We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for three nights so that we could visit Angkor temples most of which were a short tuk-tuk ride away. The hotel was excellent. The rooms are large and comfortable, ours had a lovely view of the lake. The grounds are beautifully maintained and a pleasure to wander round. We enjoyed a good breakfast with a lot of choice. The hotel was busy but the staff maintained their professionalism throughout our stay. We ate in The Citadel restaurant in the evening and found the portions substantial. We were entertained on two nights of our stay by Cambodian dancers which was fun and not too intrusive. I can recommend this hotel if you want quiet after a busy day but ask for a room overlooking the garden as it is much quieter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    231
    42
    17
    14
See reviews for
214
523
71
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This resort, at the final stage of our tour, was a welcome luxury. From our welcome (complete with masks, song and dance) to the traditional musician/s playing in the foyer, everything is designed to sweep you off your feet. The rooms fan out behind beautifully-landscaped gardens and 'lake', set back from the busy road. They are spacious, with a soft colour scheme; ours had a KING King-size bed (or two extra wide singles together) - magnificent! My only disappointment was the farewell buffet dinner in the main restaurant - perhaps too modified for the "tourist taste" or limited by the tour company budget? Some of the main dishes were cold due to inadequate heating underneath. Breakfast was plentiful - although I found it best to order an omelette freshly made rather than try the clichéd fare from the bain-marie. I must say that when we ordered a light lunch at the bar or by the pool the food was tasty and well presented. The venue is tranquil and serene - I loved the ambience. Perhaps order a la carte to enjoy the food on offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Bonjour, in a first instance I wish to apologize for my delayed response. I was reviewing our previous comments and I just noticed that I had not yet replied to the one you left in January. Be assured that we have, however, well noted your remark and we will be taking it into account for our future operations. I hope you will have the pleasure of coming back to Cambodia one day and we will have the delight of welcoming you back to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra  Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Lovely grounds, eager to please staff who are excellent, spotless and large rooms, very good breakfast. A short tuk tuk ride from the center of town. Request a room on the garden side,as the road side is nice , but can be noisy. Free wifi if you use a lower speed, but it is fast enough for the usual email and surfing. Beautiful pool

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I gave this an overall rating of five, I only have one complaint and I believe it's isolated more to my personal preference. I don't like extra charges, When I booked and it stated free Wi-Fi, the free Wi-Fi is so slow it's unusable, they charge $15 a day for the faster Wi-Fi, and that was poor at best. The breakfast was expensive around US$20, but worth it. I had several opportunities to eat outside the restaurant for much cheaper price but chose to eat my breakfast at the hotel.

This hotel is absolutely stunning beautiful, the grounds are impeccably kept and beautiful. Everything in the room was high-quality and worked perfectly (internet noted) the staff was extremely helpful and always pleasant to talk to.

If you are not going there to work, and don't need True high-speed Internet to upload large files, this is the place to stay, I'm honestly not certain if there's any place in the area that has good internet service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Bonjour, in a first instance I wish to apologize for my delayed response. I was reviewing our previous comments and I just noticed that I had not yet replied to the one you left in January. Be assured that we have, however, well noted your remark and we will be taking it into account for our future operations. I hope you will have the pleasure of coming back to Cambodia one day and we will have the delight of welcoming you back to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra  Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Ended two week tour of Vietnam & Cambodia at ideal location Sofitel Siem Reap, Cambodia. After a long five hour bus ride it was refreshing to be greeted by such friendly, courteous, and kind hotel employees. The same attitude continued throughout of three night stay.
There are several nice hotels in Siem Reap but Sofitel cornered the market on spaciousness and quiet atmospher so essential in five star properties.
The restaurants are over the top in selections and service. Highly recommend and would return again whenever in the area.

Room Tip: Interior room overlooking lagoon or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Bonjour from Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra!

It is a delight to read your comments and I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip advisor! Our Food & Beverage team always strives for the best and were very proud when I shared with them your message. Human Relations are at the heart of luxury…and at the heart of luxury are our people! This is with this mindset that we are working every day, considering that we can have the most amazing hotel but it would not mean much without a professional, caring and passionate team. Your comments on the team attitude makes me feel very proud and you can count on me to share your very kind message to the entire team… Once again, thank you again for your positive encouragement; it is nice for us to start the week this way . Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The resort is located in the perfect position, with nice layout and beautiful grounds. The first impression is typically the most important, reception and velcome certainly exceeded expectations. Personnel is very velcoming, and rather professional. Accomodations are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Bonjour, I have just been looking back at our previous comments and just realized that I never replied to your message. I apologize for this delay but would like to thank you for your valuable comment – it will certainly encourage all the Ambassadors of the hotel to strive to excellence. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Fabrice Ducry – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#26 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.