We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Angkor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gloria Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gloria Angkor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road No 6, Choung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 219 hotels in Siem Reap
Hannover, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The service and the staff were extraordinary friendly. especially the guy with the dark spot on his nose :-). very very friendly and always had a good tip or advice for us. Mr. Brachat was always very helpful too. The present we got at the end of our stay was also great. I really felt like home in this place. Also the tuk tuk driver Mr. Sarat was really really freindly and reliable. I am really impressed by the frinedliness of the staff and the cambodian people and was truely sad to leave the country, but the trip had to go on.
Next time in Siem Reap, I'll certainly take this hotel. :-)

Thanks guys for everything.

Arsen Begovic

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    87
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
52
129
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

It was an enjoyable stay here with the great help from Mr. Phal and Mr. Sophal. They have planned and arranged for our daily trips, and offered helps when needed. Their energetic greetings always brought smiles to our faces. We definitely would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Quaint hotel, with clean rooms, staff is very friendly and willing to help out. we stayed for 4 nights, very comfortable, pro's low price, and clean rooms, con's hot water, very hot, location, just a little out of the way, however, they did have a great Tuk Tuk service to downtown!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are a couple and stayed at Gloria Angkor for 6 nights in December.

Summary of the review is: Hotel is fairly new and very clean. Staff is marvelous - one of the best staff we have ever seem. The food at the restaurant is also quite good. Only problem is the location, as it is far from the center and where most of the shopping or restaurants are in Siem Reap.

Below the detailed review:

LOCATION: That´s the only reason why I do not rate this hotel as excellent - 5 points. The hotel is 7 km far from the city center. So if you would like to walk around the city you will always need a tuk-tuk or transport. Financially speaking, this is not a problem, as the hotel gives you the transport to the city for free. The only problem is the hassle to arrange a time with the tuk-tuk driver and not have the freedom to just walk around by yourself.

ROOM: Spot clean and very new. Rooms have aircon, complementary water and TV with cable. Bed was very comfortable as well. The hotel was built very well in our view - it is located just next to a busy road but you cannot listen to any noise from the streets inside the room because of the good noise isolation of the hotel.

FOOD: We have eaten in the restaurant and the food was amazing. The curry I had at the hotel was actually better than the ones I tried in the center based on reviews from Lonely Planet.

STAFF: Brilliant, perhaps the best part of the hotel. Everybody treated us very well, they organized a tuk-tuk driver for us (Mr Mom, always friendly and ready to help us with cold water and towels during our temple visit). As a plus, they offered us a christmas supper and free drinks that we enjoyed with other guests and the hotel staff - it was great fun and an excelent way to spend Christmas away from home! Also, they have special sales depending on the number of nights you are staying. We stayed 6 nights and were offered a dinner with a typical show in the city. The show was very professional and the food quite good, so thanks a lot Gloria Angkor!

Overall, this hotel is a very good choice and very good value. Just be prepared that in terms of location you will be a bit far from the city.

Room Tip: I personally do not agree with the statement from lonely planet that says that a one day visit is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at Gloria Angkor for 12 nights in November. I stayed on my own and I was made to feel really welcome all the time I was there. The service from the staff was exceptional, and very thoughtful. The manager was welcoming, and always looking for ways to make your stay more comfortable. I agree with others that it is a bit inconvenient for town, but I honestly thought it was worth it because the rooms were clean, spacious and well maintained, breakfast was good value, and there were many nice extras such as free snacks, etc.

Also- just a tip. If you *do* stay and want to just nip into town during the day, walk a little bit further along towards the town once you're out of the hotel, and tuk tuks along the way near the markets will offer you very cheap prices to get into town because there aren't so many tourists around... one for those who are watching the dollars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I were guests here for 3 nights. Overall, the experience was quite positive. Below are the main pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Great tuk tuk service! - Since the hotel is a bit far from town center, they provided free tuk tuk service from 6 to 10pm. For a small fee (~$15), you can also book a tuk tuk for the day. They generally always have drivers parked outside. The driver we had was super reliable. He was always early or on time, drove safely, and never tried to fleece us for any extra fees or tips. He also has an eagle eye and was able to identify us in a crowd of tourist each time we had to meet him.
2. Clean rooms - The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable.
3. Bedtime stories - Every night, they would give us Cambodian bedtime stories to read. The stories were entertaining and always had some moral lesson.

Cons:
1. Massages - The massages were inexpensive, but not very professional. When my hubby and I were getting our massage, one of the masseuse was pooping very loudly! My masseuse ran off to use the restroom and came back without washing her hands!
2. Breakfast Time - They advertise that their breakfasts are ready at 6am. Untrue. If you are planning an early morning trip, then expect that breakfast won't even be ready until 7:15am.
3. Bookings - For the most part, they booked the services we needed (e.g., bus ticket, tuk tuk day service, etc.). However, there was definitely some miscommunication between the evening receptionist and the morning receptionist. As a result, our guide for one of the days was not booked.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall, do not expect to be 5 stars but the services provided is much better than 5 star. Staff were very friendly. My tuk-tuk guy, Mr. Po is very nice guy. Brought me from airport on 1st day arrival up to departure including my 4 days tour.
In fact they can let u check up much earlier if your flight is early in morning. Best is that Tuk Tuk to airport is free.
One suggestion to make it additional star for service, is to have a safety box in the room.
It is a 3 stars hotel with 5 stars service.

....CS Teoh

Room Tip: Choose the 1st floor room as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gloria Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Angkor Hotel

Address: National Road No 6, Choung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 219 hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloria Angkor Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Accommodation for tourists who are looking for a home away from home and it is located near the wonderful Angkor Wat Temple. GLORIA ANGKOR HOTEL is built in natural surroundings and combines traditional Khmer hospitality with modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Gloria Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.