We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Quality-price ratio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dancing Frog Hostel

Save Saved
You added The Dancing Frog Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dancing Frog Hostel
No.38 Phsar Krom road | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 117 Specialty lodging in Siem Reap
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Quality-price ratio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our flight, from Hanoi, was one hour late but a Tuk Tuk driver was waiting for us at the airport - Complimentary free pickup service, from The Dancing Frog Hostel. For $12.00 we had a large ensuite double room with A/C, hot shower and cable TV. The room was extremely clean and the staff was very very friendly. Gilles, the owner gave us great advises to visit the temples and the floating villages. He negociated the tuk tuk fares and obtained much better deals than the ones we originally obtained ourself. The breakfast was great and the food for dinner was delicious and very inexpensive. We hope to come back to Siem Reap next year and our choice will definitely be The Dancing Frog Hostel. The location is just great.The best quality-price ratio we had on this trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful. Great location. The room itself is ok although the pillows underneath the pillow case were very dirty. The bathroom is dirty, the toilet would not flush, pipes leaking and there was a lizard in there too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just came back and stayed here for 4 days. Price is cheap, Wifi is fast (Cambodia standards) and location is good, 3 - 5 mins to PUB street. However if given another chance, I would look for other place to stay due to these reasons I experienced:

1. They forgot to pick me up at the airport yet they don't want to give me a free airport transfer back to the airport. The girl said that they already changed management so she can't offer me anything.
2. Room assigned to me is somewhat dirty and looks like nobody has clean it for a long time. I checked the other rooms and my room looks really bad (room 101). Also, window cannot be locked, so somebody can really just go inside your room anytime.
3. Problem with water in the 2nd floor. Like the other review, I experienced the problem with the shower and faucet. The best Ali can offer me is just to use the shower in the vacant room downstairs.

So even though price is cheap, there are lots of guesthouse/hostels around the area offering similar price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor looks better.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The place is also located really close to the Pub street. I book this hotel 3nite at booking.com and they provide free pickup from airport to hotel... Staff very helpful ,Great value tuk tuk service to Ankor Wat around 12usd perday. recomment great massage at The Moon Villa & Spa and The Moon Villa & Spa around 15usd for fullbody old massage .

Room Tip: rooms cheap, quiet, clean, nice breakfast and great bos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a couple, during our second time in Siem Reap. Although the place was homely and Mr Ali was very welcoming and warm, helpful, we made the decision to move to another place for the remainder of the time.

Our room at the Dancing Frog was fine and the air conditioning worked well (excellent for the super hot weather we were experiencing in Siem Reap at the time!) but we found that the water pressure in the bathroom was not good, the shower would cut out every few minutes leaving you standing there halfway through washing. You would be back on track soon enough, but it's a bit of an inconvenience when you're trying to wash yourself after a long day of sightseeing, and the toilet would not flush properly either.

It's a shame that such a small thing had a big effect, as I wouldn't have minded staying at the Dancing Frog for longer if it had been a different story with the water. Mr Ali made sure that we felt welcome and the hostel is in a great location too, not far from the main hub of Pub Street and the Night Markets.

Room Tip: Just make sure that the water pressure in your bathroom is up to your standards - water may dwindle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I thought our days of hostels were behind us, but what a great decision we made to save money by staying at Dancing Frog. Don't let the name "Hostel" put you off. The budget is pure hostel, but the service, location and ambiance are completely different. To echo other reviewers, Ali and his staff exceeded our expectations. He answered every question with loads of helpful information, arranged all of our tours and transportation with trustworthy tuk tuk and taxi drivers, and generally made us feel relaxed and at home during our too-short stay. The girls cooking and serving food were great at both, and there are constant smiles all around the welcoming restaurant/patio/lobby.

The location is a five minute walk from anything you will need in Siem Reap, but is still in a very quiet location and promises an undisturbed sleep after visiting the temples and filling yourself with Khmer cuisine.

Don't miss their iced Cambodian and Vietnamese coffee.

Room Tip: A/C rooms are a must in the March and April heat. Remove your door key from the room key combo so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled across and stayed at many places in the world as a backpacker but I can safely say nothing holds a candle to The Dancing Frog & Ali. We were only there a few days but it felt like we were genuine family that had been there our whole lives. They have a quiet location just off the main road near all the good stuff in Siem Reap including the Night Market & Pub Steet which are the thing to do in the evening. They have a manageable, fresh menu that is well priced and doesn't make us think a bad thing about food in Cambodia like you often hear. For the price of the room it was exactly what we needed, but what you can't put a price on is Ali and how he over delivered. He told us everything we needed to know so we didn't need a tour guide to select which temples to see. With his help we found temples literally off the map where no one goes and we were the only ones there. More than anything, he took the time to get to know us so he could enhance our experience of Siem Reap as a whole, and he shared stories about himself as well which we enjoyed. He is now a friend for life even though we live 13,666 km away. As a traveller I never promote going back to repeat experiences but if I have made it a goal to visit Dancing Frog again. Thank you so much Ali!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dancing Frog Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dancing Frog Hostel

Address: No.38 Phsar Krom road | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 117 Specialty lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "The Dancing Frog" hostel located in Siem Reap town centre close to restaurants, shops and the nightlife. The Dancing Frog is a British/Khmer family run hostel with affordable budget type rooms for short and long term stays. The hostel is ideal if you are looking to stay a while in Siem Reap or if you are on a longer trip and you are looking for place a bit more homely. We can arrange all types of tours to the Angkor temples and vast experience knowledge of the area to help make your trip Siem Reap a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Dancing Frog Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dancing Frog Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.