We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotels don't get much better than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Wonder Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Angkor Wonder Hotel to your Saves list
Angkor Wonder Hotel
#59, Street Phsar Krom | Vihear Chen Village, Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Budget hotels don't get much better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the most pleasant guest house/hotel I've stayed in in Asia. We were in room 001 and it was beautiful. Everything worked perfectly and it was spotless.

Mr. why not is a gentleman and all his staff are lovely.

This hotel made our stay in Siem reap!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    27
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
43
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hostel is very nice. The location is very good, on a side street but only a few minute walk to pub street and the night market. People working here are friendly and always smiling. Breakfast option is good and tasty.

Service is very good to, the toilet broke down in 1 room, and I was immediately transferred to another room. Not all rooms have a (working) fridge, but for 11 dollar the room is very good value, with a lot of English channels on the tv, good working aircon and fan, and hot shower. Room is also cleaned daily if you want.

Very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I loved this place! I got a double deluxe because I wasn't sure what the standard room included. The room was huge and had the most English channels I've seem since I left home. The owner is amazing, upon arrival he gave us a map, local book and a copy of an Angkor Wat guidebook which you get to use for Fred during your stay. He arrange our tuk tuk for the tours which we don't usually do but this was one time we felt we could trust someone. They offer breakfast for $1.50, it's good and filling. We rented bikes, booked our bus tickets and do our laundry through the guesthouse. He does sleep in the foyer to ensure he's available for anyone at anytime. A lot of travelers take a midnight bus so he likes to be there. His wife doesn't speak as much English but was very helpful to us. It was a wonderful experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

the best thing about this place is the owner and his staff treat you like family. We stayed here on multiple occasions, and it really felt like home. The owner and the staff went out of their way on numerous occasions for us, without asking for any compensation. We wish we could have stayed longer, and miss the hospitality we received here.

It is one of the few guesthouses owned by a Khmer, and the staff he employs, be it cleaners, reception, or tuk-tuk drivers were all friends and family. And you can tell that they all work hard for each other. The owner even slept in the foyer of the guesthouse at night, in case something arose.

The cost of the rooms, for what you get is a steal (A/C, a TV, private bathroom and mini-fridge for $11 dollars or so?!?!) we are currently in Laos paying 2-3 times as much as that, for much less.

Support quality local business, and a great guy (and staff!).

We look forward to coming back and finally having that beer with you!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

First of all, the rooms may not be as nice as others you may have stayed at in Cambodia for $11 / double room. They are big but basic, and the bathroom is tiny. That's the only negative I can level at the Angkor Wonder, and the positives far outweigh it. The owner (Mr. Why Not) will go out of his way to help and organise tuk-tuks with his own (salaried) staff, puts on evening snacks with free beer, and even arranged a huge new year's eve party for us at no extra cost. The rest of the staff are just as accommodating, and all of them enjoy a beer - Sam, Mean Mach, et al. You'll meet other guests in the garden relaxing in hammocks, and the hotel is off the main road so there's very little noise. We stayed here for 5 nights and wished it could have been longer! Definitely recommend air-con as it can get toasty in the daytime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This hostel has a great atmosphere. The owner, who goes by "Mr. Why Not", is super helpful with booking buses, tuk-tuks, etc. There are usually people hanging out, the wifi is pretty good, the rooms are clean and cheery. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

we stayed in an ensuite double room. the bathroom was tiny but tolerable, and the room was cleaned every day. the best part about the hostel is mr why not and the staff, who made our stay extremely enjoyable. it was mr why not's birthday one day while we were there so we were invited to the birthday party which was held, picnic-style, at a local market. having seen the temples and kampong phluk already, we didn't have anything scheduled for the next day so mr why not suggested that we go to the country side to harvest rice. so he got one of his tuk tuk drivers to drive us to his village where we helped his neighbours harvest rice. although mr why not did not impose a fee on this activity, it's still good to tip them for the impeccable service

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angkor Wonder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Wonder Hotel

Address: #59, Street Phsar Krom | Vihear Chen Village, Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Wonder Hostel is in a good location, Near Old Market Area, it is a new hostel decorated with Khmer Art Style. Our staff are friendly and helpful. Pub Street is just a 3 minute walk by Phsar Krom Street. Angkor Wonder Hostel is surrounded by a tropical garden with a depiction of the temple jungle. We have 20 rooms with either Fan or A/C. We offer:* Free Pick Up From Siem Reap Airport, Bus Station or Boat Dock* FREE 24-hr Internet Access (Wifi)* FREE Welcome Drink (On Arrival and check out time)* Room cleaning everyday* FREE Map of Temple & Town* FREE bed linen and towels* FREE book swap* 80 International Satellite TV Channels* Travel and Tour Information* Guest Kitchen Available. Check in at 7:00am as long as you let us know you are arriving early. Check out at 12:00 noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Angkor Wonder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Wonder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.