We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fabulous resort with facilities of the highest standard, particularly the staff who acknowledge you at all times - even the painters stop to say 'hello'. Excellent hostess staff in the restaurant who use their initiative to enhance your stay. Outstanding pool and spa, and close to all the tourist places.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for all your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I am particularly pleased when I noticed that people such as yourself still appreciate the basis of genuine hospitality with a simple greeting when one walks by one of our Ambassadors. The most magical thing that my team is very proud of their hotel and very genuinely will spare no efforts in ensuring our guest wellbeing. I am happy that you were able to experience some of that. Thank you again for your review, we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Angkor – Fabrice Ducry General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    259
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
261
632
82
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The grounds are about the only nice thing about this hotel. It is a sprawling complex, so it takes quite some time to get to your room from the lobby. One day my niece forgot her camera and it took a full 9 minutes for her to run from the lobby to the room and back. The lobby has a terrible smell that is a mixture of bug spray and incense. The hallways are not air-conditioned, and the rooms require that your key be inserted into them in order to turn on the electricity and air-conditioning. The sheets are not 100 percent cotton, and the pillows are foam, not down. The rooms are VERY noisy - we were awakened by dogs barking, people screaming, roosters crowing, etc. If you have a chance to stay at the Grand Hotel d'Angkgor that is much preferable to the Sofitel. The Sofitel at this location definitely does not warrant any more than three stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I certainly regret to hear that the hotel was not up to your expectations. It is true that our hotel is built on 6 acres of land, and the gardens and lakes we have on property, though usually appreciated by our guests, may give a filling of space and one would have to walk a little bit further to reach your room. At the Sofitel we try to enliven all senses, and music and fragrance are part of the experience. I can understand that the fragrance we use may not be to everyone’s taste, and do apologize for that. We use 3 main fragrances at the hotel. “Lemon grass” (popular plant in Cambodia), in guest room corridors, “Ylang Ylang” at the Spa and Gym, and lastly our “Sofitel blend” perfume created for Sofitel by “les Artisans Parfumeurs” famous French perfume creator.
Again, I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us, and hope to have the opportunity to make you experience different at our property should you be coming back our way.– Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband & I stayed a fortnight at this hotel over Christmas and New Year, and had the most fantastic holiday. Nearest 5 star hotel to the Temples. Thoroughly recommend !! New Years Eve Gala was a spectacular in the hotel grounds lit by torches and fairy lights, with live music, Cambodian dancers and acrobats, ice-carving, fabulous food, market stalls selling local wares, and even a live water buffalo. We stayed in a luxury room which was very clean, well serviced and stocked, with fresh fruit and water, a fantastic big bed, and a lovely balcony. The restaurants (Citadel and Mahouts Dream) were excellent, with a wide choice of Western or Cambodian food, all beautifully presented and with excellent service and friendly staff. The Royal Court has a nightly Cambodian dancing display (Apsara etcs) which is very good. My husband put on half a stone in weight, and we would recommend the hot chocolate souffle and breakfast waffles !! The hotel grounds are lovely, and we enjoyed relaxing by the pool, with attentive and friendly (but not pestering) pool staff. The So Spa was a calm, cool oasis, and I recommend Kim for a very good massage. The bars were good, with competent staff, and a pre-dinner piano player every evening.
Many tourists only come to Siem Reap for a few days, on the Grand IndoChina Tour, and rush around the Temples, and do not have the time to enjoy the location. I would recommend coming to this hotel for a fortnight, to have more time to see the many Temples at leisure (Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Beng Mealea, Banteay Srei, Ta Prohm, etc), see Tonle Sap, visit the Angkor National Museum (good for history and statues from the Temples), do a Quad-bike ride around the rice fields in the country-side outside Siem Reap waving at the friendly locals, Tuk Tuk to town centre market, and have time to relax and enjoy the hotel. All the hotel staff were very friendly, helpful, professional and hospitable. I would particularly commend Benoit Matanomski as Operations Manager, Chef Adam and Sandra Wieczorek Food & Beverage Manager, for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: We booked a luxury room with a balcony and huge king-size bed, and requested a quiet location, so to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Angkor on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you with us over the past holidays which I sincerely hope left fund memories. I could not be happier with your recommendations of staying a few days extra in Siem Reap. I heard this so many times from our guest leaving the hotel “I wish we would have planned a longer stay in Siem Reap”. Certainly the local area has so much to offer on top of the world famous Angkor temples, and I am glad that you were able to have a full “Siem Reap Experience” during your visit. I have personally passed on all your kind comments to Kim, Sandra, Benoit & Chef Adam, they were all very pleased and sends their warmest regards. We would all love to welcome you back to the Sofitel Angkor one day! Best wishes for 2013 – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort in October 2012. We were more than satisfied with the service and the facilities of the hotel. The grounds were very well kept and manicured, and provided a very tranquil setting to relax after a long day of temple hopping. But don’t expect to be on a golf course. The golf course associated with the hotel is actually 23 km away from the hotel. The room was very comfortable, and is what you would expect from Sofitel. They also restocked the water bottles in the room every day, which was a nice touch. We had a room at the end of the building and the free wifi worked great. It was perfect to skype everyone back home.

The service was exceptional, and everyone from the housekeepers to the bell hop went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Everyone really does say “bonjour” when they pass you in the hallway, and with a sincere smile. We ate at all of the restaurants and were satisfied with the food selection and the prices. The ‘Mouhots Dream’ restaurant was a little pricey, but the service was the best we ever had and the food was amazing. ‘The Citadel’ was great and they had free nightly performances of traditional Khmer dance with dinner. Get there early, because a few minutes before the performance started, a large group of tourist came in and took over the buffet.

