We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just off the mark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond La Residence d'Angkor to your Saves list
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #17 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just off the mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although a good hotel with all the facilities you would expect we found irritations that detracted from our stay. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, but in our room the shower didn't always work ( except when you called the engineer and it was perfect when he turned it on). The catering was off the mark eating outside, even in a hot climate, needs prompt service and it wasn't.

Upsides are the friendly, helpful staff, the spa, which is excellent, and if you are really lucky you will be greeted by the charming general manager.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    118
    30
    11
    1
See reviews for
169
528
52
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is truly 5 star and is located very close to the markets of Siem Reap.
Airport pickup was on time and very comfortable van.
We had a pool side room and facilities were excellent.
Staff were always very friendly and welcoming and looking to please.
Meals at both restaurants were very good and great buffet selection for breakfast.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have eaten here 3 times, first in October 2012 and then twice again in January of this year.
This review is for the environment, and restaurant only.
Its a real ‘treat yourself’ menu, with some thought provoking choices, both Asian and western, and easy alternatives for the youngsters, with a ‘to die for’ chocolate fondue that will have them begging to return!
The dishes we’ve had have all been excellent, and the wine superb. If you get confused with choices the senior staff in here are fantastic help,
Check out when their cultural dance evenings are too, and sit outside for a great view,.
I love the feel of this establishment; it has a great ambience, in a very charming and exciting way, blending the interior with the beautifully kept surroundings is exquisite.
It is rather pricy, but I have come to expect that in Asian hotels at this star level,
Hope to stay here one day. We shall certainly continue to visit the restaurant on our future visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loulé, Faro, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent hotel which lived up to my expectations in every respect! When next in Siem Reap this will certainly be my hotel of choice. Service with a smile was the order of the day - a staff who obviously cared about their patrons. The food in the various restaurants was excellent which meant that we were more than happy to try dishes that we have never tasted before and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here in January with three friends for a bit of luxury in between backpacking travels. The aiport pick up was faultless and set the tone for the stay. We had a lovely standard room a few steps away from the pool where we spent a lot of our time.

There were lots of surprising little touches that made us all smile - the complimentary fruit kebabs brought round as we were laid by the pool were very refreshing!

The bar was beautifully airy and comfortable with great cocktails. We sampled a lot of the snack menu here - the pizzas being the highlight.

Breakfast was a treat every morning, especially with a table out on the terrace. There was a great buffet with lots of fresh pastries and fruit. Coffee refills were always quick and the ALC selection extensive.

We had dinner in their Circle restaurant on our last night. The menu was just right, mixing tastes we knew from home with tastes of Cambodia and the tasting menu was a great end to the trip. It was a surprise to find so much was homemade on the premises and done so well.

All of the staff were very friendly and did their best to help. We were out at 4am on one day to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat and it was great to have our car waiting with fresh take away breakfasts. Lots of the staff had great stories to tell and were always found with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The property was design after Angkor Wat. We were picked up promptly from the airport by the hotel staff. Upon meeting us at the airport we were given cookies and water to eat in the van on our way to the hotel. When we arrived the staff took their time to show us our room, facility and the activities we could participate in during our stay. My husband had the 90 min massage which he said was incredible. The pool was like bath water it felt great after a long day of site seeing. We had fresh fruit and pastries fresh in our room daily. Our 29 year old son was with us which they set up an extra bed in the room the downside was there was no privacy in the room when taking a shower. It made it impossible for me to get ready without having my son leave the room. The hotel is in a great location next to the night market. I loved their night market they had dancers with great bargains. I spent some time at the Artisian Market earlier in the day the quality was OK at an inflated price. On a side note their is such an outcry to help the children in Cambodia. I was happy to see even our hotel asking tourist to do whatever they could to help the children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was our best stay ever...in 2010, we were so excited to go back after great memories.
FIrst of all no more management welcome as it use to be before, a nice touch that we expect for such properties. Specially that the price increased drastically.
The room was not as appealing as before, the amenities looks cheaper, the hot water was difficult to adjust, overall a lack of maintenance is obvious.
The food was tasteless, we had dinner only one time, then we headed to Raffles were the standards were still up compare to our journey in 2010.
The Spa was disappointing, we were bitten by mosquitoes during our session which wasted our experience.
Breakfast was also less attractive, and the service went down as well.
Overpriced, lack of management and maintenance.
Our stay was ok but so far from what we used to experience before.
This is a sad observation. We will not stay at La Residence d'Angkor anymore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate luxury hotel near Angkor Wat, set within a leafy walled garden. From here you are ideally placed to explore Siem Reap and to visit the temples of Angkor Wat, one of the man-made wonders of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.