and expect to pay more staying in five star hotels but felt the hotel could re-assess the value of its services and align prices accordingly - Lucky there are lots of amazing places to eat in SR so we weren't to bothered about hanging around in the evenings anyway.

We booked a day tour of Angkor Wat, Bayon and Angkor Thom through the hotel for $125 usd with high expectations. The tour was fantastic and tour guide very knowledgable having worked as a guide for 15 years and took us through all the best vantage points and also to a smaller more remote temple which was lovely. Highly recommend visiting the temples with a guide if your time is limited.

During check out we were charged for some unused items in the mini bar. The man at the front desk explained that we had already been charged (although I had not yet paid) and could not void the items off the bill. He offered to fetch the items from the room for us to take with us, however we were in a rush to get to the airport and couldn't be bothered so ended up paying for the unused items.

All in all we had a nice stay at La Residence, excellent location and friendly staff... but would be tempted to try elsewhere next time. The potential is there but some room for improvement to meet the advertised five star rating

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantasic location for visiting the temples - the hotel-organised daytrip was perfectly timed and done at the right speed for the temperature! Make sure you take an extra trip back to see sunrise (USD15 return for a tuktuk, arranged through hotel reception).
The service from reception to the restaurants to the pool area to the room cleaning was all top-notch.
A beautful area; i wish i'd stayed longer than 4 days, so i could explore more.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a pool-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A perfect location to explore siem reap. Food is awesome, staff are super helpful, facilities are just what you want to match the surroundings. Rooms are nice and modern with plasma tvs, high end finishes, good a/c, solid modern asian decor. Massive bathroom. Balcony overlooking the pool. Swin in the pool at night when the fires are going, magic. Team this up with tour by ABOUT Asia and you will not regret any of it.

Room Tip: pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#11 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate luxury hotel near Angkor Wat, set within a leafy walled garden. From here you are ideally placed to explore Siem Reap and to visit the temples of Angkor Wat, one of the man-made wonders of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orient Express, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.