We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor to your Saves list
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite with Credit Offer
Ranked #33 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Siem Reap was great and the hotel was very comfortable. The room was a bit tight, but we enjoyed it. A great old stair case rose to suites named after famous visitors, like Jackie Kennedy.
They even have a "Celebrity" bar with pictures of several famous visitors.
The pool area was beautiful. The exercise room was a bit tight but adequate.
Breakfast was very good, staff attentive to EVERY need. We ate in town--Pub Street was great--so can't comment on their dinners. We hired a tuktuk driver and he came each night to take us to dinner then met us at the Blue Pumpkin Ice Cream Parlor at the appointed time to take us back to the hotel. (We brought him a cone, too.)
Be sure to see the hundreds of fruit bats very high in the trees in the park across from the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the higher floors and enjoyed our room overlooking the town, rather than tthe back overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I am glad that you had enjoyed our champagne breakfast and had appreciated the heritage of the hotel, and it is wonderful that you had experienced the vast magnificent grounds surrounding the hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Once again, thank you very much!

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    167
    42
    22
    8
See reviews for
151
477
71
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just got back from Cambodia. I stayed one night at Raffles, wow what an over rated over priced hotel. I was quoted a price of $385, when they finished add ons it was $481 ! wow of course they did not say anything about the add ons. So I went to Sofitel a short distance away. Equal hotel less expensive. Better food better drinks nicer staff, less uppitty. Both properties are beautiful, but for a $200 difference per day I would stay and did stay at Sofitel! The front desk manager Mr Vireca (sp) was great at Sofitel! I also so saw a charming hotel across the street from Raffles that looked interesting Victorias.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I have to say that both the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and the Sofitel hotel are beautiful hotels, both unique in their own rights. However, it is unfortunate to know that the price, most specifically the add-ons, had been the basis of your review and your experience with us, and which had made you overlook the essence of staying in this historic hotel. Our hotel maintains transparency for our guests and makes sure to always explain add-ons on our rates which are basically government taxes and service charge.

Nonetheless, we thank you for your review and I hope that you had a memorable visit to Cambodia.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel and the service is excellent. I stayed over New Years and they put together an incredible dinner and show and the decorations in the pool area were breathtaking. The food in the hotel is also exceptional and everything I ate was memorable. The only downsides are the location, it is a bit out of Siam Reap, which can be a good thing as well. And there seemed to be an odd thing with the electrics when the air came on all the lights would flash - this even happened in the middle of the night when you were sleeping and you lights had been off. The place is wonderful and a real experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It is wonderful to know that you had enjoyed our New Year spectacle and I hope that it was one celebration to remember. Most especially, I hope that it kick-started a year of happiness and peace.

Thank you for celebrating with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for an another celebration or a holiday.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hotel with a quality vintage touch to it. Service very good with a good friendly concierge . Rooms are great, poolside great, although could have more deck chairs as they get filled too easily. Shower heads need to be changed as clogged up, as well as the not so consistent water temperatures , ie hot to cold and back.
No complaints at all except value for money I am not sure about. Everything you pay for is about 3x the price it is outside in other restaurants and bars. So be prepared.
Also if you need a guide and car, best get it away from hotel as the usual 3x price will appear !
Otherwise the best place to stay

Room Tip: Lower ground rooms which are walking distance to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
A warm appreciation from our team at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. It is wonderful to receive such compliments from our guests, most especially about our service, and I hope that you had a great time and had a memorable experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your comments and suggestions, and in response, we have provided additional poolside lounges to further improve our service
With regards to your concern regarding the value for money, we maintain that the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor offers competitive rates, be it with our rooms or our food and beverages, in comparison to other five star hotels in the area based on the competition survey which we conduct on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Attention to detail is what you're paying for in a place like this and you definitely get it. The whole hotel operation from the door staff to the rooms and dining are just done so right, and you feel pampered like you've stepped back in time to a golden age.
Breakfast was a wonderful experience in a beautifully appointed room.
The room rates were surprisingly cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
It is a pleasure to receive your great compliments and to know that you had enjoyed your stay at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor – from the colonial ambiance to the rooms, to the champagne breakfast and, most especially, to the warm hospitality.

It would be wonderful to welcome you back again on your next visit to Angkor.

Thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well I have been to some beautiful hotel in my travels but this grand old lady takes the cake! Such care has been taken to keep this beautiful old hotel in pristine condition. The staff are second to none with smiling faces and happy attitude. Anything you require is taken care of straight away and with a smile. Beautiful grounds and the pool,is just magic. They have an Asian Buffet every night and Monday, Wednesday and Friday there is a dance show of the Cambodian style dance it's wonderful!
The location is great only 2klm by foot or 5 min by tuck tuck which is $1 per person I to Pub Street. This is where all the restaurants, markets and great Cambodian made clothing boutiques are found. Haggle for a food price in the market I found if you go 1/2 of what they say and then walk away you will get what you want.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3302 overlooking the pool and with a verandah to sit out in. Twin king beds aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your heartwarming compliments. I am glad to hear that the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor has taken the forefront among all the historic hotels that you’ve been to. Our location is indeed one of the hotel features we are truly proud of and I hope that you had enjoyed the walks on our grounds including the beautifully-manicured Royal Gardens.

I hope that you would be able to return in the future and experience once again the grandeur of the Raffles Grand Hotel and of the temples of Angkor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After living for a week in the hotel, you get a sense that was transported back in time, in the days when valued human relationships.
The hotel staff is friendly, always willing to help with everything.
The hotel was built in the early 20th century in excellent condition. You can feel in the colonial era, while enjoying all the benefits of modern civilization.
Separately, we must mention the hotel's chef. A feeling that you're in one of the best restaurants in France.
Excellent organization the events. Many thanks to event manager - Youern Chantrea.
Thanks to an excellent Butler, we felt at home.
The only pity is that the tale ends ...
Everyone who wants to get to the time in fairy tale, enjoy the majestic Ankgor while living in paradise, we recommend that you visit this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
It is great to hear that you had enjoyed the French-colonial ambiance of one of Siem Reap’s landmarks, the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. It is always a pleasure to receive such rewarding and heartwarming comments from our guests and rest assured that such will continue to inspire us to take our service up a notch further.
Rest assured that your compliments will be shared with our Events Manager and our Executive Chef and to the whole of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#24 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1930s, a visit to the ancient temples of Angkor has been synonymous with a stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, a mere 8 kilometres away from the majestic Angkor Wat, this leading Siem Reap luxury hotel offers convenient access to some of the most intriguing ruins of the temple complex. The luxury Siem Reap hotel offers personalized pampering at the award-winning Raffles Spa, as well as an array of fine dining choices, from exotic Khmer cuisine at the Restaurant Le Grand to the Elephant Bar where fine wine, champagne and cocktails, including the signature Airavata is served. For a one-of-a-kind dining experience, opt for private dining at one of the magnificent temples of Angkor. Spread over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens, Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor exudes old-world Cambodian grandeur infused with the best of modern comforts. An elegant cage elevator, the township’s very first, adorns the lobby and continues to gracefully ferry guests as it did since the hotel was first established. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.