We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home! ;-) the best guesthouse ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arboretum Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arboretum Guest House to your Saves list
Arboretum Guest House
Sok San Road, Stung They, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 382 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A home from home! ;-) the best guesthouse ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We came for 2 days..we stayed for a week!! This was mainly due to the amazing, friendly staff and owners! Managed by the lovely Irishman Ron, our group, 6 people aged 26-32, were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived! Bright, well decorated rooms, air con, hot shower, cable tv..all at a very reasonable price! The guesthouse itself is a 2minute walk from the nightlife and night market with lots of nice restaurants nearby! It is approx 20minutes from angkor wat and 30minutrs from the lake! By night the guesthouse is nice and quiet..we honestly couldn't have asked for more! If your stay includes a Friday night make sure you sample their legendary fish and chips! I can promise you this, if you stay here you will not be dissapointed..but might struggle to leave!!
Thanks again for everything,
Amy xx

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
44
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

After two other OK guest houses found Arboretum and loved it so much stayed two weeks.... I have the time ! Cool music, delightful English-Irish owner-managers Mike and Ron all out to make it fun and welcoming,shady garden with bar and all located on a quiet street just minutes from the centre.
Plus of course all the necessities - clean, quiet rooms with the latest fittings in showers, cable TV etc all recently restored and tastefully decorated this is the best GH I have stayed in SE Asia ( and that's been a few !)
Can't recommend it highly enough....and the price is OK too.

Room Tip: There are only twelve but prefer the eight at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Like a home away from home. We found Mike, Ron and staff very helpful on all our travel requirements. The rooms had absolutley everything we needed and were thoroughly cleaned every day. It was a pleasure to come back each day after a hard day of being a tourist.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

After checking several Guest Houses in the area I believe that this one is at the top of the list in terms of quality and comfort. Arboretum Guesthouse is new, clean, quiet and the staff are amazing to deal with. It has been a while since I stepped foot into a guest house in Asia of this standard. I would recommend this place to anyone who is interested in a good night sleep, away from the pounding base of the bar street. It is located close to the old market area, Bar street and a list of other desired locations. It also offers free Wi Fi, hot water, and Cable TV. The rooms stylish, are cleaned daily and the staff can help you with organizing just about anything. The owner and manager are from the Uk and therefor keep things running smooth. Excellent experience and I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The rooms a very clean with tv, fridge and ac for a extraordinary good price. the bar and garden is very stylish and nice. only minus no breakfast. but there opposite and next to it breakfast places. the hotel is very quiet but footwalk to restaurants and pub street. coffee and tea is for free in the lobby. ask for room 13 it is a bathroom with good view and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

After wandering around the neighbourhood, we stumbled upon the Arboretum at about 10pm one night. Greeted by Ron, Mike, Ratha Sao, and Azi the dog, they could not have been nicer and more welcoming to us. The front desk boys are so hilairous and friendly. Orginally planning to stay 3 nights, we ended up there for 9. Every day or two we would come down and tell them that we were going to stay for another night or two and they would just laugh and understand why we wouldn't want to leave this great place. It is such a warm and friendly environment and so great for the price. A few minutes walk to Pub Street, several night markets, and many great restaurants, though completely quiet at night. Ron organized Mr. Lam to be our tuk tuk driver and he could not have been more lovely or helpful in suggesting where to go and when. Of our ten days there, Mr. Lam was our chauffeur for 5 and we were sad to leave him! The housekeeping is also awesome and our rooms were always perfectly appointed. There is a book exchange on each floor catering to many different languages, as well as drinks for sale in the lobby. There is a great continental breakfast, and a fabulous restaurant next door, Five Sons, which is both cheap, friendly and delicious! I LOVE the Aroboretum and would stay nowhere else upon my return to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Clean, tranquil and friendly, with central location. Excellent value for money, we paid $20 per night for family room with en suite bathroom and a/c. We had spent the past three nights in the Lonely-Planet-lauded Encore Angkor across the road - which sneakily added 10% tax to our $40-50 per night bill at the end - not so the Arboretum. English / Irish owner / manager Mike and Ron and their Cambodian staff are very accommodating and helpful. Fully recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in price (the two we saw were $20 and $30 per night respectively) so choose one that fits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arboretum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arboretum Guest House

Address: Sok San Road, Stung They, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 382 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A twelve bedroom guest house on Sok San Road five minutes from the main pub street where all can be found. All rooms are en suite, air con/fan twins, doubles, fridge, TV plus free water and wifi. Choice of breakfast, continental or English, iced draught beer and other beverages available plus free iced tea of coffee all day, reception 24 hours, European run... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Arboretum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arboretum Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.