We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small bar with great tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Picasso Bar

Picasso Bar
Alley West | Near Pub Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 Nightlife in Siem Reap
Type: Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Centrally located, Picasso is a small (Air-conditioned) Barrel-vaulted Bar that ooze charm. The Horse-shoe shaped bar is the main feature allowing the conversation to flow as easily as the drinks. Stylish and cosmopolitan the atmosphere is friendly and intimate without being intrusive, Daily Happy hour specials include buy 1 get 1 free on selected drinks.Their immensely popular signature drink is the freshly made sangria, Red or White served up by the glass or Carafe. You can chat across the Horseshoe shaped bar, to the staff, the local expats and travelers alike or simply soak up the ambience and drink in peaceOpen 5 - LateHappy hour 5 - 8pm(Buy 1 Get 1 FREE cocktails and other discounts)Wednesday HAPPY HOUR ALL NIGHTAir-conditionedSnacks availableA GREAT PLACE TO MEET OR MAKE FRIENDS!
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Friendly small bar with great tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went to this bar on my own and was made totally comfortable. The shape of the bar leads to conversations amongst everybody sitting around it. I thoroughly enjoyed the tapas dishes I had and am not sure why one of the reviews complains about the dishes being small as they are standard size tapas dishes. An excellent night out - I would recommend it to all travellers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    1
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Drink don't eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A nice little bar for a drink but don't order any food it's overpriced and small portions there is better to be had

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection of Picasso Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

When I first arrived to Siem Reap I found this cute little bar nestled away in Alley West. With happy hour every night from 5-8pm we delved into a cocktail or 4 for two for one. Our livers really despised us on Wednesday night as it was happy hour all night long. I love the setting of the bar. You really do feel like you have stepped outside of Cambodia which was nice after a day of haggling with tuk tuks and vendors who I felt sometimes were taking the mickey out of me.
The fact you can speak with other tourists and expats also traveling and gain a wealth of travel information from, or slip in for a quiet drink and downtime without the thumping music of pub street drowning out the conversation is also another big plus.
Another thing was the overall cleanliness of the bar and toilet. I can honestly say hand on my heart the toilet is one of the cleanest i have been to in Siem Reap.
The tapas are tasty with the patatas with the secret dipping sauce and chilli con carne served with a warm bread roll being our favorites also reasonably priced.
The handsome bartender Phil is charming and welcoming and is eager to engage in conversation whilst making drinks that certainly pack a punch. I would highly recommend Picasso bar to anybody visiting Siem Reap, but be warned once you visit once you will want to come back again and again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cozy and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Great cocktails, friendly bartender, just about 16 seats around a bar. Good tapas. Come here to relax after a day at the temples, market or after dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Awesome bar, Awesome staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent quite a few nights in the Picasso bar during our trip to Siem Reap. The bar is very quaint, and has been designed to look as if you're sitting in an old wine cellar. You feel as if you're in Italy rather than Cambodia. The bar is up a small lane adjacent to Pub Street, so very handy.

The staff are awesome, Phil who seems to be there every night, is a wealth of information about Siem Reap, and will happily chat to you for the whole night. He gave us a few recommendations for different cafes, restaurants etc and they were all great. Silivia was also great, very friendly and well travelled so you can pick up lots of info.

The bar is horseshoe shaped and is quite narrow, so you can have conversations with all the people around the bar, which is really nice. We met and chatted with more travellers in Picassso's than any other bar.

The one negative is that they don't serve mojitos!! But the sangria is delicious. The bar doesn't serve full meals, but it does serve tasty tapas. We had the antipasti one night and it was lovely.

We would definitely recommend Picasso's and we hope by the time we get back Phil will have persuaded the boss to start serving mojitos!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso Bar also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Picasso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picasso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.