We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were happy here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jasmine Garden Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jasmine Garden Villa to your Saves list
Jasmine Garden Villa
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sok San Street, Phum Steung Thmey, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 382 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We were happy here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at the Jasmine Garden Villa for three days. We were in Siem Reap to visit Angkor Wat and Jasmine Garden was a great place to stay. It is a guesthouse located about a 5-7 minute walk away from central Siem Reap. The road is mostly dirt and gets dark at night. There is also quite a bit of motorcycle and car traffic on it. This doesn’t differentiate it from most roads in Siem Reap, but because it is dark, one should be careful walking at night.

The staff at Jasmine Garden Villa was lovely and really helpful when we needed anything. The prices they offered for guides for the day at Angkor Wat were competitive and they were able to arrange everything. The restaurant at the guest house has good food (and we got free breakfast with our rate) but the service is quite slow. Don’t eat there if you are in a rush! Again, though, we found this to be pretty common in Siem Reap.

Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. The walls were painted brightly and everything was clean. The bathroom is a little rougher though. The shower is just a spout from the wall, so don’t leave anything in the bathroom that you mind getting wet. The building itself is also really beautiful, with carved wooden railings, bright colors, and a balcony. There is also free internet in the lobby.

We really liked it here and would recommend it, but as it is a newer property some of the service was also rough. We had booked a double bed but there wasn’t one available when we got there, so we got a room with two single beds and had to switch rooms for the second night. There weren’t any towels in or soap in the room either and we had to ask for both. A couple of times our power went out and the staff had to reset it. The staff was wonderful about helping us and we imagine that once they are in business longer, some of these things will smooth out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    57
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
73
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Reception people is very friendly, tour guide and tuk-tuk fee is reasonable as well. Hotel is very quite, 5 mins walk to night market and Bars.

The path back to hotel is dark and bumppy. Bath room water has smell of iron rust.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My cousin and I just got back from a 3 week trip to SE Asia. We spent 3 days/2 nights in Siem Reap. After our first choice (Green Temple) was booked, we were referred to Jasmine Garden. We had a wonderful experience. We were picked up (timely) from the airport and taken to our hotel. They welcomed us with cold towels and a drink, and carried our packs. The rooms are clean. The fan goes a little crazy and the air is super cold. So we had difficulties finding a happy median. But overall we were very pleased with the rooms. The staff was wonderful. They helped us arrange tuk tuks and guides for the temples. They were always on time and our temple visits went smoothly. There are 4 computers for internet and a little restaurant where breakfast is included. I would highly recommend this hotel and would return again if I go back to Cambodia. The hotel is about 5 minutes away from the main street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Penang, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We booked 4 nights in this guesthouse, but the experience is rather unpleasant.

1. There was no hair shampoo provided in this guesthouse. The soup provided was rather in poor quality. No remote control for TV in the room.
2. After we told them we have booked our driver for the days in Siem Reap, when we asked if we could pack our breakfast the next day since we were leaving for the sunrise early morning next day, the staff told us he would check and let us know. But there was no answer.
3. We forgot to put the "Make Up Room" signboard, so there was no room service(though I thought by default they should make up the room unless "DND" is put). And at the 4th night when they have come to clean the room, they didn't change the towel even after 3 days we have been using it......

The last day before we were leaving, then the staff became friendly again. They checked with us if we wanted to pack our breakfast before leaving early and seemed to care about our needs again.

Location of the guesthouse would be a good one if you want to get a good sleep and ready for next day's sunrise. The downtown pub street there were rather happening and noisy till late night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed during high peak season, at the end of December for four nights at Jasmine Garden Villa. At first, we wanted to book a room in the Golden Temple Villa, which was fully booked so they recommended to book at Jasmine Garden Villa. We followed this advice and didn't regret it.

The Guest House is a short walk (five minutes) from the very busy main street, but we enjoyed the walk and the quietness. All attractions in the inner city can be reached by foot, such as the Night Market, the Old Market Area and, of course, the Pub Street with its countless numbers of Restaurants and bars.

Jasmine Garden Villa offers bicycle rent for free, so we explored Siem Reap on our first day by bicycle, which was quite fun. Our room was nicely furnished, had an adequate size und a bathroom with hot and cold water. Additionally, breakfast was included in the room rate (USD 18 oer night and room for a double room).

Altogether, we enjoyed staying there very much, because of the room, always friendly and helpful staffs, tasty food and a good service regarding TukTuk-Driver and tours. If we will come back to Siem Reap one day, we would choose to stay at Jasmine Garden Villa again!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are recommendable, but the next time I would choose a room in the 2nd floor, due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a very warm welcome in this guesthouse, where our Cambodian experience started. Although it was in the middle of the night, the manager welcomed us and helped us feel comfortable. The room was good and the guesthouse was a good base to experience Angkor Wat and other sights around Siem Reap, with help of the friendly staff. The restaurant served tasty meals, both western and Cambodian.

Room Tip: In the back the Wifi signal is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We loved our experience in this quiet, off the main road, lovely hotel. The service was incredible and the prices were unbeatable for this level of room and service. The staff was so friendly that we ended up staying for a week.
I have never experienced such great care and dedication to customer service as I did at Jasmine Garden Villa!
On our last morning we had to wake up at 5am to catch a bus - when we came out of our room we found that the manager and staff had gotten up early to make us breakfast for free in containers that we could take with us!!!!
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jasmine Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine Garden Villa

Address: Sok San Street, Phum Steung Thmey, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 382 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine Garden Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmine Garden Villa is tropical garden in downtown of Siem Reap with Khmer style furniture, just a simple and peaceful place for your holiday. Close to Market, Restaurant and Pub Street Area. 5 minutes walking to Central Market, Old Market, Pub Street, Night Market, Siem Reap River and Artisan D' Angkor. Walk in the tropical garden complete with palm trees and fish ponds. Relax on the balconies and watch the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Jasmine Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasmine Garden Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.