We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vicki - Australia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arboretum Guest House

Save Saved
You added Arboretum Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arboretum Guest House
Sok San Road, Stung They, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 324 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
kathmandu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Vicki - Australia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was travelling from KL and was very ill with gasro when we arrived in Siem reap. We looked at a few old looking,smelly and shabby places for $15 pe night. and then came across the Aboreteum [because it used to be called the red piano] and was delighted by the newly painted rooms that were clean , had a small fridge , mosquito netting on windows and a good fan. Great English guys running it that were both helpful and not intrusive. Well worth a little extra at $20 a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
41
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavalaire-Sur-Mer, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was lokking for a room and all places were full:(
I stoppped in front of Arboretum Hotel.... what a nice place to stay..
Staff is fantastic, always smiling and there for you..
Rooms are clean, comfy, spacious..
Well situated in a quiet street, 3 min walk to pub street ;)
You'll enjoy it;)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre del Mar, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I just turned up and paid $22 a night. Easy check in and chat with the owner sitting nearby. Large comfortable room with mosquito proof mesh on windows which allowed you to see out OK and while the air can get in, they can't. Clean room of a good size. Even a small refrigerator so I could have some cold drinks, etc in it. Air conditioning, TV with lots of channels, and good wifi. Computer downstairs for common use of internet and I brought up my Vietnam air ticket on it and they printed it off for no charge. A few minutes walk to main street of town. A little noise at night from a nearby bar (closed at 1am) but I went back to sleep almost immediately and stayed asleep. Lots of eating and drinking places close by as well as mini marts, and travel agents. Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: No lift but stairs are easy for a person of average fitness and luggage. I prefer high up, and an ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went for long family holiday & stayed in Arboretum on Dec 27th-30th. We were bus hopping from Phnom Penh & then continue to Bangkok. We really enjoyed our stay in arboretum, since Mike & Ron are very helpful & nice to chat with. Their dog, Cozy, even entertained our kids, its very homey!!!
Wi-fi provided is beyond expectation, fast & reliable, so you can update your holiday to homeland.

The rooms were clean (we had 3 rooms for 6 persons) while the staff were very helpful & fast as city's standard (note that most of services in Cambodia come in "slow motion", you'll get what you asked, but it'll test your patience).

Its location is the best, only 5 mins walk to Night Market (souvenirs), ATM(s) & Pub Street (you wouldnt want to miss while in town), so certainly will cut tuk-tuk costs to do your "holiday errands" lol. But no worries, cos the rooms are quiet, you can hardly hear any noise from here.
Laundry by bulk (in kilograms) is just next door & can also do express, 1 less hassle for long holiday goers.

In short; it was our best decision to stay there & definitely will come again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed here on 2 occasions - the last being for 10 nights in Dec12 - Jan13 Wonderful atmosphere, spacous rooms with all amenities at very good rates, terrific and helpful staff, breakfasts and dinners are perfect, wonderful management, close to heart of town (shops and restaurants), and most of all it is extremely relaxing to be there - we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Book a double if your partner snores (we both do so this worked for us)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Arboretum Guest House for 5 nights with our 2 teenage children. It had been highly recommended to us so our expectations were high. From the minute we arrived we had a great time. The rooms were very clean and serviced daily. Ron and Mike were very helpful arranging guides, recommending places to eat and things to do. The little beer garden was the perfect place to relax at the end of the day and meet other travellers. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful when our daughter became unwell. The guest house is perfectly located a short walk from Pub Street. I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great location in Siem Reap but without being too noisy. Hotel staff were very kind and accommodating and the hotel managers hospitality was superb. The bedrooms were basic but clean. Breakfast is usually served at 7 but they served us breakfast at 5am as we were up early for the sunrise at Angkor Wat (which was also organised by them at a very good rate).
I recommend it!
No swimming pool but there is one within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arboretum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arboretum Guest House

Address: Sok San Road, Stung They, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A twelve bedroom guest house on Sok San Road five minutes from the main pub street where all can be found. All rooms are en suite, air con/fan twins, doubles, fridge, TV plus free water and wifi. Choice of breakfast, continental or English, iced draught beer and other beverages available plus free iced tea of coffee all day, reception 24 hours, European run... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Arboretum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arboretum Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.