We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Amok Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traditional Khmer Food Restaurant

Traditional Khmer Food Restaurant
Mondul 1 | Sway Dangkum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
099999905
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 474 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Cambodian, European, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: In Pub Street.Old Market Area,Next block from Temple Balcony
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Amok Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I came across this place after reading the review that was posted here to see what was great about the Amok Fish. It was simply amazing. Loved how it tasted like. Would definitely come back for more.

But a suggestion is that to make the portion slightly bigger. The portion I had was barely enough to finish one plate of rice. Secondly, the rice needs to be warmer. It was at room temperature that was not something I am into.

I didn't have to wait long before my food arrive. The food was quick and the beer was cold as well. As for the service, it will be great if staffs takes sometime to chat with the customers when the store is empty. At least the the staff won't look bored and the customers knows that they are looked after well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    44
    6
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevres, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Siem Reap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Small traditional Khmer place near the old market on the alley. We went a couple of times at different hours of the day and really liked it! The waitresses are absolutely adorable and welcoming! The amok -fish, chicken- dishes are tasteful and well served. You can see the menu presented from the street to choose as you want. The room and tables are dressed in coral red and plates well decorated. It's clean and good value. Recommend as simple and efficient. I did not regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We loved the banana blossom and mixed salad! Staff were very friendly, especially Por. The happy hour buy-one-take-one cocktails made our dinner more fun. Overall, excellent food and service at reasonable price. Nice decor and ambiance, too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Interesting quaint restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This interesting little eatery is located at one corner of an intersection of a back alley, called “The Passage” somewhere between the Old Market Street 9 and Pub Street. Along The Passage there were so many little restaurants facing each other and this gave the area a cozy feel. Traditional Khmer’s theme was also orangey red and everything was of that colour, from table cloth, chairs, serviettes to the interior décor. Everything was simple starting with the spartan wooden tables and chairs.

However coming to food, true to its name, this restaurant serves an array of traditional Khmer food and we ordered our favourites viz. Fish Amok, fresh and also fried spring rolls, skewered meat, Khmer curry dish and a few others. As usual the draft beers were only at 50cents per mug and definitely went well with the dishes that we had, especially after having spent more than an hour in the hot & humid Old Market earlier. After emerging from the market and heading towards Pub Street through the lane across the road, one could not miss this restaurant with its eye-catching small rectangular green logo.

Apart from the good food, people-watching seemed to be the favourite pastime of diners in this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Chose to eat here for no particular reason and were really happy - the service was great, the food was very nice - the Khmer curry was one of the best I had in Siem Reap. All this plus 50cent beer - you can't go wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditional Khmer Food Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Traditional Khmer Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traditional Khmer Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.