We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Save Saved
You added Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 216 hotels in Siem Reap
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great old hotel with modern refurbishments. Very comfortable rooms, well appointed. Very friendly staff - especially the pool attendants - complimentary tropical fruit skewers. Huge pool and very nice surrounds. Breakfast excellent - even champagne every day if you need it. Bit of a hike from the centre of town - but most other hotels seem to be similar. However tuktuks always outside to take you wherever you want to go for a very cheap price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the heritage as well as the modern touches of Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and, most especially, our service. I hope you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    135
    32
    19
    6
See reviews for
118
392
57
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked the hotel for our visit of Ankor wat, even when booked my wife was not impressed with the choice, but that changed as soon as we arrived at the hotel, the old building, well maintained and very clean, the room small but nice even the old fashion bathroom, but the service, the pool, the food and especially the afternoon high tea made up for it.
lots of American tourist during our stay, the staff very friendly and helpful and very good command of english.
Breakfast, good selection and great choice of food, the servcie was marvelous. the drinks have been superb, my favourite was the mint cooler at the pool.
we used the hotel limosine service to be driven to Ankor wat and the next day to the river cruise.

We would go back at anytime to this hotel if again in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It’s great to know that your visit to Angkor Wat was made even more special by your stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and thank you for the great comments – particularly on our food and beverages. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again and please do let us know of your next visit so we can ensure you will have another delightful stay!

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lovely old hotel. Fantastic tour guides and tuk tuks. Excellent breakfast. Lunch and dinner options need review, both in price point and quality. Lovely ambience and pool area, great history to build on. Very pretty lights and display for Xmas, and nice touch with the elephant for arrival of Father Xmas.

Room Tip: Pool facing on the fourth floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
A warm appreciation for your kind words regarding our hotel – the heritage, the culinary offerings and most especially, the holiday season touch. I hope that you had wonderful memories at Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Travelling to Cambodia, where a taxi is only a few dollars and a foot massage is $4. This hotel charging $4.60 for an expresso is a rip-off. Clearly their costs are cambodian but their prices all charge in USD are at the high end of western pricing. I wouldnt mind if I thought the difference stayed in Cambodia.

Nice Hotel, nice staff but poor value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and regard it as a way to improve and maintain the standards of Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, that is expected of our brand. With regards to our prices, we have recently conducted a comparative review on the prices of all our competitor hotels in the area and, based on the review, it can be deduced that our prices are still considered as competitive. Most of our staff, including the management, are Cambodians and most of our supplies are procured locally which means that, although we are a multinational brand, Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor still considers and supports what is best for Cambodia and its people.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Raffles during a recent trip to Siem Reap and had a great experience. We'd looked into more modern places but honestly, this hotel with its colonial vibe made the overall experience that much better. Definitely book a room in the main building, I can't speak for the other rooms but the classic finishes made it feel more authentic. The food was good, the service was great - our guide (to the temples, the town and beyond) was fantastic, they gave us good recommendations for shopping (although I must admit we liked the dining selects based on our own research much better than those offered by the concierge), and the manager went out of their way to return some items we accidentally left in our room on checkout. All in all, if we ever get to come back to Angkor Wat, we'll definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank your for appreciating the heritage of the legendary Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor as well as our service and hospitality. Your heartwarming compliments will be shared with the whole of my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The final hotel of our grand tour of indochina was Raffles. It was simply perfect.Our rooms were excellent. Always regularly cleaned and tidie to a high standard.The area around the pool was simply perfect and gave us a great way to unwind after a day of temple trekking. The breakfasts were excellent as was the food in general, but the most striking feature for us must be the staff. Always smiling, always so very helpful and always making time to talk to you. We found the staff so genuine in their desire to ensure all was as it should be, something often lacking in our world today. Well done raffles, no one could have made our stay any better!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
It is such a pleasure to know that Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor had provided the perfect final oasis for your grand Indochina tour. It is an honor for us to have been part of this tour and I hope that you will visit our hotel again soon or any of our Raffles sister hotels around the globe.

Thank you very much!

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We loved our visit to this hotel. Our room was large and very clean. Good hot water and amenities. The breakfast buffet was full and very good and the service was first rate at all levels and aspects of the hotel. Old world charm. The Hotel also offered good shopping with 5 or 6 stores that sold quality items and local souvenirs.
Well located to the Angkor Wat complex. The spa was lovely and the rates were reasonable for the services. It was the firs time I ever saw orchids atop urinals in the spa rest rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesSiemReap, General Manager at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your all-encompassing review. I am glad to know that you loved your visit to Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor and that our every effort to make your stay as wonderful as it can be, was a success. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Christian Sack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor

Also Known As:
Raffles Grand Hotel d Angkor
Raffles Grand Siem Reap
Address: 1 Vithei Charles de Gaulle | Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1930s, a visit to the ancient temples of Angkor has been synonymous with a stay at Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, a mere 8 kilometres away from the majestic Angkor Wat, this leading Siem Reap luxury hotel offers convenient access to some of the most intriguing ruins of the temple complex. The luxury Siem Reap hotel offers personalized pampering at the award-winning Raffles Spa, as well as an array of fine dining choices, from exotic Khmer cuisine at the Restaurant Le Grand to the Elephant Bar where fine wine, champagne and cocktails, including the signature Airavata is served. For a one-of-a-kind dining experience, opt for private dining at one of the magnificent temples of Angkor. Spread over 15 acres of beautifully landscaped French gardens, Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor exudes old-world Cambodian grandeur infused with the best of modern comforts. An elegant cage elevator, the township’s very first, adorns the lobby and continues to gracefully ferry guests as it did since the hotel was first established. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.