We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best nights in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Picasso Bar

Picasso Bar
Alley West | Near Pub Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 nightlife in Siem Reap
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Centrally located, Picasso is a small (Air-conditioned) Barrel-vaulted Bar that ooze charm. The Horse-shoe shaped bar is the main feature allowing the conversation to flow as easily as the drinks. Stylish and cosmopolitan the atmosphere is friendly and intimate without being intrusive, Daily Happy hour specials include buy 1 get 1 free on selected drinks.Their immensely popular signature drink is the freshly made sangria, Red or White served up by the glass or Carafe. You can chat across the Horseshoe shaped bar, to the staff, the local expats and travelers alike or simply soak up the ambience and drink in peaceOpen 5 - LateHappy hour 5 - 8pm(Buy 1 Get 1 FREE cocktails and other discounts)Wednesday HAPPY HOUR ALL NIGHTAir-conditionedSnacks availableA GREAT PLACE TO MEET OR MAKE FRIENDS!
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best nights in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Tucked away in one of the lane alleyways of Pub Street. We had alot of fun having their 2for1 Happy Hour drinks and playing Jenga that we went again after dinner and ended up having one of our best nights in Siem Reap.
The patrons and Manager are super friendly who love to converse with our travellers who walked into the bar.
Highly recommended to anyone travelling to Siem Reap!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Kiene, Manager at Picasso Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I always love when people say they had their best night in Siem Reap in the bar.
Hope to see you back again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I wandered into Picasso Bar on a recommendation from Tyler of Belmiro's. The first thing that struck me was the atmosphere. As others have mentioned in their reviews, the horseshoe shaped bar does a good job of tucking people comfortably into what feels like a cozy, but not necessarily crowded, space. The manager is friendly, and the decor is as classy as it gets. Perhaps the best atmosphere of any bar I've been to abroad, period.

Having said that, the bottled beer is significantly overpriced. The food, consisting mainly of tapas-style fare (bread, marinated cheese, peppers, olives, ham, etc...) looked delicious when served, but was served in small portions and priced well above what I'd have wanted to pay.

Picasso is a terrific bar if you are looking to kill two hours with a friend or two, have a small, shared snack, and drink one or two beers over conversation in the evening. It is not somewhere I would go to eat if I was hungry, nor to drink if I wanted to have more than a couple of beers.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good place to meet people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I like this place because of the shape of the horseshoe bar. It means you are always in company and aside from the fact that the bar runners are good at their job keeping your glass filled, you'll always find people to talk to. I normally go there before hitting the very late night bars and clubs. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bar, Great People.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a little lane way bar, kind of tucked away but well worth finding. You can sit and have 2 for 1 cocktails and chat with people from all over the globe, you can play cards or jenga or numerous other games while having a drink. They serve a little bit of tapas if that's your thing including cheese's, chorizo, fresh bread rolls and a few other items. The prices are reasonable and they have a great selection of spirits to choose from. The staff are very easy to talk to and will give great advice on the local area. This is a bar for anyone, local, expat or tourist you will enjoy your self. If you get the chance, pop in and have a drink and a yarn.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delish shots and awesome people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

After wandering Pub Street and back alleys, I stumbled upon this bar and was immediately hooked. The bartenders are fabulous and the patrons provide lively conversations. As a solo traveler, I had NO problems meeting new people as everyone is extremely welcoming.

The drinks are reasonably priced and the everyday happy hour as well as the shots make this a gem in Siem Reap. After my phone was stolen, the whole bar stepped up in assisting me to recover it. They all went the extra mile to help a tourist after knowing me for a few days. That alone shows the heart and soul that they put into not only the drinks but also in ensuring that their patrons are taken care of.

The food consists of a variety of tapas at very affordable prices! I had the chorizo, marinated olives, smoked chicken, and cheese platter...all delicious and perfect while drinking. A major shout out to Hannah, Chelsea, and Phil for making me feel at home in Siem Reap!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso Bar also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Picasso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picasso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Picasso Bar to your Saves list