We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moon Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Moon Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Moon Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The personnel is very friendly, the food that they serve here is very good quality - including the breakfast. You get towles for the pool and a free tuk tuk service to the town. The only thing we didn't like was the hot water in the pool - which was not very refreshing.... Rooms are great, with a big bathroom!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    85
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
81
228
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Best boutique hotel (15 rooms all very beautifully done,got room # 1 which had a bathroom as huge as a room almost :) and a separate toilet ) so far for the price paid. Stayed here for 5 nights and were never disappointed.
The hotel arranges free airport pickup but I missed their emails and couldn't get the same. Using a prepaid taxi from airport 7 USD was not an easy task as the driver could not find the property easily as its a quite new and remotely located.
Hotel arranges free drop and pick ups to the town which definitely makes up for its location which is not so central. They always provided us with a local cell phone which we could use to call for a pick up back from the town. EXCELLENT service here.
Breakfast selection is great with Asian American or continental options and fresh juices (not canned juices) and fresh fruits.
Staff is wonderfully nice with a smile and always ready to help though some extra english knowledge would be an add on but i guess its the way it is in siem reap.
Hotel arranged the tuk tuk for us for 3 days temple visits and driver was very friendly and always got us cold water which was such a refreshing thing when you are touring the hot temples.He showed us around some places which we did not plan ahead. He took us to some wonderful food places serving khmer food , better than what you get in restaurants....perfect local touch.He spoke to us about their daily life and their history the way locals see it. We totally loved this service.He also let me drive his tuk tuk ;) great pics to take back home.
We came here for our anniversary and they did an excellent job arranging the room with flowers and candles and complimentary french wine.totally awesome.
Food was good,but menu is limited so you may want to try out other places.Seafood horfun was poor,do avoid it at all costs.
I recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a calm and quiet holiday.Perfect for a romantic get away (beautifully done up heaven with greenery), families with kids (baby sitting facilities available), quite a few books available for the solo traveler, tv channels in all languages.

Room Tip: Get the email confirmation prior to your travel for free airport pickup with the hotel. Room# 1 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Since beginning the hotel gives you a feeling that you have entered an oasis in Siem Reap. Warm welcome from the helpful and kind staff, neat place with lot of green as a touch of Cambodian nature multiplies this feelings.
Rooms are very nice as well, with the sopfisticated bathroom perfectly fits to the hotel atmosphere.
Dining area offers great choice of breakfast served by staff.

We arrived in the morning 6:30 and our departure was next day 7:30 in the morning. I booked two nights. The hotel gave us offer to cancelled the second night as we had stayed more less one day only. I was very positive surrprise by this offer, what made our stay even more comfortable and enjoyable.

Higly recommended while visiting Siem Reap and Angkor Wat!

Room Tip: any room is good, except 2 in the corner, but as the distance to pool is so close it doesnt play muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

After so many glowing reviews, I couldn’t help but feel a bit let down overall at the Moon. This small hotel, on an out of the way dirt street on the far reaches of Siem Reap central zone wasn’t really the boutique experience I was expecting. I have to wonder if perhaps other reviewers were somehow too caught up in the review hype to clearly evaluate the hotel. Mind you, there is nothing particularly wrong with the Moon, but when compared to many other hotels I stayed in, both of higher and lower star ratings and prices, my overall impression was something that was missing.

Firstly, the good. Clearly one of the best breakfasts I had on my stay throughout Asia, trying both but preferring the western to Asian here. It was convenient to grab a late night dinner at the intimate open-air restaurant where the food was actually good. The pool was refreshing, clean and just the right temperature late February. The tuk-tuk /mobile phone operation worked smoothly, actually better than I expected which was a saving grace due to the location considering I usually prefer to walk- not possible here really. The spa offered deep tissue massage and the young woman providing the massage was quite competent.

The not so great. Perhaps the darkest room I have ever stayed in anywhere, including gloomy locales in Europe. Even with all lighting completely on the place just seemed drab to me and sparse, not in a good modern minimalist way, but simply in a rather stark, dark and somewhat awkward way, even unwelcoming in my opinion. The bathroom was enormous, but most of the space was strangely given over to the area of the toilet leaving the lavatory area way too tight - basically poor planning. The shower with the rain head, overwhelmed the drain so that showering needed to be done quickly lest the zen stones ringing the open shower floor overflow into the rest of the room. The toilet too was problematic, not flushing properly and taking an eternity to refill (I found this at another hotel in Siem Reap so perhaps this is standard Cambodian plumbing). Compared with the three hotel I stayed at in Siem Reap, the staffs command of English here was the most problematic- it was actually quite painful to try to communicate and I never experienced the warmth in hospitality I felt other hotels although I quite liked most of their tuk-tuk drivers.

