We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing guesthouse I have stayed in so far. One big family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Wonder Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angkor Wonder Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angkor Wonder Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   #59, Street Phsar Krom | Vihear Chen Village, Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 117 Specialty lodging in Siem Reap
1 review
“The most amazing guesthouse I have stayed in so far. One big family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I originally booked four nights at Angkor Wonder, then extended my stay twice for a total of 12 days. Without a doubt, this is one of the most exceptional places I have stayed at in Asia.

The location is quite central (2 minute walk to Pub street, the old market, the night markets) and the food options around the hostel are seemingly limitless. The price is very competitive, and my cold shower/fan room was very spacious and cleaned every few days.

What really makes Angkor Wonder special, however, is the "staff". Mr Why Not and his lovely family live in the guesthouse, and try very hard to make your stay as memorable as possible. Whether assisting in booking transportation, temple visits or other tours, you'll find that the prices are great and on-par with what is offered elsewhere. Their tuk tuk drivers are friendly (especially the great Mr Bo) and speak good english.

And no review of Angkor Wonder is complete without a mention of Mr Beer-O-Clock, one of the tuktuk drivers. If you're bored of pub street, grab a few cans of Anchor and sit in the garden, and you'll see why his name pops up in so many reviews. He's a force of nature, to put it simply.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and would definitely recommend this guesthouse to any traveler. I felt like part of Mr Why Not's family, and they made my trip to siem reap unforgettable.

Chulmoy Pumah! (Cheers, my friend)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    15
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
32
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is what it is. Nothing more, but they are nice.the rooms are clean, good location and some fun fore sure! Wifi works good in the rooms, no hot shower but.. This is cambodia ;) no regrets of staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here! Traveled w 2 friends & the accommodations are incredibly cheap & clean!! The manager used to be a tuk tuk driver, then Angkor Wat guide, then hotel owner. He was able to hook us up with a great tour or Angkor Wat temples & had a ton of insight on how we should plan our 2 day temple excursion. Incredibly helpful! Definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr W, Owner at Angkor Wonder Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much ,good lucks , good health
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. They sent a free tuc tuc to pick us up after a long bus from Vietnam. Our coach arrived an hour late and they was still waiting there to pick us up! Just what we needed after a long day of travelling. Very friendly owners, who will help you with everything you need during your stay in Siem reap! Clean rooms at a cheap price! We would definitely recomend this hotel to other travellers! Could not fault the rooms or the staff :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

nice, clean, cosy, 5mins walk to Siem Reap city centre, quite, the owner speaks good English, CHEAP! My room was big, A/C, tv, good size toilet. "Mr. Why Not" runs the business and lives there with his wife and their lovely girls.. it feels like being part of the family. To visit the Angkor Wat Site take a Tuk-tuk, forget walking or bycicles, it's far too big. The temples can be as far as 30km one another... ask of Mr. Bo (Tuk-tuk), he's friendly, FLEXIBLE, speaks also good English and he smiles :)
When in Cambodia don't forget to leave something for the kids: pens, pencils and paper will help their education. The cambodians won't ask you for anything but a little help is welcome ..needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Angkor Wonder. The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too big or small to help with. Having stayed at another location previously we found this hotel to be better situated in respect to the main drag but far enough away to be quiet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, even with a fridge in the room (which through our travels we found to be uncommon). The only con would be the tiny bathroom but at the end of the day this wasn't a problem.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

First of all, our bus was four hours late. We left from Sihanoukville at 8AM and swiched connections in Phnom Pehn, left there at 2PM - and arrived in Siem Reap after 10PM, not the 6-7PM that we were told it would take. Buses being late is pretty standard, but I think this was a record! Anyway, I'm mentioning this because when we arrived, our tuk tuk pickup was still at the station waiting for us with a smile. I nearly cried.

The location of the hostel is perfect, walking distance to the Pub Street and pretty much anything else you might need. Rooms and bathrooms are a bit small, but very clean and nicely furnished. Probably the best value we'd had in months. The staff was always smiling, but I think they've been praised enough in the previous comments, so lets just say that you can believe every word!

We did our days of temple touring with the same man who had picked us up from the bus station, I think his name was Bo or something like that? Sorry, I'm really bad with names! He was a cool guy and knew what he was doing, he also drove us to the shooting range.

We ended up staying a whole week, it turns out Siem Reap is much more than just a gateway to the temple area, there's plenty to do and see!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angkor Wonder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Wonder Hotel

Address: #59, Street Phsar Krom | Vihear Chen Village, Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 117 Specialty lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Angkor Wonder Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Wonder Hostel is good location, Near Old Market Area, it is new hostel with decorated by Khmer Art Style, our staffs are friendly and helpful. Pub Street that you can walk 3 minute by Phsar Krom Street.Angkor Wonder Hostel is surrounding by tropical garden with depiction of temple jungle.Credit cards are not a problem, we accept Visa, Master Card, JCB and American Express.We provide Fan Rooms and A/C rooms with 20 rooms.We offer:* Free Pick Up From Siem Reap Airport, Bus Station or Boat Dock* FREE 24-hr Internet Access* FREE Bicycle Use anywhere* FREE 24-hr WiFi* FREE Welcome Drink (On Arrival and check out time)* Room cleaning everyday* Free DVD Movie* FREE Map of Temple & Town* FREE bed linen and towels* FREE book swap* 80 International Satellite TV Channels* Travel and Tour Information* Guest Kitchen AvailableCheck in at 7:00am,Check out at 12:00 noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Angkor Wonder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Wonder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.