We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Under Construction Bar & Restaurant

Under Construction Bar & Restaurant
Wat Bo Rd, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia (Formerly Madam Beergarden )
(0)89 479 593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 424 restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Thai, Khmer and Western "Comfort Classics" with cold beers, cocktails, premium liquors and a selection of wines, juices & fresh shakes by the glass - all at affordable prices. Daily promotions exist on drinks and food and change often. Whether dining & drinking inside or out you'll be in a crazy environment with an emphasis on homemade recycled furniture. Be the soul of the party, snooze on a couch under a big fan or join us for a chat at the bar. Kitchen closes late at 1130PM: all ingredients bought fresh each day and we only cook with bottled water. EXTRA INFO: Closed Wednesdays. Includes: wheelchair access, moto/bike parking, free WiFi, takeaways (collection only). Private Functions available. Open 12PM-12AM (or later!).
Bretagne-d'Armagnac, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Under Construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

It looks a real under construction restaurant. Food is OK but night time, there are a lot of mosquitoes. Staff are friendly but no standard. In overall, it is OK.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    55
    22
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“best so far -first time no disappointments in siem reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Since i arrived to siem reap, i'm being extra careful reading the reviews on tripadvisor. In my opinion, people are making emotional comments rather than talking about quality of food or of a place. After a week full of disappointments about restaurants, bars, hotels and hostels/guesthouses (yes, i keep moving, trying new places) So i was careful when i went to Under C. too. I am glad i did. This was the gem of the week. (This week i am trying places on wat bo road.)
Kitchen is open from noon till 11 pm if i am not mistaken.

I ordered a salad and a soup -khmer and thai respectively. Salad was perfect, soup was more than ok. Music was really good, ambiance was interesting. Western. They were "constructing" while i was eating and it was fun to watch them. (who ever they were.) Service was excellent.
2 food+rice, 1 beer +-5 usd. All good.

Something else i liked about the place: I would call it "honesty" but i am not sure if it is the right word.
During my stay in Phnom pehn and Siem Reap i discovered that some westerners who shouldn't even be allowed to stay in a hostel or eat in a restaurant let alone own one, are disguising their guesthouses/restaurants as "khmer owned" places or places that help Cambodians or children etc... After some point you start to realize what is what. And little marketing tricks makes you feel sad.

This place was the exact opposite. It is exactly how it looks; no tourist traps. No tricks. Just quality food, good music, acceptable prices. Since it was 3 pm i didn't try the cocktails but i have one more week, so we will see...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Siemreab-Otdar Meanchey, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“How can somewhere 'under construction' be so established? Read on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is our favourite bar in Siem Reap. Run by the charming and welcoming Carsten and Jacob, it boasts contemporary design, stylish cocktails, delicious Khmer and Thai food, and amazing staff.
The decor includes bath tub chairs, hand drawn murals, graffiti walls (pens provided!), and a cosy garden area for winding away the evening hours. My favourite cocktail is their Tom Yam martini, and their Green mango salad is AMAZING. On Monday to Thursday the cocktails are 2 for 1, and on Saturdays you can roll a set of dice - and the outcomes all mean cheaper prices on your drinks!!!
Its a great part of town, as the Wat Bo Road area is only 10 mins walk from pub street, but its along the river, and near some lovely pagodas too.
The staff are always smiling, and there's always laughter in the air - It's a kind of therapy after a hot and crazy day in Cambodia!
They have some live music nights - the next party is on the 7th July - Can't wait to get down and dance!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good cocktails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Buy one cocktail get the next one free Monday to Thursday how can you beat than. This kitschy little place was good for an after dinner drink it's just a pity we were the only peoria in the place. I loved the Tom Yum cocktail but it's not for the faint hearted.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing owners, great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was in Siem Reap for about 12 days and I think I was at Under Construction at least 9 of them. The owners, Carsten and Jacob, are amazing people who make you feel welcome and loved. Additionally, the food and drinks are top notch. Good pours on spirits, quality food, good cheap beer all at good prices. The clientele are nice, interesting folks and are a good mix of locals, expats, and those folks like me who are just visiting for a short while. You would be missing out on something special if you didn't stop in and hang for a few.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under Construction Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Under Construction Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under Construction Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.