The pool deck is a place for lap tops and kindles and total solitude, not interaction, so if your desire is to not engage with other travelers, this would be a good place to consider. Perhaps I found the hotel impersonal because this leg of my trip to Asia was spent traveling alone; this seemed more like a romantic get away (far away) choice.

One might ask why I never bothered to report the plumbing issues in the bathroom- it was simply because I knew that there was nothing that could be done to correct the deficiencies. I was satiated with the Moon experience after 2 days. Clearly I am in the minority of reviewers but it would be obvious to anyone reading my review history that I am generally pleased with accommodations and am not by nature, hyper critical. Don’t fret if this place is sold out and you need to go elsewhere- there are many great choices in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themoon59, Manager at The Moon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
We have read your review following your stay with us and we do hope our English is readable as it is our second language, in addition we have learned it from local teacher due to we are not able to afford the international school. The case is also happened to other poor countries.

Thanks for your kind choosing our boutique hotel and taking your time to share your experience. However, we are really not happy to hearing that you had no memorable experience as well as the unfriendly service at our establishment. At the mean time, I noted that you have read other reviews.

The hotel website has clear description that its location is not in the city but in the village which shortly drive to pub street and escape from crowd to make your stay more tranquil. Therefore, you are invited to read it before making decision.

As boutique hotel, we used local materials as more as possible, further more it is not the modern facility. The different culture we reveal at the our hotel is to share you another new experience.

The team devotes the time to follow up with every guest if there any thing wrong happened so that it is fixed on time. If not report us, we are not able to do it whilst accommodating with us and left your disappointment. Being the service hospitality, we willing to fix any thing goes wrong and it must be fixed. We believe!

Totally, we appreciate your comment and take them on board to discuss and do it accordingly.

The Moon Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Moon Boutique Hotel is a very nice location with a young friendly staff. Rooms and pool are very clean. A nice place to stay and relax after the temple tour. The food in the restaurant is good as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed at the Moon boutique for 3 nights. Check-in is at 2pm and we were there really early so our room wasn't ready yet. We enjoyed the pool, the restaurant and the spa. Room was good, good size and with air conditioning. Even has a hairdryer! Staff is really friendly. It was great to have a free tuk tuk ride to town and back. They give you a cellphone to call whenever you are ready. Breakfast was included. It is a set menu (continental, American or Asian) but selection is good. Hotel is in a dark alley so we didn't stay out too late and always used the tuk tuk they provided. Hotel is about 5-10 minutes from pub street by tuk tuk. Hotel is small (about 10 rooms) so it is quiet and there is always someone to help you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Moon Boutique Hotel and had a lovely stay. We received a cold drink, cold towel, and a fruit plate upon arrival that well all much appreciated. We arrived early and our room was not ready yet. We were given access to a different room (with two beds instead of one king size) to use until ours was ready. The staff is amazing - friendly, courteous, and always there to help. The hotel is a bit outside of the main town, so it is nice and quiet. The free tuk-tuk to and from town makes it very convenient. They even give you a phone to call the hotel when you are read to return. The room was large with an amazing bathroom, good A/C, and reliable WiFi. The bed was large, though very firm, but that seems to be fairly standard in southeast Asia. We ate several times at the restaurant and it was very good. Free breakfast was also great, with either an American menu (eggs/meat/yogurt) or Asian (meat/fish-porridge), both of which came with a bread basket, fruit, juice and coffee. We rented bicycles one day and tuk-tuks the other two days for trips into Angkor. Our tuk-tuk drivers were excellent and friendly. The pool is clean and well kept, though the water is fairly warm. We were even given a map and an Angkor guide book for free.

All in all, we had a lovely experience. You pay a little more here than you would at some other places, but the extra care given is worth it. We felt well looked after!

Room Tip: We had room 7 and loved it. There are no upstairs rooms, all are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Boutique Hotel

Address: Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historical land of Cambodia Kingdom of Wonder, The Moon Boutique is your home away from home and offers Traditional Khmer personal hospitality to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. Ensconced in an area rich with the ambiance of local village, guests will find the area tranquilizing as well as convenient. The Moon Boutique offers numerous complimentary of services including; daily breakfast, high speed WIFI connection, round trip airport transfer, shuttle to downtown and local organic fruit in basket set in room upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Moon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moon Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.