We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor to your Saves list
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here back in 2012. A while ago I know but we were reminded recently when looking at photos of our wonderful Cambodian holiday how lovely this hotel and its staff are due to its understated elegance and professional and friendly service. It is a hotel that lives in our memory while we love to return there are just so many other places yet to visit. The hotel is centrally located and a short tuk tuk ride to another Siem Reap must visit - the Art Collective where everything produced is local and of outstanding quality. Do not miss it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
It must have been one memorable experience, indeed, and thank you very much for sharing it with us. Compliments such as yours never fail to inspire and encourage our team. It would be a delight if we could welcome you back again and create wonderful and special celebrations with you and your family.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    180
    48
    25
    8
See reviews for
166
546
74
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of April, fantastic!!! The Grand is probably the oldest hotel in Siem Reap but it is definitely the best! It's like a jewel from colonial times ,the rooms the food the spa the pool,I could go on and on but I must not forget the staff who are incredible they were the icing on the cake and really made our stay an amazing experience !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
This grand dame, indeed, is the oldest hotel catering to the travelers of Angkor which, after decades, is still glimmering with elegance and grandeur. Thank you very much as well for not forgetting to mention one of the greatest assets of the hotel, our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Raffles. Excellent hotel. The staff were extremely courteous and addressed you by name. The service was also what I would expect from a first class hotel.
Beautiful location and easy transfer to the Angkor temples and for visiting the city.

Room was serviced 3 times a day. Food in either restaurant is very good. My wife cannot take gluten and the hotel kitchen coped very well with this.

Siem Reap is a lovely city and we felt very safe there.

Room Tip: A poolside suite is really comfortable. Direct access to pool or just lie in the shade on the bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am pleased that you had ended your four-night stay with us and your Angkor exploration on a high note. I hope that you had wonderful memories to match your experience in Cambodia and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

There are only 11 Raffles Hotels so far in operation, but I have been fortunate enough to have stayed in several other Raffles Hotels, including this historic and landmark property in Siem Reap. My family and I travelled for the first time to Siem Reap a few months back. We were very excited to visit the place, as we have heard lots of great comments from previous visitors to the ancient kingdom of Angkor. What also made it extra special was the fact that we were going to stay in one of the best, if not the top hotel in the city, the Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Arriving in the area where it was located, we knew already why people consider this to be an ideal address while in town. It was right in the center of the city surrounded by a beautiful park and lush greenery. It was also walking distance to some attractions and places of interest. The staff's warm welcome and gracious hospitality made us feel at home right away. Check-in was efficient, but we did not want to hurry up to our room as we still relished the time admiring the classical interiors, authentic Khmer touches blended with the colonial design of the hotel. Soft piano music was being played at the Elephant Bar, which added to the relaxed atmosphere at check in. We took the antique lift going up to our floor and that experience brought us back in time so to speak. It was indeed a unique experience. The rooms were spacious and elegant, with high ceiling. It reminded us of the grandeur of the a Raffles Hotel Singapore. Breakfast the next day was very extensive, and truly prepared us for a long day ahead as we explored the various temples of Angkor. It was extra warm and humid during this time of the year, but every time we returned to this magnificent hotel, the door man, who i must say had a very interesting uniform color which changed daily depending on the day of week patterned after royal tradition, had cold towel and bottled water ready for us as we entered the hotel. This was such a great touch, which I remember fondly. How I wish all hotels looked into such touches for all it's guests! That is why I think, this hotel ranks high on my list of must stay places.

Room Tip: Try one of their signature suites. Some famous personality may have stayed in that room before,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful family affair at Siem Reap’s premier address, the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. Thank you for appreciating the heritage and the local traditions that we have kept alive in the hotel. We are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable holiday and we look forward to your next visit to Siem Reap.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is a classic property - a well preserved piece of history. The staff have "legendary" status with me. The incredible service of this hotel should rank it among the top hotels in the world !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
The greatest accolades we receive are from our guests. Thank you very much from our team at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. We are pleased that your stay had been wonderful and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited this hotel in Feb 2014. It is typical Raffles- colonial, old school ambience. The staff is very helpful, and the location is very good. The concierge was very helpful in our day trips.
The biggest problem here us the age of the hotel. The rooms are very small, and I have to say the bathrooms were very old, noisy, and really need to be updated. I am a Fairmont premier member, and have been to other Raffles and Fairmont properties, and this falls below the usual for them.
That being said, Cambodia us a wonderful, but still very poor country just starting to escape some very bad decades of suffering. Given where you are and the country, thus hotel us outstanding. The issue merely is that it fails to equal what other hotels in the portfolio have. Siem Reap us a great place with wonderful people. The infrastructure still needs to catch up to the popularity
This is certainly a good hotel. Just be aware that it is not quite as luxe as other properties.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us. Like our sister properties spanning across the globe, the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor embodies the grandeur and heritage that the Raffles brand is known for. In addition, we do carry out regular refurbishment of our property including our bathrooms in order to keep at par with the Raffles’ standards, however, only to a minimum, in order to preserve the heritage of our hotel.
I hope that we would be able to serve you again in the future and please do inform me should you have the opportunity to visit again so we could make sure you will have a more wonderful stay with us.
We would be glad to address your issues with us and please do not hesitate to contact me at cyrille.carmona@raffles.com.

Thank you very much once again.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Outstanding services. Perfect location (few minutes by car to the temples and club/shopping streets). Rooms were very clean and nice (newly decorated).
Staff were very friendly, but yet very helpful and professional; they were very well trained in guest recognition. They (every staff member from the lobby, the restaurant, to the concierge) made a very positive impression by addressing us by name.
We stayed there during Christmas and we joined their Christmas eve dinner party by the pool. It was a very warm welcoming. Strongly recommend! Definitely going back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, Executive Assistant Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were pleased that our enjoyed our festive season offerings and hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again this year for a repeat.

Kind regards,
Cyrille Carmona
Executive Assistant Manager i/c Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#21 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1930s, a visit to the ancient temples of Angkor has been synonymous with a stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, a mere 8 kilometres away from the majestic Angkor Wat, this leading Siem Reap luxury hotel offers convenient access to some of the most intriguing ruins of the temple complex. The luxury Siem Reap hotel offers personalized pampering at the award-winning Raffles Spa, as well as an array of fine dining choices, from exotic Khmer cuisine at the Restaurant Le Grand to the Elephant Bar where fine wine, champagne and cocktails, including the signature Airavata is served. For a one-of-a-kind dining experience, opt for private dining at one of the magnificent temples of Angkor. Spread over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens, Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor exudes old-world Cambodian grandeur infused with the best of modern comforts. An elegant cage elevator, the township’s very first, adorns the lobby and continues to gracefully ferry guests as it did since the hotel was first established. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.