We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but service just off the mark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Save Saved
You added Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 223 hotels in Siem Reap
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great hotel but service just off the mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely old colonial hotel, fabulous pool & gardens, super location in town but just let down a little as service a bit off Raffles usual excellence. Perhaps Xmas week peak season stretching staff & facilities as some nice touches suggest not the norm - a butler (unfortunately not available to help with luggage) or (ocassional) welcome back into hotel with cold towel - but all just a little inconsistent. However must highlight a lovely cake & card from the manager delivered to our room to mark our silver wedding anniversary trip which clearly indicates a level of attention to detail in their management (delicious & greatly appreciated!). Room was spacious & luxurious with all you'd expect from 5* - we were on 2nd floor of main building facing front of hotel & suffered none of the noise issues reported by other reviewers. Breakfasts excellent with a great quality selection to choose from & lovely terrace to sit out on. Only real negatives were Elephant Bar not being available due to a function & obligation to buy the compulsory Xmas Eve gala-dinner which proved very over-priced & rather disappointing..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
A warm thank you for your compliments about our hotel and for appreciating our small gestures of making your stay special and memorable, however, I sincerely apologize for the inconsistencies in our service because of the high occupancy in our hotel during your stay with us.
I hope that you had a splendid silver wedding anniversary celebration and I hope to welcome you back again for a more memorable stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    154
    35
    20
    8
See reviews for
135
425
68
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Location: good place, close to the city center (1-2$ Tuk-Tuk ride).
Rooms: have seen their best days. If your are stayin in the main building, you most likely have lots of problems sleeping. Noise from the lobby can be heard to all rooms. Since many of the customers wake up at 5am to go to Angkor Wat, you are most likely going to wake up to that..
Pool: big pool and clean. Althought areas around it are in rather bad condition.
Bar: elephant bar looked nice and there was also good looking afternoon tea available.
Other services: very expensive. I.e. Transfer from hotel to airport (10min) costs 30$ feom the hotel, under 10$ from a local taxi. Currency exchange, do it elsewhere.
Staff: nice but not very professional.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am sorry to hear of the problems you have experienced during your recent stay in our hotel. We pride ourselves on the standard of our service, however, December was one of the busiest months of the year, not just in our hotel but in Siem Reap in general, and I understand that we may have fell short in controlling the noise in our hotel.

With regard to our transportation rates, based on our recent survey, our rates are still considered as competitive in comparison to other five-star hotels in the area and taking into consideration the quality of our transportation service.

Nevertheless, my team and I at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay with us. I do hope that you still had a great time in Siem Reap and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a very pretty hotel. Keeps all the colonial charm of the original building. Staff is very nice. BUT it is so noisey. You can hear every person walking down the hall. There is no buffer between the door and your bed. We had the top floor and I can't imagine how bad it would be to be lower near the lobby or the terrace restaurant. And since some people leave early for the temples noise begins at 6AM. At these prices I would suggest you research another hotel and come over to the Elephant Bar for a drink.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your compliments regarding our hospitality and the preservation of the hotel’s heritage.

It is regrettable to know, however, that you have experienced some inconvenience during your stay, however, please be assured that it is not a usual occurrence in our hotel. Our goal is provide a serene and luxurious stay for our guests matched with the colonial ambience of the hotel, however, as December was one of the busiest months of the year, we may have fell short in controlling the noise in the hotel.

I offer my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and I do hope that despite the inconvenience, you still had a memorable visit to Siem Reap.

Thank you very much and I do hope to welcome you again in the future.


Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

While we were happy but not ecstatic with the Raffles at Phnom Penh, this one was a pleasure to be in. Well-located, very nice - and good - restaurant in a beautiful terrace, a very nice pool, and impeccable service. The rooms are OK, basically exactly the same as the ones in Phnom Penh. Importantly for Angkor, they have a well organized process of temple and site visits, with enough variety of arrangements to accommodate your budget. The staff are professional, charming, and reasonably fluent in English.

