We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service in a friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Angkor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road No 6, Choung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 254 Hotels in Siem Reap
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant service in a friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at Gloria Angkor for 12 nights in November. I stayed on my own and I was made to feel really welcome all the time I was there. The service from the staff was exceptional, and very thoughtful. The manager was welcoming, and always looking for ways to make your stay more comfortable. I agree with others that it is a bit inconvenient for town, but I honestly thought it was worth it because the rooms were clean, spacious and well maintained, breakfast was good value, and there were many nice extras such as free snacks, etc.

Also- just a tip. If you *do* stay and want to just nip into town during the day, walk a little bit further along towards the town once you're out of the hotel, and tuk tuks along the way near the markets will offer you very cheap prices to get into town because there aren't so many tourists around... one for those who are watching the dollars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    143
    26
    3
    9
See reviews for
66
194
55
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I were guests here for 3 nights. Overall, the experience was quite positive. Below are the main pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Great tuk tuk service! - Since the hotel is a bit far from town center, they provided free tuk tuk service from 6 to 10pm. For a small fee (~$15), you can also book a tuk tuk for the day. They generally always have drivers parked outside. The driver we had was super reliable. He was always early or on time, drove safely, and never tried to fleece us for any extra fees or tips. He also has an eagle eye and was able to identify us in a crowd of tourist each time we had to meet him.
2. Clean rooms - The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable.
3. Bedtime stories - Every night, they would give us Cambodian bedtime stories to read. The stories were entertaining and always had some moral lesson.

Cons:
1. Massages - The massages were inexpensive, but not very professional. When my hubby and I were getting our massage, one of the masseuse was pooping very loudly! My masseuse ran off to use the restroom and came back without washing her hands!
2. Breakfast Time - They advertise that their breakfasts are ready at 6am. Untrue. If you are planning an early morning trip, then expect that breakfast won't even be ready until 7:15am.
3. Bookings - For the most part, they booked the services we needed (e.g., bus ticket, tuk tuk day service, etc.). However, there was definitely some miscommunication between the evening receptionist and the morning receptionist. As a result, our guide for one of the days was not booked.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall, do not expect to be 5 stars but the services provided is much better than 5 star. Staff were very friendly. My tuk-tuk guy, Mr. Po is very nice guy. Brought me from airport on 1st day arrival up to departure including my 4 days tour.
In fact they can let u check up much earlier if your flight is early in morning. Best is that Tuk Tuk to airport is free.
One suggestion to make it additional star for service, is to have a safety box in the room.
It is a 3 stars hotel with 5 stars service.

....CS Teoh

Room Tip: Choose the 1st floor room as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed in a few hotels based on Trip Advisor's recommendation but, I have never written any reviews for any hotels I stayed as they are just average till I stayed in Gloria Angkor Hotel. Besides the usual room service that they provided in the morning, they actually tidied up our room when they left us "little surprise" every evening. The staff are very friendly and patiently listen to your enquiries and tried their best to meet your needs. What impressed us the most was the last night when we planned to check out early as we would leave early in the morning next day to Phnom Penh; so, we approached the staff on duty at the reception after our last tour to the old market (using their free tuk tuk service). Before we requested anything, he actually asked us if we wanted to check out that night as he knew that our early departure next day!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who as Gloria Angkor Hotel provides more than just a comfort bed and clean toilet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Read the reviews and decided to give it a try, was a little apprehensive seeing how cheap the rooms were. We only booked the same day of arrival (through booking.com) and was irritated to be told they had no rooms when we got there despite having a confirmed booking. Managed to get this sorted out with some discussions and to be fair it seemed to be a management issue regarding how they manage the bookings.

Rooms are very clean and tidy, value for money is excellent, bit out of town but as others say its not an issue with the resident tuk tuks outside. Only downside is we were on 3rd floor with no lift in the hotel, not a major issue for us but maybe for some less able folk so I thought worth mentioning.

Would definitely recommend staying here for people on a budget. Ignore my ratings on swimming pool and fitness centre as it was done in error and using an iPad I cannot see how to remove it as I did not wish to post a review on them items as I did not see or use them

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms to save your legs on the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed two nights here recently and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and really spacious. There was a stocked minibar (didn't use it) but convenient. They also provided complimentary in-room tea/coffee and fruit. I believe there is a large locker but we didn't use it and can't be sure (can probably just ask though). Breakfat was a buffet of eggs, noodles, sausage, fried rice +veggies, fruit and tea/coffee... it was awesome!

The staff arranged our tour of Angkor for a really good price with extremely nice tour guides and tuktuk drivers. Our guide Samnang was super friendly and knowledgeable. We had a very nice day with him, he had jokes and tried hard to make sure we were happy. But we are fairly laid back people so just enjoyed asking him heaps of questions about history and Khmer culture.They also offer a complimentary tuk tuk service to the town centre as they are a little bit out of town (but not by much... maybe 5 minutes out by tuk tuk). The staff also organised our bus trip onwards and tried hard to provide good service. We would have liked to stay longer but they were booked out so we decided to move on. We would definitely recommend them if you are a family, couple, not looking for a party but want helpful service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Excellent!
We had booked a double room but found two singles. The hotel was booked out so no other choice than to stay in that room. however this did not cause any issue as the single beds are close to a small double and we pulled them together to have a massive king bed super comfortable. On top of this the management offered us a bottle of wine to apologize for the inconvenience.
The check in was easy as. They offer a free transfer in/out to the airport or bus station.
The laundry service is a bit expensive but it is same day service and very convenient as it is in house.
The restaurant is good enough and very fairly priced, otherwise for dinner you can benefit from the FREE tuktuk service to the city to enjoy some nice restaurants.
The breakfast is correct and is of standard quality for Cambodia.
The staff is excellent, very amicable, extremely helpful. We booked our guide and used their tuktuk drivers to visit Angkor.
A very nice touch is the bed time stories delivered to your room every evening in addition to the movie programme for the night.
The location is a bit far from the city or the temples (maybe an additional 5-10 minutes tuktuk drive)
Absolutely recommended.

Room Tip: Maybe one at the back to avoid the ones facing the road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#68 of 254 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#91 of 254 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#122 of 254 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#57 of 254 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Golden Temple Villa
Golden Temple Villa
#35 of 254 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Angkor Hotel

Address: National Road No 6, Choung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 254 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloria Angkor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Accommodation for tourists who are looking for a home away from home and it is located near the wonderful Angkor Wat Temple. GLORIA ANGKOR HOTEL is built in natural surroundings and combines traditional Khmer hospitality with modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Gloria Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.