We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic idea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Training Restaurant

Haven Training Restaurant
Sok San Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855 78 342 404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 477 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cambodian, Vegetarian, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: An oasis for our guests and a safe place for our «family», the trainees and staff. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, but away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street, we offer you a beautiful haven to relax and indulge. While enjoying a dish from our special selection of flavourful Asian and Western food – including some Swiss specialties and many fresh vegetarian tidbits – you are supporting our training programme and are thereby helping disadvantaged young adults to achieve a secure and independent future.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic idea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Haven's idea of taking orphan kids and providing them with opportunities is fantastic and I'm happy to support their cause.

The staff are pleasant and attentive. The food is tasty. The apple and ginger smoothie hit the spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We love that you love the idea and even more that you also loved our food and service. Thank you so much for your kind feedback on our project and hope to see you soon again! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,581
    330
    64
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My Dining Experience in Cambodia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Maybe the best dining experience in Cambodia. Besides having exceptional food which is inexpensive making it the best VALUE for money, the service is great and friendly. After the great dining evening i met Paul who described the mission of the restaurant which made the meal even more satisfying. His mission is not only a practical one but one which can be duplicated anywhere given the skills that he possesses.

Thanks Paul. Loved it and love your heart for serving the Cambodian people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review! Paul too enjoyed your chat very much and the positive feedback you gave. We are all delighted you enjoyed your experience at HAVEN and we hope you can come back again some day! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening on every level!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Don’t let the location of this excellent restaurant put you off – tucked away a few yards down a tiny side street from the main road in Siem Reap – the welcome was warm, proficient and most of all,100% genuine. Once inside, the restaurant surroundings matched the welcome with lovely subdued lighting in the garden area where we sat.
The excellent level of service continued with attentive staff without any trace of officiousness or being over bearing - just the right balance. Every request or enquiry was met with a smile and nothing too much trouble.
What of the food? I eat out regularly in the UK and I can honestly say this is a restaurant which can hold its own against any and is better than most. The food was fresh, very tasty, and the portion sizes were just right for me. The menu provided a wide variety of choice without being so extensive that its sacrificed quality. The fact that the kitchen is open so that you can see your food being cooked in spotless conditions (not a microwave in sight!) was matched by the smart and spotless uniforms of the staff. The coffee at the end was the best I had in Siem Reap.
The fact that this is a training restaurant where the majority of the kitchen staff and the waiting staff are recruited from orphanages is irrelevant. This place holds its own regardless; but the fact that I supported such a worthwhile cause whilst having a fantastic meal with great service made my evening feel extra special!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very-very-very much for this lovely review!!! It was a pleasure having and treating you here and it was a wonderful experience for us to feel and hear your appreciation and how much you enjoyed it. The chat you had with Stef made her the happiest girl in the world - happiness that she later passed on to all of us, when she told us what you had said. We can't thank you and your partner enough for your support and your kindness and we truly hope we can welcome you back again someday. Best wishes and a big hug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My partner and I ate at Haven on our last night in Siem Reap after having a last minute change of mind (we re going to go to Palm Sugar), a decision we did not regret.

The whole meal was a lovely experience. The food was well presented and better still, it tasted great. The waiting staff were warm, friendly and very professional and polished, and would easily put a great many restaurants in the UK to shame.

If I were to offer any constructive criticism, I would say that the dessert menu may benefit from a couple of extra choices such as a simple ice cream, although I imagine if you asked for this, the Haven team would be able to accommodate.

Don't go to this restaurant because the owners are providing orphaned youngsters with a trade and additional skills, go to this restaurant because they have got it right- great food and hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Wow! What an absolutely wonderful feedback!!! Thank you soooo much for that. And thank you for the nice chat you and your partner had with Stef that night. She (and the rest of us) were over the moon about your encouraging words.
About the desserts I am really excited to announce that tomorrow (Wednesday) we will be adding new treats to our menu. Among these new treats we have a lot of new desserts like Cheesecake, a Chocolate Cake that is to die for and also some Ice Cream... How I wish you could come back an try them all!!! Maybe some day?!?! Sending you a big thank-you-hug and wishing happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely late lunch.. The food and service were great! We opt for cambodian food and we really enjoy it. Congratulations for the great job.. You are really making a difference..:)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven Training Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you sososososo much for your lovely review! And your encouraging words. It really means a lot to us and we hope we can treat you again some day!!! Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Training Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Haven Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Training Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.