We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My God! This place is unbelievable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Wat Damnak Village | Salakomreouk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855 97 726 1110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 474 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Oh My God! This place is unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The best setting and ambiance i have ever experienced. Its a wonderfully new and amazing feeling. Seated a midst the lovely garden you have the maximum privacy and personal space as there are very few tables in a large open space.

The chef is awesome. Food was too good and the presentation of the dishes was delicate, stunning and full of finesse. The Loklak and the fish lemongrass with cabbage rolls was what we ordered and it was so good, i couldnt stop smiling.

Service is prompt and with a smile. They have light bulbs to know you are ready to order just like in an aircraft when you want water. Our waitress was really sweet and we thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
From our entire team we want to thank you for these really nice comments! It is quite an hoor to read such feedback and nice to know we also are able to exceed expectations from time to time! ;-) We hope to see you again and wish you a wonderful remainder of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    87
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The garden is lovely and dotted with private dining gazebos. There are Cambodian and Western dishes, including dishes from the grill. We shared entrees and main courses and all enjoyed them all. Very reasonably priced if a little more expensive than other Siem Reap restaurants. However, the setting is quite unique.
The restaurant is a bit out of the way but they will pick up and return you to your hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Australian friends, many thanks for your comments and having dinner with us. It seems we are getting a bit more comments now about the prices, which is interesting given that prices have risen for restaurant operations by 25% in the past 2 years, but menu prices have remained steady with about 5% increase annually. That may be a bit of nice background info and tells you also something about the development of our scene i Siem Reap (things get expensive quickly in developing countries).

We believe we are not that much more expensive than others with all mains at USD 6,75 (Khmer) and USD 7,75 (Grill) that includes fries, home made sauces and gives you a 200 gram imported steak for example. The extra services we provide are hopefully worth the extra 50 cents or dollar you would spend at our place, as we pick you up, you enjoy wifi, have utmost privacy and very personal attention! But most importantly: we take very good care of our staff and have good benefits for them, which makes things at Tangram unique. This is noticeable in our service standards we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance for a Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was recommended to try this restaurant by a friend who said it was the ultimate romantic dinner destination. The concept of the restaurant is definitely unique. Each party has their own covered gondola area - perfect for a romantic and quiet evening. The service was attentive and the food was very good. The servers only enter your private area if you press a button for service or to serve your food. For such a unique place, the prices for dinner were also incredibly reasonable ($6-$10 USD)! Definitely apply bug spray before going, but the restaurant also provides a bug repellent candle underneath the table to help keep the mosquitos away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks Jess for trusting your friend's advice! It was nice to have you over and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good setting average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The setting is lovely in the garden and the food is well priced starting at US6 - US10 a dish.

The food was cooked well enough for the price however don't expect quality of food you would receive in restaurants in either USA or Australia. That said would go back for the price it's a good meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Madam,

as per your comments, it seems we did quite well. But Why the 3* rating only? We were not aware we were competing with western establishments. In any case, we hope you do come back and perhaps increase your appreciation to at leatst 4*. We will now work incredibly hard again to get 10 x a 4 or 5* review to eliminate this 3* response. Unfortunate, but it keeps us sharp as well.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and nice garden !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a lovely place to have a romantic or relaxing dinner. The food is good and we had a private area for dinner. Service was perfect: friendly and professional ! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for being with us last evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangram Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.