There are 2 down-sides though:

Over the whole stay the General Manager was nowhere to be seen. We asked to see him twice, and in both instances his deputies stood-in for him. They did meet our need, so no issue there, but a General Manager in such a resort should be visible and available, especially when on his welcome letter he underscores that we can contact him directly at any time (incidentally he doesn't give any contact info in his letter..).

A second down-side was the mandatory New Year's dinner, which was very pricey ($1,000 for a family of 4 with 2 young children) but not particularly good, nor was the entertainment, where we clearly had 2nd rate performers (but not a second rate bill..).

Other than that, we strongly recommend the agency we used for sight-seeing, called 'Angel Angkor Tour'. I would in particular ask for Mr. Lmut Dara. He can be both a guide and a driver, he speaks very good English, and is very pleasant and accommodating. You can reach him at +855.9777.55.076.

Best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. It is a pleasure to receive your compliments and we appreciate your constructive comments and regard them as our inspiration to improve and maintain the quality of our service.

As part of our core values and of our passion to deliver excellent service to our guests, our whole team develops and maintains a “can do” attitude that aims to deliver the best possible and prompt assistance to our guests without regard to our ranks.

Nevertheless, it is regrettable that I have not met you during your stay with us as I might not have been in Siem Reap at that time due to business-related trips. My sincere apologies for not being able to meet and assist you personally during your stay with us but it would be grateful on my part if you could give us the opportunity to serve you and be our guest again and I hope that I would be able to meet you and extend my warm regards on your next visit.

Thank you very much once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel for four days with my family. The experience was wonderful. Meals were amazing, staff was incredible. Hotel is beautiful and centrally located. I highly recommend the Hotel if you are visting Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a wonderful four-day stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. Thank you very much for the compliments. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Siem Reap.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a remarkable hotel, with remarkable service in an excellent location. Raffles is a beautiful hotel just 3/4 of a mile from the town, so its an easy walk. The rooms are nice, but not spectacular as the place really revolves around their incredible breakfeast and lunch buffets. The food really is good here. There is also a few bars, and a large pool and spa outside.

I stayed here for New Years. If you are reading this before New Years, its a great option. They filled the pool with candles and water lillys, had great music and a 6 course dinner with unlimited wine/champagne. It was memorable and just demonstrated their attention to detail.

Speaking of details, that incredibly appealing aroma which permeates the hotel: Lemongrass.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your remarkable comments about Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor. It is truly a pleasure for us to hear that you appreciate the setting and the service of our hotel. I hope you had an amazing stay with us and visit to Cambodia. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is one of the hotel which I would not mind staying again. Very attentive staff. And Breakfast was excellent with free flow of champagne. We have eaten at some good restaurants ourside the hotel in siem reap, Viroff?and Khmer Kitchen in Pub Street (cheap & good) but we found that the best meal we had was in Raffles hotel itself. We stayed in the old wing and the draw back is the bath tub is a bit too high for old folks to climb in. (No standing shower). Overall this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We really appreciate the great feedback on our culinary offerings and on our service, in particular. It is wonderful to know that you had an excellent stay in our hotel. With the warmest regards and a huge thank you from our entire team at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1930s, a visit to the ancient temples of Angkor has been synonymous with a stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, a mere 8 kilometres away from the majestic Angkor Wat, this leading Siem Reap luxury hotel offers convenient access to some of the most intriguing ruins of the temple complex. The luxury Siem Reap hotel offers personalized pampering at the award-winning Raffles Spa, as well as an array of fine dining choices, from exotic Khmer cuisine at the Restaurant Le Grand to the Elephant Bar where fine wine, champagne and cocktails, including the signature Airavata is served. For a one-of-a-kind dining experience, opt for private dining at one of the magnificent temples of Angkor. Spread over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens, Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor exudes old-world Cambodian grandeur infused with the best of modern comforts. An elegant cage elevator, the township’s very first, adorns the lobby and continues to gracefully ferry guests as it did since the hotel was first established. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.