We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, tranquil retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Save Saved
You added Belmond La Residence d'Angkor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary night
Ranked #17 of 223 hotels in Siem Reap
Cape Town Central
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I would definitely recommend this beautiful, tranquil retreat with elegant, wooden decor and fine attention to detail. The staff were friendly and courteous, going out of their way to make us comfortable. I particularly enjoyed a delicious dinner in the candle-lit garden, while enjoying watching some serene traditional music and dancing. The spa is truly beautiful, a lovely, cool, relaxing atmosphere, and the service discreet and professional, serving a nice ginger-spiced tea after the treatment. Breakfast was also a highlight - I didn't need another mouthful for the rest of the day, although I couldn't resist a tangy salad and some Asian wraps for lunch! Thank you so much La Residence d'Angkor, it was one of the highlights of our time in Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    112
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
165
505
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

La residence was the first stop of our holiday in Cambodia.
From the instant of our arrival the welcome was very warm and professional .nothing was too much trouble. The front desk staff were first class- polite, helpful, informative and always ready to help. The management were also very much in evidence , which was all to the good.
We had a lovely big room, and good size bathroom. Fresh milk for morning tea was provided readily!
The swimming pool is big enough for lap swimming and is not purely decorative.
There was a good choice at breakfast and we had dinner in the restaurant once. Although far from full we had an excellent meal ( though not cheap!) with the customary superb service,
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Super Service at this Hotel, highly recommended when staying at Siem Reap. A truly wonderful, top of the pops, world class Service and Quality at Hotel Restaurant - despite stiff prices. Really, truly outstanding! The lobby lounge is superb, the reception is truly helpful and the hotel grounds are a delight. Not much to add - visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Siem Reap is an up and coming town with much diversity to discover... quite different from other places we visited. This hotel was beautifully appointed. The staff was perfectly professional and service was graciously delivered. Temple touring is a hot and sweaty adventure and returning home to LaResidence was always a delight as you were greeted at the entry by a smiling face handing you an ice cold cotton cloth right out of a cooler. It is heavenly and so appreciated. There are benches right outside the grounds along the river offering a lovely restorative place to sit in the shade and watch as life passed by. There are some unique boutique shops right across the river, a 2 minute walk. Some world class new designers offering delightful silk and high quality fabric garments you won't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpassar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this top notch 5 star hotel. Wonderful staff offering friendly service. Excellent food. Beautiful pool and gardens. We can really recommed this hotel fo it's service, location and friendly staff. Thank you to management and staff

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just left this quaint hotel in Siem Reap, and need to express our deep gratitude to Mr. Jacques Varet and the entire staff. My wife came down with a very bad case of food poisoning (in Laos) and needed to go the hospital (Royal Angkor Hospital by the way is first rate, and the staff and doctors there were excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to return there again if I needed to). The entire staff at La Residence were concerned, caring and checked in with us regularly to make sure my wife was recovering well.

By the time we left there today, we felt like we were leaving a group of family and friends. The hotel is very nice, and if you book with AMEX Platinum, there are several wonderful benefits you can take advantage of. The only improvement would be the way the shower is set up in the room...in that the shower is part of the bath tub. You can always shower at the Spa if you are need of a traditional shower. A small price to pay for the great service.

Thank you all again, and enjoy the sweetest Cambodian smiles!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very friendly reception, beautiful room (we had a deluxe poolside room on the 3rd floor for 5 nights) with spacious bath, helpful and friendly staff, large breakfast buffet and very good food in both restaurants, although I have to say that the fine dining restaurant is substantially overcharging (we made the same experience in 2010 and 2011 at Yangon's Governor's Residence which is run by the same company). We have eaten very good food in Siem Reap on numerous occasions at a fraction of the price charged here. Nevertheless, we would definitely come back here, as the hotel is very nice in all respects, is beatifully set, not too big and has a tranquil atmosphere that allows you to relax after the long hours spent at Angkor's wonders.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool side rooms, the higher up the better, as they get more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap | Kingdom of Cambodia, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate luxury hotel near Angkor Wat, set within a leafy walled garden. From here you are ideally placed to explore Siem Reap and to visit the temples of Angkor Wat, one of the man-made wonders of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Belmond, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Residence d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.