We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Training Restaurant

Haven Training Restaurant
Sok San Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855 78 342 404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 477 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cambodian, Vegetarian, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: An oasis for our guests and a safe place for our «family», the trainees and staff. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, but away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street, we offer you a beautiful haven to relax and indulge. While enjoying a dish from our special selection of flavourful Asian and Western food – including some Swiss specialties and many fresh vegetarian tidbits – you are supporting our training programme and are thereby helping disadvantaged young adults to achieve a secure and independent future.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Glad that we had booked by email before leaving the UK, as this is clearly a very busy restaurant - and justifiably so!
From the moment we arrived, we were greatly impressed with the friendly, yet highly professional, service by the young staff.
The food was superb, both in quality and the generosity of the portions; fresh ingredients, locally sourced and beautifully presented.
We were even amazed by the selection of music played unobtrusively in the background; Bowie, REM, The Cure, Morrisey, Moby, Abba, etc - we could have been at home playing our own CD collection!
At the end of our delicious and filling meal, we had the pleasure of talking to Paul, who runs the restaurant with his wife Sara. They had quit their jobs, and sold their home in Switzerland a few years ago to trek round South East Asia, before falling in love with Cambodia. Wanting to do more than just donate money to help Cambodia's orphans, or encourage reliance on Western donations, they decided to put principles into practice by opening a restaurant which trained orphaned teenagers for one year, after which they would be employed in their own right by other restaurants. The trainees are treated very well, and seemed genuinely happy in their work - their smiles didn't seem false or fixed. There was a real sense of camaraderie. Paul explained that as the tips are actually saved for the staff until they leave at the end of their year, and presented to them as a lump sum, to enable them to enter the world with some money in their pocket already to aid their transition to full independent adulthood.
However, while Paul trusted the young staff to deliver the service they had been trained to provide, he was always busy in the background; a hands-on employer, subtly leading by example.
We genuinely wish Paul, Sara and their wonderful young staff all the success that they thoroughly deserve.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
((For personal reasons I have been offline for quite some time. But now I am back with a sincere reply and hope you forgive my late response.))

This is truly a review that really lifted up our spirits. Paul really enjoyed talking to you and it is so nice to read here how much you enjoyed it yourself. Also we want to thank you dearly for all your lovely compliments and the wonderful support you are giving us. It really means a lot to us!

Wishing you all the very best,
Sara & the whole HAVEN Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,575
    330
    64
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I visited Haven when traveling to Siem Reap with friends a couple of weeks ago. Food was outstanding and affordable-- a number of Khmer and Western options-- and the restaurant seems to be doing a lot of good for the community. Service is warm and friendly. Ambiance is lovely-- a quiet garden oasis amidst the busy-ness of the Pub Street area. I liked it so much I went back again the following week when I returned to Siem Reap with my father and had just as wonderful of an experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for this lovely feedback. The biggest compliment of all is, that you came back again a week later and that you enjoyed your visit just as much. Thank you so much for this precious review and we can't wait to welcome you back again and again and again and again.

Best wishes,
Sara & the whole HAVEN Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It was a faultless dining experience. Good food, a good cause, excellent service. We did get in for lunch without booking but it is advisable in high season. It is very popular. The green mango salad was delicious

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and please do visit us again, next time you are in Siem Reap.

Best wishes,
Sara & the whole HAVEN Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love, Love , Love this restaurant. Food for the soul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a definite must if visiting Siem Rep. But be warned.. its so popular that you need to book approx a week in advance for dinner. We visited on a Tuesday and people were told to come back on the Saturday it was so popular! However once eating there you will understand why.
The restaurant was set up by Sara & Paul to help train young orphaned Cambodian's who potentially would struggle gaining employment. They skill these young adults to enable them to be independent- it is an amazing cause.. but the food and ambience are even better. The staff are so attentive and polite they are a pleasure to be around.
The food was delicious and was one of our most favourite restaurants in the whole of our 2 week trip. Please visit so that you can experience their delicious food but also they can keep up this great work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
And we love, love, love your feedback, with all your kind words for the soul. Thank you so much for your enthusiasm and for your support. And of course for taking your time to share your experience here. Hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Sara & the whole HAVEN Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must visit this stunning restuarant. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I fell in love with this restuarant. The concept is fantastic. Surroundings, staff and food were all beautiful. This restuarant must be booked in advanve as it is a busy place but well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
What a super-sweet feedback. Thank you so much for this and all your support. Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Sara & the whole HAVEN Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Training Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Haven Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Training Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.