We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Siem Reap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Angkor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wooden Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wooden Angkor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taphul Street, Taphul Village | Svaydangkum,, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 222 hotels in Siem Reap
Sderot, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good choice in Siem Reap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my friend and everything was good. Firstly, service was good, all staffs were so friendly and polite, they smile with us every time they see us and try to assist us. Secondly, the location was just perfect. Just a few minutes walk to central of city, in walking distance to night market, old market, surrounded by many local shop. Thirdly, our room was large and clean. Last but not least was the delicious breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    86
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
127
72
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for 2 nights and for the price were very impressed. we arrived at 9pm and the staff were very attentive. we were greeted by Ra and given cold drinks and refreshing towels. we were talked through what the hotel offers and shown where to help ourselves with tea and coffee. we ate in the restaurant that night and the food was good. the next afternoon the receptionist was very helpful in booking our transport to phnom penh and arranging a tuk tuk driver to meet us off the bus and take us straight to the hotel and to our surprise after being let down with other transport arangements the tuk tuk driver was there holding a sign with our name on. the room was perfect for what we needed and so was the ensuite. the hotel is in easy walking distance to the lively pub street but also far enough away to escape the noise when its time to sleep. in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 4 nights in the Wooden Angkor, including New Year's eve and had a wonderful time there. The first positive point is obviusly the price... Ridiculously cheap. I made the mistake to book the family suite for just the 2 of us and on arrival, they asked us if we would not mind to give away the second room (Siem Reap was pretty much full at that time). On check out, we had a bit of a misunderstanding, we asked them to make sure that they were refunding us the right amount, but only because we thought that they were giving us back too much money! Anyway, apart from really cheap, lovely clean room and a pretty good restaurant on top, what makes this hotel a great place is the friendly staff working there. And as some other more upmarket places keep on disappointing, it's not something that you can buy!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have to say that this place is a hidden gem and not even for the small price. It's a staff like this that makes people like me wonder why more hotels don't wise up to travelers look for besides a clean room. These guys are all smiles and genuine and nothing feels better in the morning and when you come home at night from a long, sweaty day at the most amazing temple in the world, Angkor Wat. They really want you to have a good stay there. The Tuk-Tuk drivers are fantastic. If you like more a charismatic driver, go with Sakourn. If you want an older gentleman who is also very honest and nice, Mr. Yang. Chantel is the head front desk supervisor and he is a gentleman and speaks great english. Very helpful. Breakfast on an open rooftop to start the day off is very impressive and was included. Unless you think you need a pool or have alot of money to waste on a hotel, then this is the place to stay. Why DO people waste so much on a luxury hotel when in Cambodia anyway? Certainly you could save your savings from an overpriced hotel there and pump it back into the economy by buying some amazing goods at the many markets? Just a thought. Enjoy Siem Reap.....it's an amazing place with amazing people!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in this beautiful hotel for two nights with my family of four and absolutely have no problems at all. Instead, we had a great time in the family suite. Everything was above satisfaction. The friendly service that greet you every time when they see you, the warmest service and thoughtful arrangement by the management are what we truly appreciate.

The location is very convenient and not noisy at all during the sleep at night, walking to the famous and lively pub street and night market are just 5 - 10 minutes distance.

There is a restaurant on the top floor and the foods was good, and the price was fairly good. definitely worthy! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Good location, 10 minute walk to the centre of town. Really nice feel to the Hotel - lots of wood. Clean comfortable rooms. Staff were realy friendly and helpfull. Booked a tour for us on the boat to Battambang (great trip). Each time we walked in the door we were greeted with a glass of cold water or lemon drink (make sure you get the recipe) and a cold towel. Breakfast was selected from a menu of 5 items but was great and included fresh fruit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

everything! I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.

Location - About a 5-10 minute walk from the famous Night Market & Pub Street. While also being very close to Sugar Palm and Sala Bai restaurant.

Hotel - Very pleasant, clean and very helpful staff who greeted me everyday on my return with a towel to wipe away the day and a cold glass of water. Breakfast was good offering several different options of set breakfast. They also offer two computers with a printer which helped me in planning my stay.

Room - My room was located on the ground floor right next to reception which I thought would be noisy and disruptive, not in the slightest, I have a good night's sleep (probably helped by all the walking in Angkor during the day) and really felt at ease while staying here. The shower was slightly temperamental, but it managed to sort itself after a few minutes.

Excellent, definitely consider staying here again if I return to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: You can have your laundry done just outside the hotel for $2 a KG
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wooden Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Angkor Hotel

Address: Taphul Street, Taphul Village | Svaydangkum,, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 222 hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wooden Angkor Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wooden Angkor Hotel is elegantly designed with a special naturally beautiful all teak wood in which you can find as your sweet home away from home during your stay in the cultural and historical city of ancient Angkor.This unique hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wooden Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooden Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.