We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Save Saved
You added Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great location; excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

For our three days stay in Siem Reap I checked out all 4&5 * hotels on the internet and Tripadvisor site. Based on the reviews, location and because of the fact that we prefer the old charm over minimalistic and modern properties in places steeped in history like Siem Reap, we decided to book the Raffles Grand Hotel. Via the American Express Platinum deal, the price of the room included: Buffet- breakfast; one buffet-dinner for two persons, guaranteed late check-out (4.00 pm), one Spa treatment (between 10 am- 5pm) for half price and an upgrade (which we didn't get, although the hotel was only half full).
.
We had arranged an airport pick-up and after arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with great warmth, got a cold towel and a welcome drink and were checked-in very quickly and efficiently. The hotel-manager came by to welcome us personally.
We went up to our room, a de luxe state room in the old (main) part of the building, in the lovely 1930-th wooden elevator with iron bars and brass buttons. Walking down the stone-tiled corridors in the main building seemed like walking down a hospital corridor

The room was very nice and richly decorated with a small balcony, overlooking the pool. The beds were among the best we ever slept in in a hotel. The only downside was the bathroom: Very, very small and very dated; no separate shower and to step into the bath was rather tricky. The toilet was squeezed in between the sink and the bath. Quite disappointing and unexpected and certainly not in line with the $360, ++ a night price tag!
However: I have never seen so many amenities in a hotel-bathroom!
Over 50 TV channels: Many English, French, German, even Dutch; Internet was not free of charge.

The dinner buffet was good. An abundance of choice and exquisite taste. However: As there were only about 10 guests in the large restaurant, which was brightly illuminated and therefore not very cosy, we felt a bit forelorn.
Buffet breakfast was one of the best we ever had. Endless choice and eggs cooked, scrambled and fried to your liking. Freshly squeezed juices and fruit in abundance.

The service was second to none. The valet at the door greeted us by our name; whenever we took the elevator up or down, someone jumped in to help us and asked us how are day/evening had been or what our plans were for the day.
The restaurant staff was exceptional in every way, so was staff at the pool
We were however a bit disappointed by the concierges and the staff at the reception: Somehow they couldn't remember our name or room number and the third day, when we made an inquiry at the concierges desk; the concierge (whom we had spoken a few times before) even asked us if we were guests of the hotel!
Housekeeping was impeccable. We had the distinct impression they came to check the room every two hours or so: Every time we came back in the room, the wastebasket had been emptied and again clean towels. The fruitbasket was replenished may be three times a day.

Via the hotel we had arranged for a driver and guide. Our guide, Hahn, was absolutely the best. He showed us all the beautiful sites, Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom with it's Bayon, Elephant Terrace and Lepracy Terrace and (not to be missed:) Ta Prohm. Everywhere he pointed out the best spots to take pictures, was very knowledgable, spoke English very well (so did our driver) and told us so much about the history and about his own experience during the dark period of the Khmer Rouge. We were very impressed! We visited the floating village in lake Tonle Sap and the local markets of Siem Reap.

Our overall feeling and impressions of the public areas of the hotel, be it the lobby, the lounge, the main restaurant and the bar in the basement were mixed: Everything made a rather sterile impression, both in the day time, but certainly during the evening, when everything was too brightly illuminated. Too bad, because we had hoped for and expected the warm, colonial touch with perhaps some French influences.
We really missed the possibility of having cocktails or dinner outside on a terrace, as many hotels have.
The lack of atmosphere (greatly missed) was however very much compensated by the warmth, friendliness and the impeccable service of the hotel staff.

Nonetheless: The Raffles Grand Hotel, the Grand Old Lady of Siem Reap, is highly recommended. It is situated in it's own large grounds and the location is by far the best (opposite the Royal Residence and the National Museum is around the corner). Walking distance to the modern shopping mall and the Victoria Angkor Hotel, which still has the old colonial touch and feeling.
Service is second to none: Exceptional and warm and most of all: Genuine.

New hotels are being built all over Siem Reap. Fortunately: The Old Charm will remain in hotels like The Raffles Grand hotel d' Angkor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    146
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
128
413
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

