We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a funky place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Under Construction Bar & Restaurant

Under Construction Bar & Restaurant
Wat Bo Rd, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia (Formerly Madam Beergarden )
+855 89 479 593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 474 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: CLOSED!!!!!!
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What a funky place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Saw pictures of Under Construction online and thought it looked like fun.
We mentioned it at our hotel and they confirmed that it was newer but they'd heard it was good.
The restaurant itself does look like a construction site with construction tape up, old paint buckets used as part if the decorations, a toilet is the fountain, old bathtubs have been converted into sinks etc - it really is quite eclectic. Unfortunately on the night we were there it was very quiet so the place sis feel very subdued. The manager Jacob helped us and was friendly and helpful. We ordered a green Khmer curry which was very tasty and beef and red ants - which was nice enough but we mostly got that for the experience of eating ants anyway. Love the concept. Good service, good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Really nice, just...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

too loud at night.
Food is great, ambient is great, prices as most places in siem reap are cheap. But the constant music playing really loud is not my idea o dining.
But people is having a good time.

But again the food is great and that counts for me as well

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNDERCONSTRUCTION_SR, General Manager at Under Construction Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi there Esvian! We are really glad you enjoyed the food, thanks for commenting! As a team, we have discussed your comment about the loud music, and are not entirely sure when you visited us when loud music was playing, unless it was in our bar area, rather than our restaurant section?. In fact, we only have a small watt amp located the bar (unlike the thunderous thumping around Pub Street!) and rarely switch on our outside speakers unless we host a party or are screening a movie -- perhaps you heard a score of a movie on our popular weekly movie night? We do appreciate the comment, and will further investigate this oddity as it is out of character for the restaurant area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was really impressed with the quality of the food -- some of the best beef I've had in Southeast asia. A very friendly atmosphere, and a lot of room for large parties. Delicious!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNDERCONSTRUCTION_SR, General Manager at Under Construction Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review Todd! We are very pleased you enjoyed your time at Under Construction and especially liked the beef - the preparation for which we have worked hard to improve even better! This encourages us to work even harder! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unique bar, restaurant,and movies place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is good to be different, yes? This is unique cocktails with good food and outdoor movies. also it is like film set of construction cite so I feel right at home as Berliner. Best memory here outside of temples for Lili and me.

Fohn

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNDERCONSTRUCTION_SR, General Manager at Under Construction Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Fohn! Many thanks for your great review - we're really pleased you likedthe decor (I used to work in Berlin and so especially love your analogy)! It's great you had enjoyed the movies and cocktails... in fact you have inspired us to make even more! We hope to welcome you back again one day! Tschüs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly, good food, awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

tried out their movie night and had dinner, too. the staff and owner are very friendly and they have excellent customer service. it's a nice place to hang out in, airy and tastefully "decorated" place too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNDERCONSTRUCTION_SR, General Manager at Under Construction Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Minays! Thanks for your happy review. We're so pleased you enjoyed Under Construction, and thanks for your great comments about our customer service, which we work very hard to excel at. This continues to make us work even harder! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under Construction Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Under Construction Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under Construction Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.