We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moon Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Moon Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Moon Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
WTF
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is a bit outside of town, which is a big plus if you dont want to stay right in the center of Siem Reap. If you want to party hard during your stay then its probably not for you.The hotel offers free tuk-tuk service (you will be handed a cellphone to call the front desk) until 10.30pm to bring you into the city center and pick you up from there.

Rooms are spacious, very clean and the aircon is working very well. TV and Wifi are also working very well. Staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful. But the best thing is definitely the garden around which the rooms are arranged - it"s as if you are in a tropical forest. There is also a very very nice pool *a real highlight*. The restaurant is situated right next to the pool, so you can order your cocktail/beer while you"re swimming. Food is nice (although not great). Breakfast is great, with fresh pastries, juice, coffee and fresh fruits.

We also booked a tour to the temples through the hotel and were satisfied, although the prices for tuktuk+guide are slightly higher than elsewhere.

We will definitely return to this green oasis!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    76
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
206
37
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is so wonderful. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the breakfast is AMAZING (I still dream of the fresh juices), and they will take you to/from the airport and drive you around town. They booked our great tour of Angkor Wat and the floating villages. Our room was impeccably clean, and the whole place feels like a 5 star resort. Would love to come back here!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A nice hotel with well proportioned ground floor rooms arranged around a courtyard swimming pool. A little out of the way locationwise which will suit those wanting to get some distance between their hotel and Pub Street. Ten minutes in a tuktuk. The staff were very helpful and friendly. A few niggles let my stay here down enough to give only an average rating.

The food was not very good at all: disappointing given the very pleasant surroundings of the restaurant. My breakfast was served to me in a basket which contained a spider's nest complete with hundreds of baby spiders. Not ideal. This was quickly replaced but the second basket also showed signs of life. I gave up at this point.

The plug in the (really nice and very spacious bath) was broken and, once this was sorted out, the hot water tank did not provide anywhere near enough hot water to even half fill the bath.

We asked for a tuktuk driver to show us around Angkor Wat. This was my send time to the temples so I have something to compare with. The driver we were provided by the hotel was not at all good. He barely spoke English and seemed to have little knowledge of the temples or interest in showing them to us.

I've stayed in much better and similarly priced hotels in Siem Reap. I would return to them rather than here.

Room Tip: If you ask the hotel to arrange a tuktuk driver for a visit to Ankor Wat be careful to ask for one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at The Moon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are feeling dismayed after reading this review, however we thank you for taking your time to post your comment.

After working with food & beverage side as well as spot checking the whole kitchen, we do not find any spider or a sign of spider life in our kitchen which is building its net and spreading its hundreds of baby on food or your breakfast. The kitchen is regularly cleaned three times / day included after breakfast, after lunch and after dinner. We use proper cleaning liquid to ensure the standard of hygiene.

We work to cater for our value customers and always appreciate any constructive feedback so that we are able to improve, but it should be accurate and not exaggerated.

By engineering set while the hotel had been constructed, we were advised to equipped with this water boiler as it is suitable to supply to all rooms. However, we will look into this and work with engineering to find out how it is and fix it if necessary.

You do not separate the knowledge between tour guide and driver even those you are living in Cambodia, your TripAdvisor account shown us. To be clear, we would like to clarify as the following:

- Tour Guide: To be as a licensed-guided tour, he obliges to hold at least a grade 12 certificate of state school or graduate from university with a fluency of a language speaking that he wants. In addition to this, he has to pass an examination with the tourism department under the management of Ministry of Tourism. After the examination, there are fields to be added on including Cambodia History and the General Information of Cambodia...

- Driver: No qualification required, only the driving license

Therefore drivers job is driving you around and speaking little of English in order to send you to the right place. If you want the informative and knowledgeable the tour guide, then.

Thanks for your accommodation with us and we wish you the best

The Moon Boutique Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Came across this hotel through Trip Advisor. First impression, hotel is a little off the beaten track and this little side road leading into the hotel is unpaved and bumpy. Hotel is tastefully decorated. Check in was quick and a nice cold fresh juice is served at time of check in. Room is spacious and the washroom is huge. Shower is good no complaints. Complimentary breakfast gives the options of Asian, Continental and American Breakfast and fresh juices along with great coffee. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. My complimentary pick up from the bus station as we arrived via Mekong Express from Phnom Penh was there waiting the moment the bus pulls up. Staff were friendly and facilities were good. Thank you for making my 2 days stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent hotel, excellent service, nice environment, amazing breakfast (croissants after so many days:-) ), free tuk-tuk to the city, airport pick up, good advice... definitely, the best hotel we have been in our trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this little hotel. The service was outstanding, friendly staff and they collect you from the airport and organize the tuk tusk for you to go around without charge. Rooms comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the pool so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great stay at this boutique hotel. The big advantage is, that its a small hotel and the staff took good care of us. The room was surprisingly very big and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also a very good size with a nice open rainshower.
It´s not much around in walking distance, but the hotel provided a free Tuk Tuk service to all the in town places like e. g. restaurants, markets,... and free pick up. This service included also the airport, which was very convenient.
One day we spent at the pool and it was very relaxing with no one around. I can really recommend this place and would book it again, if we travel to Siem Reap again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and located around the pool, since it is a small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Boutique Hotel

Address: Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historical land of Cambodia Kingdom of Wonder, The Moon Boutique is your home away from home and offers Traditional Khmer personal hospitality to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. Ensconced in an area rich with the ambiance of local village, guests will find the area tranquilizing as well as convenient. The Moon Boutique offers numerous complimentary of services including; daily breakfast, high speed WIFI connection, round trip airport transfer, shuttle to downtown and local organic fruit in basket set in room upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Moon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moon Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.