We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond La Residence d'Angkor to your Saves list
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now to Save 15%
Ranked #33 of 276 Hotels in Siem Reap
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

La residence was the first stop of our holiday in Cambodia.
From the instant of our arrival the welcome was very warm and professional .nothing was too much trouble. The front desk staff were first class- polite, helpful, informative and always ready to help. The management were also very much in evidence , which was all to the good.
We had a lovely big room, and good size bathroom. Fresh milk for morning tea was provided readily!
The swimming pool is big enough for lap swimming and is not purely decorative.
There was a good choice at breakfast and we had dinner in the restaurant once. Although far from full we had an excellent meal ( though not cheap!) with the customary superb service,
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Super Service at this Hotel, highly recommended when staying at Siem Reap. A truly wonderful, top of the pops, world class Service and Quality at Hotel Restaurant - despite stiff prices. Really, truly outstanding! The lobby lounge is superb, the reception is truly helpful and the hotel grounds are a delight. Not much to add - visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyouslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Siem Reap is an up and coming town with much diversity to discover... quite different from other places we visited. This hotel was beautifully appointed. The staff was perfectly professional and service was graciously delivered. Temple touring is a hot and sweaty adventure and returning home to LaResidence was always a delight as you were greeted at the entry by a smiling face handing you an ice cold cotton cloth right out of a cooler. It is heavenly and so appreciated. There are benches right outside the grounds along the river offering a lovely restorative place to sit in the shade and watch as life passed by. There are some unique boutique shops right across the river, a 2 minute walk. Some world class new designers offering delightful silk and high quality fabric garments you won't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpassar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this top notch 5 star hotel. Wonderful staff offering friendly service. Excellent food. Beautiful pool and gardens. We can really recommed this hotel fo it's service, location and friendly staff. Thank you to management and staff

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just left this quaint hotel in Siem Reap, and need to express our deep gratitude to Mr. Jacques Varet and the entire staff. My wife came down with a very bad case of food poisoning (in Laos) and needed to go the hospital (Royal Angkor Hospital by the way is first rate, and the staff and doctors there were excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to return there again if I needed to). The entire staff at La Residence were concerned, caring and checked in with us regularly to make sure my wife was recovering well.

By the time we left there today, we felt like we were leaving a group of family and friends. The hotel is very nice, and if you book with AMEX Platinum, there are several wonderful benefits you can take advantage of. The only improvement would be the way the shower is set up in the room...in that the shower is part of the bath tub. You can always shower at the Spa if you are need of a traditional shower. A small price to pay for the great service.

Thank you all again, and enjoy the sweetest Cambodian smiles!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNestersQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very friendly reception, beautiful room (we had a deluxe poolside room on the 3rd floor for 5 nights) with spacious bath, helpful and friendly staff, large breakfast buffet and very good food in both restaurants, although I have to say that the fine dining restaurant is substantially overcharging (we made the same experience in 2010 and 2011 at Yangon's Governor's Residence which is run by the same company). We have eaten very good food in Siem Reap on numerous occasions at a fraction of the price charged here. Nevertheless, we would definitely come back here, as the hotel is very nice in all respects, is beatifully set, not too big and has a tranquil atmosphere that allows you to relax after the long hours spent at Angkor's wonders.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool side rooms, the higher up the better, as they get more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uhu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arriving here after a long flight, they immediately made me feel welcome and at home. I loved everything, from the wooden architecture, the spaciousness of the room, the beautiful garden setting and the very attentive staff.
My room was on the ground floor, poolside - it's great that the lush vegetation prevents people from looking in.
The bathroom has a huge tub, which is not exactly practical. but worked as a shower too.
Wifi in the room is complimentary and worked very well.
Breakfast buffet offered everything I needed - it has a nice outdoor setting, although sometimes noise comes in from the street.
Upon arrival the staff advised when to keep the windows closed briefly, because once a week they are fumigating against mosquitoes, which I guess is necessary because of the proximity to the river (most guests would have been out at that time).
The location is great for an easy stroll to the night markets, pub street etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#35 of 276 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shinta Mani Club
Shinta Mani Club
#1 of 276 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 stars 2,374 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor @Borei Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#29 of 276 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 3,187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#18 of 276 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
11.0 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence d'Angkor

Address: River Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia is an intimate retreat that beautifully captures the region's history while offering every modern luxury. Located close by Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Tonle Sap Lake, it's an ideal base to explore the wonders of the region. Siem Reap's lively markets, galleries and thriving restaurant and bar scene are just steps away. Local elegance and stylish luxury are the hallmarks of the hotel's rooms and suites, furnished with traditional hardwoods and bamboo and exquisitely decorated in soft cottons and jewel-toned silks. At Circle restaurant, enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of International and Khmer cuisine or enjoy more relaxed fare at Ember. The Martini Lounge is a relaxed cocktail lounge with impressive views of the gardens. A tropical oasis-like large swimming pool is at the heart of the hotel and is complimented by the tranquil Kong Kea Spa. The hotel also benefits from a fitness centre, two boutiques, a tour desk and complimentary daily activities such as a monk blessing or shopping tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Residence d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence d`Angkor By Orient-Express Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing