We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to rest after long days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Angkor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Angkor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road No 6, Choung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing place to rest after long days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff here are so friendly! Like beyond necessary friendly and helpful and chatty.

We booked an english speaking tour guide and tuk tuk driver through the front desk the night before we wanted to go (i recommend our tuk tuk driver his photo is on the wall in the lobby as he won best tuk tuk driver in september)
Our beds got made up twice a day!!! Twice!! Ive never had that service before. And at night they left us candies and a bed time story. So sweet. The pool is nice. The cooked brekky is basic but you get croissants which is a winner for me and you can get them takeaway at 5.30am if you see the sunrise at angkor wat!

Since it is a while from the city centre they have free tuk tuks to the market street and pub street between 6-10pm which is amazing and then its about a $2 trip home.

For the price this was brilliant. And the service was 5 stars!
Thank you gloria!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    109
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
60
161
36
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

good Quality Hotel for less Money. staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and give you enough space. if you want to relax at the pool, no Problem. breakfast ist pretty good as well (eggs, Rice, noodles, bread....).

a nice add-on is a free shuttle-Service by tuk-tuk (in certain hours) down to the City cause the Hotel is a bit out of town but Close to angkor wat. around the Hotel is nothing much to do.

if you stay for 1-2 night for angkor wat this one is a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel considering rates we paid. Very clean hotel and the staff are probably the mist accomodating we've met on our holiday. Invited to their opening of swimming pool where they provided free drink and food for the evening! But right throughout our stay, staff were most helpful and cheerful. Big rooms and very clean too. If i had one fault, breakfast could be better as the buffet hasnt much variety. Otherwise a great choice for travelling through Siam Riep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Siem Reap is a must visit place in your lifetime and if you get there you won't go wrong staying at this place....spacious rooms with everything, great massages ( pick your oil type..I went lemongrass) very good food, a one year old pool area very nicely set up.....freet Tuk Tuk at night to get you to Pub Street ( so cool) and they had friendly helpful staff helmed by Mr Mao...he will do anything for you. Like when I got there I left my camera in the back pocket of the seat of the bus I travelled in....he grabbed a Tuk Tuk went to the bus depot and got it for me...that's service!

Room Tip: Poolside room?..it's close to the road to the temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I enjoyed that they picked us up, provided us with water and yummy plantains whenever we entered the hotel, gave us a scarf when we left and were overall friendly. But this hotel is far from downtown, which is where you want to be for food and drinks. they do provide a free tuk tuk service but if you know anything about cambodia and have half a heart you will end up tipping the drivers because it's the right thing to do. the breakfast was mediocre at best. the rooms were clean, they brought us bedtime stories at night, which was fun. overall, i would try and find a place in the downtown district, the location is just depressing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophath K, General Manager at Gloria Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mikk,

I am sorry that you did not satisfy with our hotel location but the location is not concealed for everybody before you made a decision to pick our hotel during your stay in Siem Reap.

However, most guests are preferred this premium location as it is a bit part of the beaten track within 5 minutes rides busier pub street and Old market. In addition, guests have a pleasure to see a daily life of local market and people on the way; beside this we offer a shuttle to Old Market between 06:00pm to 10:00pm free of charge. It will be free shuttle all day to city from 06:00am to 10:00pm daily. (On 01st November 2013 onward....)

Gloria Angkor Hotel is a 10-minute drive from Angkor Wat Temple. Chong Kavsou Bus Station is 1 km away while Siem Reap International Airport is 10 km from the hotel.

If you are looking for the busy and crowed tourists, Gloria Angkor is not your right choice BUT if you are looking for the exceptional place with local experience and to relax, quiet, and off the beaten track with free ride all day to city then Gloria Angkor Hotel is your right CHOICE!

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you

Best Regards from Angkor,

Kim Sophath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

In general the hotel was good,clean, nice swimming pool and good breakfast. We were able to get our laundry done, which was great. The staff we found a bit over the top, as everytime we came in to the reception it seemed as it was a competition to who could scream out hello and good morning the loudest. However, the biggest dissapointment was the hotels driver who suggested we'd see the sunset at the floating market, not telling us how it would cost 20 dollar each for the boat!? However, the worst was how the whole boatrip was a big SCAM. Guides telling us that by buying the orphans food from the floating market we could feed about 30 of the kids. They sell rice for 50 dollars (?!) which we didnt get, instead we got the noodles. We gave out the noodles to the kids at the school to make sure they got it, although these kids didnt seem to care. We felt awkward and got back on the boat. We thought this was all very weird and later found out when we got back that what happens is that the school where the orphans stay sells it back to the shop, and by that makes money on it. Also, every driver that takes you to this place gets a comminssion! So if your hotel driver wants to take youto the sunset AVOID. Its sad, you dobt expect to get scammed by the hotel drivers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel really was amazing from the second we arrived to the moment we (very sadly) had to leave! After a 10 hour journey from Bangkok we were greeted by the sweetest, most helpful staff. Welcoming you with a brilliant smile, refreshing drink and cold towels. We were given a comprehensive run down of the hotel and surrounding area and were taken to our room which was just wonderful.

The room was actually quite beautiful and so clean with air con, tea and coffee facilities, a bath tub, hairdryer etc. and a welcome bowl of fruit and bottled water. We also had a view of the pool through huge double windows. All for £14 (for two of us) per night. Wow, we were so chuffed.

The hotel is not right near the centre of Siem Reap's night life but as previous reviews state, you can get the free tuk tuk between 6-10pm. Once they drop you off in the centre you are near everything. Bars, restaurants, the night market etc. etc. And if you want a late night it only cost us $3 to get back using a local tuk tuk. One evening we shared a ride with one of the reception staff and he told us all about the surrounding area etc. he was so sweet and really proud of his hotel.

They also provide a tuk tuk to take you around all the temples of Angkhor Wat for $15. They take you to any temple you choose to go to and then wait for you in the nearby tuk tuk bays ready to take you on to the next, no pushy behaviour or rushing at all.

The restaurant is really quiet but the food is pretty good and the lady who runs the restaurant is the sweetest Khmer lady I've met. The swimming pool is fantastic and great for a lazy day after the hours of temple exploring.

Overall, I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We really didn't want to leave (even after extending our stay) but time had come to move on.

If you stay here you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Angkor Hotel

Address: National Road No 6, Choung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloria Angkor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Accommodation for tourists who are looking for a home away from home and it is located near the wonderful Angkor Wat Temple. GLORIA ANGKOR HOTEL is built in natural surroundings and combines traditional Khmer hospitality with modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.