My wife enjoyed using the outstanding spa services, and I enjoyed the reasonable pricing. She chose several spa services which cost the same price as an hour massage back in the states. You could probably get it even cheaper downtown, but you wouldn’t be able to take a nice stroll back to your room in your robe and slippers after a relaxing spa day.

I would highly suggest taking their air conditioned airport van transfers ($10 US per person), especially if you have a lot of bags, or at least take it on your way home. We took their van when we arrived, and were met with cool towels and refreshments at the airport. We decided to save $10 US on the way back to the airport and took a tuk-tuk. It was a very hot and dusty ride to the airport. Not a good way to start the long journey back home.

We booked a day tour of the main temples through the hotel and were very satisfied with the guide and the itinerary. They tried to get us to use the larger van for $100 for the day, but we insisted on the Toyota Camry instead for just about half the price of the van (they don’t advertise the Camry). When getting a tuk-tuk I would walk outside the gates to hail our own instead of having the hotel get one for us. It seemed that the prices were higher when they made the arrangements. But even when you walk to the main road, the tuk-tuk drivers spot you right away walking out of the fancy Sofitel and up their prices, so you really have to negotiate. It seems that for a whole day temple hopping in a tuk-tuk should be about $15 US for the temples closer in, and about $25 US for the temples further away. It cost us only $2 US one way from the hotel to the main ‘Pub Street’. If you need a good English speaking tuk-tuk driver, we suggest giving Phal Phy (goes by “P”) a call. He took us around to different temples and museums, and was very friendly and allowed us to take our time without feeling rushed. (Tel: 855 (0) 93 479 317, phalphy2009@gmail.com)

Overall we were more than satisfied with everything the Sofitel had to offer, and when we do return, we will be coming back to the Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in Siem Reap and at the Sofitel Angkor on Trip Advisor. I loved your title, as I could not agree more that after temple visit and buzzing little town of Siem Reap, our hotel feels like an Oasis of peace, with our large gardens and lakes. It is so rewarding to notice that the genuine care of my team does not go unnoticed. Your message was already posted on our employee information board, and made several department very happy. I hope you have enjoyed your round of golf. I truly believe that to appreciate the Angkor Temples, one should balance the program between historical site discovery and other leisure activities. I hope that you had a safe and comfortable trip back home and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back one day. Best wishes for 2013 – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A very Western style resort hotel close to the centre of Siem Reap. Gardens, pools, restaurants and some entertainment made for a very enjoyable stay. Transport by tuk-tuk is cheap and fun and very easy. The market is not far away but probably safer to use a tuk-tuk rather than walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that our facilities and services could help create an enjoyable stay with us. Though Sofitel is a French international brand, I do hope that you were able to notice our special touch and details created to allow our guests to experience with in the hotel grounds, a certain authenticity and local Khmer influences. Our Christmas decoration that you may have had the chance to see during your stay, being the perfect example of the blending of the tradition of Christmas and the local culture. Wishing you all our best for 2013 – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights over the Christmas period. The hotel has very pleasant grounds, nice food at the Citadel and through room service. Very strange servicing of the room - beds made but mini bar and tea and coffee supplies not replaced - had to ask every day for replacements.
Agree with other reviewers that suggest that the Concierge service only provide details of people they know for tours etc. the hotel had sent us details of day tours we could take so we booked for two days with car and driver and guide. The guide we had on day one told us he was doing a favour taking us out that day and spent some time on the phone - he told us he had other business to attend to so we should just keep walking around where we were and he would catch up. It then became obvious that he wanted to do something else that afternoon as he advised us that we would not have time to follow the itinerary on the hotel program for the afternoon - we had heard him making arrangements with a friend to go to Christmas drinks and dinner that evening startIng at 5pm - our tour was to finish at 5.30pm. We decided to do our own think after that - car and driver only for the rest of our 2 day program. When we spoke to the Concierge they were just not interested - they already had our money.
Would not stay here again and would not recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay at the Sofitel Angkor. I do regret to read that we did not live up to your expectations. I understand that the issues you had with your organized tour was one of the key contributing factors to making you disappointed. Certainly the behavior you describe from the tour guide is unacceptable. I would very much like to get in touch to get more details on this issue.( Please feel free to contact me directly on H3123-GM2@sofitel.com) . I have also passed on your housekeeping comments to our Executive Housekeeper who despite being very apologetic will reinforce our standards with her team.
We do hope to have the opportunity to make you experience what our hotel is all about… in the meantime, we wish you all the best for 2013 – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were greeted on our arrival at The Sofitel by the very friendly manager after a smooth check-in. All the staff in this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge made dinner reservations and recommended good shopping spots for us. We found the food and service at the pool excellent. The breakfast buffet consisted of a wide variety of good quality fresh food.

The accommodation was good and located on the ground floor. Some special touches were the fruit basket replenished every day and some delicious desserts on our first evening. The TV had a wide selection of channels to choose from.

The location of the hotel, close to the Angkor Wat temples, is very convenient and is also only a short tuk-tuk ride from the centre of the town.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Sofitel Phokeethra and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrice D, General Manager at Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear that your stay with us contributed to a holiday to remember. I particularly value your kind comments about our hotel “Ambassadors” (team) and have already shared your message with them. Best wishes for 2013 in which I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sofitel Angkor – Fabrice Ducry/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens on Charles de Gaulle Avenue, Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort is the closest Siem Reap hotel to the ruins of Angkor Wat. This unique Siem Reap Cambodia hotel is situated near traditional markets, tourist attractions and the airport. Enjoy the many features of Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, including 238 rooms, a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, five food & beverage outlets, the Phokeethra Country Club, and a world class 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf Hotel Siem Reap
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Hotel
Sofitel Siem Reap
Siem Reap Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.