What more do you want. Actually there was plenty more. We arrived SAturday nigth and were greeted by the staff with excellent care. The building is very old but really well maintained like the Greenbriar or some fine European hotels. The is an old elevator with the wire screen cage and operator. Rooms were large with very tall ceilings, hardwood floors , large bathrooms with refurbished Antique fixtures, great shower tub combo and good air conditioning which was great seeing it was over 90 degrees each day and very humid.
Our tour guide had us up for tours each day and out at 7 am to see the ruins early to get us done by 2 pm at which time we went back to hotel to swim and cool off. We also had massage coupons which was a great deal 25.00 us for a 55 minute massage. Mine was actually over an hour and 10 minutes. Also great breakfast included
The staff was great. The small city was very accesable 4 minutes by tuk tuk, and we ate most meals in town at great places. The temple of Angkor Thom, Bayon were really the highlight with the Buddah faces carved from the rocks. Angor Wat a much larger complex but less ornate carvings and statues but archiology was amazing. Would recommend in a second.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I went to Siem Reap with my 62 year old parents. I booked Raffles using AMEX Platinum Fine Hotels Program and therefore was given (1) guaranteed late checkout at 0400pm (2) free buffet breakfast (3) free room upgrade and (4) one free dinner per room, up to 2 people per room. My parents and I had joining rooms which overlooked the pool area on the 4th floor. Each morning, b/c we were jetlagged, we craved coffee around 0500am and since the hotel restaurant didnt open until 0600am, we were given complimentary coffee via room service each morning. Breakfast buffet, by the way, was possibly the best I have ever had given most hotels give continental breakfasts when they are included in your room rate. Also, there were water bottles and fruit in our room daily, free of charge. Great little cafe where you can buy sandwiches or sweets across from the gift shop. Internet pcs are available in the lobby area on each floor (we paid $3 for 30 mins, which could be used at any time during our stay). Many english-speaking tv stations (incl. HBO, CNN, etc) were available and all hotel employees that we came into contact with spoke very good english. We had dinner at the Apsara terrace which was amazing by buffet food and performance standards. Concierge also arrange our private tour guide and driver ($75 per day), both of whom were so cordial, knowledgeable and accommodating to our scheduling needs. Two downsides: (1) my mother tried the spa and wasnt crazy about it. I agree b/c I used the facilities for showering prior to my flight and they were outdated (2) we had the lunch buffet one day and it came out to $90 - of course, we didnt check the price before b/c we assumed it would more like $20pp, given Siem Reap cost of living conditions. All in all, it is important to remember this is a historical hotel, newly renovated; as such, Raffles has done everything possible to keep this aura (a la very 1950s hotel where Jackie O would visit). If you want a trendy, ultra sleek hotel (a la Entourage crowd or Soho-esque style), then maybe la Residence d'Angkor may be better. I possibly wouldve stayed here if I wasnt traveling with my parents.

Stayed October 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

When you check in everyone learns your name; then, each time you walk in the door they greet you by name and inquire about your day. Each afternoon we were presented with a gift - a coffee table book of photos, a souvenir dancing woman bell, local spices in a basket. I have never stayed at such a friendly accomodating place. The rooms are not over the top. They are very comfortable and well-sized but not super luxurious. The pool is lovely. What sets this place apart is the service - warm and comprehensive. I'd stay there again in a minute. Besides, Angkor Wat is fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

You can walk from the hotel to town or take a $1 Tuktuk to enjoy great restaurants
and light shopping. I had the hotel set up an guided tour with car,driver and guide
for Angkor Wat and Angkot Thom for only $75.
Aftert touring in the heat, the pool offered perfect relaxtion before I had dinner
at one of the towns great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I booked the Raffles after finding a rate of $145 per night for this 5 star hotel. For 5 stars, I couldn't pass it up. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by numerous staff members and the hotel manager with the most warm, kind, excited greeting I have ever had at a hotel. It was quite memorable. We were escorted to a sitting area where we were immediately served welcome cocktails. From there, we spoke with a reservations manager, who explained the hotel's many amenities and escorted us to our room.

Because we told the hotel it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a junior suite and given a bottle of free champagne. Very nice touches. Our room was down a stark, hospital-like hallway. It was outdated, but classy. This hotel is very old and has been well maintained. That being said, if you are looking for modern accomodations, don't stay here because you won't find a flat screen tv or other modern amentities.

Every time we left or arrived at the hotel, we received the same greeting we got the day we arrived - a warm, wonderful greeting by numerous staff members. This really made us feel good.

However, there were some drawbacks. The additional amenities in the hotel were OUTRAGEOUSLY OVERPRICED! When we went to buy a bottle of water in the lobby, they wanted $9 for a medium-sized bottle of Evian. Additionally, when we went to call the USA, they wanted $8/minute! The internet costs $10 for 3 hours. Furthermore, when we ordered a taxi to the airport as we departed, even though the taxi costs $5 to the airport, they wanted to charge us a $14 service fee for ordering the taxi. WHAT? These charges put a severe damper on our stay. Did the hotel forget they are located in CAMBODIA? If you can stay in a hotel without requiring any of these amentiies, it is worth it. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

What a fantastic reunion with my nephew and his wife! Raffles’ staff “doted” on us, our ever request was met with a smile. The rooms were spacious, clean, with private balconies (we stayed in the historic portion). All the outside was just as impressive. Spa. Pool. Outdoor dining and bar.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1930s, a visit to the ancient temples of Angkor has been synonymous with a stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, a mere 8 kilometres away from the majestic Angkor Wat, this leading Siem Reap luxury hotel offers convenient access to some of the most intriguing ruins of the temple complex. The luxury Siem Reap hotel offers personalized pampering at the award-winning Raffles Spa, as well as an array of fine dining choices, from exotic Khmer cuisine at the Restaurant Le Grand to the Elephant Bar where fine wine, champagne and cocktails, including the signature Airavata is served. For a one-of-a-kind dining experience, opt for private dining at one of the magnificent temples of Angkor. Spread over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens, Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor exudes old-world Cambodian grandeur infused with the best of modern comforts. An elegant cage elevator, the township’s very first, adorns the lobby and continues to gracefully ferry guests as it did since the hotel was first established. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Jetsetter, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.