We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Viva Hotel to your Saves list
Viva Hotel
Old Market Area near Pub Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
1 review
“I was disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

When I needed to change the date of arrival, one day, I wrote to the hotel, one under the name "veasna said that I can come on the day before, and even promised Shuttle service. When I arrived at the airport, we were not wanted, and on arrival at the hotel, said that there are no rooms, although I was promised. I had a night for two hours to find the hotel across the city. On the eve of the new year. Can't pass the disappointment of the service of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
9
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Sitting here listening to the window frames actually vibrating from the very very loud music from the Laundry Bar. 25ft across the road, whilst the rubbish AC has cooled the room to a lovely cool 28c. The music from the bar normally stops by 3am, & you have a couple of hours of quiet before hotel guests start slamming their doors at 5am as they head off to the Temples for sunrise

The bathroom is not a separate room, just a partially walled off area of the room.

Sitting here now in a very ioud noisy hot room, I wouldn't recommend the place to anybody to be honest. Find somewhere quiet instead with working AC

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Viva hotel is located just 100m from Pub Street but it is far enough to not be very loud at night. The staff is pleasant and the rooms are quite nice. The only problem is that there is water dripping from the toilet, the sink and the shower, which means that the bathrooms floor is constantly wet. This does result in a humid smell when the AC is not on. Breakfast is limited to one dish and 2 drinks but there are plenty of tasty choices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

this hotel is a good standard and cheap and also very well placed near pub street, the room i had was good and quiet but there was no view out of the window being at the back, the only down side is they charged me 8 dollers to bring a guest back where as it says on the booking max of 2 people? otherwise perfect if you want a few drinks without jumping tuk tuks all the time

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed at Viva for a week after finding it here on tripadvisor. I wasn't disappointed.

It's a great hotel at a great price and the location couldn't be better. It's very short walking distance from Pub Street and it's right across the road from the old market. There's always tuk tuk's downstairs if you need to venture further and they only charge $1 or two.

My Deluxe room on the second floor was clean and comfortable. The king size bed was more than genorous for a good nights sleep and pillows were great. They will change towels and toiletries daily but they also respect the do not disturb sign if you don't want anyone to enter your room.

It was quiet at night and the air con worked extremely well. There's a strong box/safe in the room which is quite large and i fit my cabin bag and laptop plus other stuff in there without a problem. Flat screen TV with plenty of channels worked fine.

Hot water worked well and water pressure was good. Bathroom fairly modern and very clean. Great fast wifi all over the hotel and never once had a problem with connection or drop outs.

The Viva Mexican restaurant downstairs was where I ate most times, good food at very, very reasonable prices. Try their cocktails…awesome and cheap! You can also order room service from restaurant.

No pool or gym etc and no elevator, but it's only 3 levels and i was on the second level so it didn't bother me at all. There's a laundry in the alley way across the road that will wash all your clothes for $1…very convenient.

Hallways smelt musty and not pleasant at times…. it's only a minor thing but it stops me from giving this place the extra final star.

For the price and location you won't find better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

There are better choices for the money in Siem Reap. Viva Hotel is a fairly new hotel built on the cheap. Everything is substandard. At $35 per night there are better places to stay. Service is also substandard. Stayed in Siem Reap in Nov 2013.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Not so nice like the pics. Wasn't clean especially the bathroom. No view at all just a wall of next buildings therefore the room is dark and ghostly. You'd better do your laundry in front of the hotel where it coasts twice cheaper than the hotel laundry service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Hotel

Address: Old Market Area near Pub Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location in town located right in the entertainment center district.distance to airport 9 Km distance to temple 7 Km. Serving good breakfast, clean rooms. free airport pick up to hotel. free in room WiFi and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Viva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.