We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arboretum Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arboretum Guest House to your Saves list
Arboretum Guest House
Sok San Road, Stung They, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 382 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Eden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our third stay at the Arboretum. There are many other guesthouses but this one is perfectly located - walking distance to everything you want and need whilst also being a quiet oasis. Wonderful helpful staff and great rooms, friendly atmosphere and great personal service - we'll be back next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Good variety of rooms to suit everyone's needs and tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
44
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

PROS

This is in a great location, just a couple minutes walk from loads of great bars and restaurants and the night market, but far away enough not to be kept awake all night.

On our last day we had time to kill before our bus and they let us leave our backpacks at the hotel while grabbed some lunch, which was helpful.

CONS

Essentially, you get what you pay for. This is a cheap guesthouse.

On our first night, you could smell a horrible stench of toilets and later cigarette smoke. Disgusting.

Expect things to be broken; the door handle fell off immediately in our hand & the toilet seat wasn't attached properly.

The bathroom is a wet room which doesn't really dry out - having to dry your feet every time you use the toilet is annoying!

No kettle for teas and coffees, no safe, expect bed sheets rather than any kind of duvet.

One night, we were heading out & one staff member asked us to hand in our room key. We weren't expecting this and questioned why we had to hand it over. Having your room key on you gives you peace of mind that everything's safe, so this unnerved us. The owner came over & said they do this so that the customers don't lose the key while they're out...something which we found highly odd & very distrustful. Why shouldn't we be trusted to look after our own room key?

SUMMARY

This will do if you're on a tight budget. It's cheap, there's a bed and running water. If you can pay more, do!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel manger was great and we were so close to everything! Massages every night next door and our Tuk-Tuk driver picked us up here to take us to Angkor Wat. We got a taxi to take us make to the Thailand border.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled across this guesthouse after leaving the absolutely awful garden village guesthouse just down the road. We didn't have a reservation and walked in at 10pm at night hoping they might have something to offer us. They did and it was fantastic.
Room was beautifully made up, clean, lovely decor. Bathroom was also good with a very hot shower.
We got a double room with aircon for $18 a night so good value for money.
The guesthouse is in a good location within easy walking distance to pub street.
We got up early both days we stayed at the place and had breakfast on the veranda. I honesty felt like I was in the early 20th century - drinking tea and listening to classical music. It was just so relaxing and welcoming.
The reception staff were really friendly and there was a computer that actually worked at a reasonable speed in the reception.
I honestly did not want to leave this place I enjoyed it so much.
Thanks for a great stay arboretum guesthouse - if I'm ever back in Siem Reap I will definitely be back!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Chhnang, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just before Christmas our third visit to Siem Reap and the wonderful Arboretum. Mike, Ron and Samantha really know how to create a friendly welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are very pleasant and spacious and they are kept clean and inviting. The staff are always so friendly and remembered us from last year. Sok and Bopha on reception are just the loveliest people and do anything to make our stay relaxed and happy.
The Arboretum is right near the old market area and pub street but away from the chaos and mayhem. It is so easy to rum up town for a bargain or a tasty meal then settle back on the verandah or in the garden at Arboretum away from the racket. And the night market is just around the corner. So convenient. Really, why would you want to stay anywhere else in Siem Reap!

Room Tip: The street side rooms are a bit noisier but they are also cooler. I just use ear plugs. Let's fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

From the moment I walked in the owner (Ron) was very welcoming and the place has everything you need. Clean rooms, friendly staff, classical music in the lobby, it's got character and seriously generous hosts. Staying here felt very personal opposed to other places in Cambodia. If I'm ever in Siem Reap again this is where I'll be staying.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I very rarely write reviews – however this Guesthouse was worth the effort – I am currently sitting at their computer in the foyer (that actually works (although a bit slow)) – with a melodious selection of classical music ringing in my ears.

I will be staying at this Guesthouse for one week and it is a very pleasant experience - very clean - beds comfortable. - bathroom a good size and including hot water (with actual water pressure – a ‘Bonus’ ;o) - ) the room I stayed in (6) had lots of light & great natural air flow (which I love) having two large windows with insect screens for personal protection.

The staff is friendly, efficient and extremely helpful with a good command of English. The location is perfect – just fifty metres from the main streets and restaurants, yet still very quiet - for day or night sleeping – whichever is your choice.

I would highly recommend the Arboretum Guest House in Siem Reap, as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arboretum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arboretum Guest House

Address: Sok San Road, Stung They, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 382 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A twelve bedroom guest house on Sok San Road five minutes from the main pub street where all can be found. All rooms are en suite, air con/fan twins, doubles, fridge, TV plus free water and wifi. Choice of breakfast, continental or English, iced draught beer and other beverages available plus free iced tea of coffee all day, reception 24 hours, European run... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Arboretum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arboretum Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.