We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Save Saved
You added Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
1 review
“Great location and wonderful old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the lovely hotel in Feb 2013. On arrival, the hotel didn't appear to be anything special although it was very well located close to the temples and to the town centre with a lovely garden across the road BUT from check-in I quickly realised the Raffles experience was going exceed our expectation. The staff were amazing, the check-in process was personalised and relaxing and when we got to our room through the quirky old-world elevator we were pleasantly surprised at the large size of the room and the sweet little balcony that opened out to the courtyard.
Breakfast each morning was an absolute delight with so many choices it was hard to stop. Champagne became a welcome habit and the eggs cooked-to-order were delicious.
The pool area and the pool side dining were a highlight of our trip with reasonable prices and a very large relaxing pool.
At the conclusion of our stay, we realised we has misjudged this grand old hotel. The experience is not in the walls but in the history and feel of this majestic hotel. We would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for appreciating our hospitality and service, a mix of the warm Cambodian hospitality and the Raffles brand of service genuinely provided to create the most wonderful and lasting hotel experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    146
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
128
413
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we fully enjoyed. We liked the classic decor of the hotel and the room. Everything was perfect, from the room on the 4th floor with a beautiful view of gardens and pool, to the impeccable service. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of food. We ate twice at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. Prices were ok, the wine list was very large but prices expensive. We settled for local beer.
Overall, one of the best hotel ever experienced in my trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It is a pleasure to know that we had provided you the best hotel experience in all your trips, and thank you very much for your wonderful compliments on our service and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Other than the Otis Elevator in this three story "30's" hotel, there was little that we would recommend. Clearly there are better hotels in Siem Reap... on checking in with our group, we were given a room with no shower and twin beds... having paid for King Delux. We returned to the desk, and asked to be moved, management told us to negotiate with the other 13 room holders in our group... all of whom were on the same terms. We managed to get a room with a bath, and were told we would be provided a room like what we reserved the next day... we were to be there for three days... that never happened, the beds were stiff at best. So, from the get go, this place never had a chance with us. The staff were friendly and competent. The pool bar was great, good service. We attended a dance program and out-door buffet that was interesting... the food choices were great. Breakfast was weak compared to other hotels in which we had stayed on this tour... although moving out to the deck made it more comfortable. The hotel is old and worn... would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Be careful of getting what you book or demand a refund
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I would like to extend my sincere apologies if we have failed to provide to you the service worthy of Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, but we do appreciate your comments and treat them as our inspiration to maintain and improve our service. Rest assured that we would look on ways to improve our facilities and services and I hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you again the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

An excellent hotel in a good location for both the town and visiting Ankor Wat historic sites. The service was excellent and the rooms were good. The pool area was beautiful and the water was really warm. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was very good. However, the wine was extremely expensive and ask about all the tax add-ons to get the real price of alcohol before ordering.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I would like to express my appreciation for your compliments on our service and I am glad to know that your time spent at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor had been wonderful and tranquil. It would be a pleasure welcoming you back again in the future.
Thank you very much once again!

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just finished a 5 night stay at the hotel and were blown away. The property was absolutely wonderful and the staff one of the most attentive and pleasant ever. Kudos to Raffles, the management team and staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It was also wonderful to have served you and we are glad that you had an enjoyable and memorable holiday. We look forward to your next stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and please inform us of your next stay so we could ensure it would be more memorable.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent three nights at the Raffles Grand Hotel in Siem Reap in January. It felt like we were transported back in time to an era of old time hotels. Everything from the open air elevator (with operator) to the traditional bar made us feel we were somewhere back in time. Service was impeccable from everyone. Fresh cold towels every time we came in from outside. The rooms were large and kept very clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice and included champagne and custom prepared eggs, pancakes, etc.Every staff member gives the patrons a "wai" or little bow every time you walk by.

Criticisms are minor and include air conditioning that didn't work too well (and it was January!) and the prices in the restaurants seemed a bit higher than they should have been. We ate in a local restaurant outside the hotel for half the cost and equally good, if not better, food. When we called about the AC (at 10 pm) they sent an actual mechanic to try to fix it within minutes of the call. Unfortunately, it didn't help much.

Certainly a very pleasant experience overall and a place I would recommend if you find yourself in Siem Reap to see the spectacular Angkor Wat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and had enjoyed the old world ambience coupled with warm Cambodian hospitality at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. I hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to the spectacular temples of Angkor.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can simply not say enough about how wonderful this hotel was. My father and I stayed here during our trip to Siem Reap and it was just perfect. There was slight confusion upon check in when they upgraded us to a room with a King Sized bed but once we told them that it was a family trip, they immediately fixed it and our room was lovely. I almost felt bad because the staff member was embarrassed but very professional about getting us sorted out.

The welcome drink was indeed VERY welcome and very tasty. The architecture of the building was awe inspiring and my father and I joked about how we could feel our colonial roots showing through. The up keep through out the hotel is just fantastic. Our butler took us on the tour of the hotel and of our room so we knew how to get in touch with anyone in case we needed anything at all. The grounds were gorgeous!

The staff at the Elephant bar really made the experience top notch. The wine tasting and cocktail tasting events were a welcome way to end our busy tour days and relax and the atmosphere was so lovely. The staff were knowledgable and remembered our preferences. The dress code was strange at first but I'm glad there was one and completely understand after trekking around the sites all day.

Being greeted by name at the restaurant was a lovely way to start my day and my personal coffee service was appreciated - I do love my coffee. The mimosas were also great!

I wish I lived there, but for a couple of days, I definitely felt like I did. Christian, you and your team and just the epitome of perfection as far as I'm concerned. I stayed at the Bangkok Four Seasons before I flew back to Canada and frankly, Raffles will always be the gold standard in my mind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us. Your compliments serve as our reward and rest assured that I will share them with the whole of my team.
I am very glad that we have set the bar for luxury and service for you, but most of all, that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1930s, a visit to the ancient temples of Angkor has been synonymous with a stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, a mere 8 kilometres away from the majestic Angkor Wat, this leading Siem Reap luxury hotel offers convenient access to some of the most intriguing ruins of the temple complex. The luxury Siem Reap hotel offers personalized pampering at the award-winning Raffles Spa, as well as an array of fine dining choices, from exotic Khmer cuisine at the Restaurant Le Grand to the Elephant Bar where fine wine, champagne and cocktails, including the signature Airavata is served. For a one-of-a-kind dining experience, opt for private dining at one of the magnificent temples of Angkor. Spread over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens, Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor exudes old-world Cambodian grandeur infused with the best of modern comforts. An elegant cage elevator, the township’s very first, adorns the lobby and continues to gracefully ferry guests as it did since the hotel was first established. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.