We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing! The pool is stunning, warm and clean with a swim up bar! Our room had doors out to the pool area which was a very convenient. The breakfast buffet was lavish. They made eggs to order. We left the premises for dinner at Nest, a wonderful restaurant serving both eastern and western foods. The bellman got us a tuk-tuk to take us to the restaurant. It cost us $1US each for the ride! Super fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    198
    35
    16
    13
See reviews for
184
442
62
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

From what we have heard from other people that our stay of 10 days and 9 nights in Siem Reap was long as most people come and go in 3-4 days. Some of the guest we met at the hotel regret staying only a few days and on their departure, they all wished they’d stayed longer. We thought we made a good decision in doing so, as we did truly relaxed and enjoyed the wonders and beauty of Angkor, it’s people and everything it has to offer including a perfect hotel that is Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort Siem Reap.

The interiors of our room is luxurious, it opens to a terrace, well manicured gardens and a lagoon. Simply magnifique! As always, I loved the pillow menu and all the time chose the same pillow on all the Sofitel Hotels in different countries we’ve stayed at. Our accommodation was pure bliss, delightful, relaxing and enjoyed every minute of it. The surrounds of the hotel is charming, cosy and it has the feel of being tucked away in paradise. The hotel atmosphere has a perfectly relaxing feel, great ambience and it oozes with charm. It tells you a story of a bygone era, French sophistication and Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra had maintained and kept it alive.

The staff members of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra were genuinely friendly and helpful, they were very polite and always found time to greet us, stopped to chat and checked how we were. The ones that stood out well were Miss. Chanlida from Citadel Restaurant, Mr. Sorn Sam and Mr. Benoit Metanomski. Overall, all the ambassadors at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra are the best gems the hotel can be proud of as they make you feel at home, like you are with family. Thank you again for our wonderful stay.
Teresa Boonekamp - Melbourne Australia
Stayed at this hotel 19 - 28 July 2013

Room Tip: Our room was facing a garden lagoon and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Booked in the hotel at the recommendation of a friend who saw it in her previous trip to Cambodia. A bit pricey compared to other hotels in Siem Reap but the experience was worth it. The hotel had a very relaxing atmosphere and great architecture.

Loved their breakfast buffet particularly the fresh fruit counter and the individual servings of detox juices. They even have a hot noodle soup counter. However, their hot items did not change for the four days that we were there. It was the same bacon and sausage choices.

We stayed at Room 323 which offered a view of the pool. There was only one guest lift and it was small - could barely accommodate three people with luggages. The room was spacious and very clean. Shampoo and conditioner was replenished daily but we had to make do with one bath soap bar for the duration of our stay. Wifi was complementary which was well appreciated.

Tried their spa on our last day. We had their Deep Tissue massage which was pleasantly different from what we use to have in the Philippines. Again, it is a bit pricey but I would say it was worth it.

it would have been a seamless experience except for a small inconvenience. Our return flight was at 10:30 pm and we requested for late check out which was granted only until 2pm. After paying our bill, we confirmed our transportation to the airport at 7pm which was acknowledged by the Front Desk staff who checked us out. When we approached the Concierge at 7pm, the arrangement was not endorsed. The concierge staff quoted us the price for transfer out and we had to show him our bill to prove that this has been previously arranged and paid for. We had to wait for 15 minutes for the transpo to be available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent experience in this hotel. We already knew its "brother" Sofitel Krabi and this hotel is even better. The garden is wonderful and the pool very large, which is rare for Cambodia. Breakfast was also very pleasant as much as quality of service in general. In fact, I have found only 3 disadvantages to this hotel, of very different nature: the most problematic was the noise coming from the room upstairs (we could really hear very strong footsteps and furniture moved, etc), the price very high for Cambodia (even if relatively justified by the quality of service) and relatively, location (rather far from downtown Siem Reap and nothing to do nearby)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had the option to upgrade our room to the luxury room. Requested to be shown the room we booked and the luxury room. The staff gladly accommodated and I love the spaciousness in the luxury room. I also requested for the range of my toiletries to be changed and once again they gladly accommodated. The staff at the restaurant was friendly and the food (ordered local food) and service was great.

The only minor grumble I had was that I waited half hour and 2 phone calls for my firm pillow to delivered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the perfect place to return to after hot and humid days walking the temples of Angkor Watt. This hotel site is gorgeous and spread out over lush green walks and streams of water. The lobby and dining areas are tastefully designed with a touch of the local architectural style. It is a pleasure to rest in the gentle breeze, without being bothered by arrivals and departures in this very popular hotel. The swimming pool is enormous and adds greatly to the overall comfort.The rooms are located in several three-story pods connected to the main area by roofed walkways to protect guests from the searing sun and monsoon rain. They are very well designed and furnished. Service throughout the hotel is close to perfect, with a wonderful French touch of elegance. The breakfast buffet offers a lot of variety and high quality. Lunch and dinner are of acceptable quality but not great or worth the rather high prices charged. Siem Reap offers several reliable local restaurants with much lower prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors provide a better view of the beautiful hotel site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have recently been travelling through out vietnam and finally into Cambodia as my final destination in a range of four/five star hotels. However I found this hotel to be far superior to any of the previous hotels in the way in which the staff ensured that your stay was made memorable and that the facilities were excellent. To sum it all up I am definetly planning to return to this hotel in the near future

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#26 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractionsand the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five restaurants, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.