We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cashew Nut Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cashew Nut Guest House to your Saves list
The Cashew Nut Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Psaa Krom Road | Vahear Cham Village, Svaydankum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 383 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Graz, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

if you are looking for a cheap, clean and friendly guest house in siam reap there is only one choice: the cashwnut guest house.
the rooms are clean, there is a nice roof top and the staff is so helpful and friendly. we (my girlfriend and i) stayed in a double room with air-con for about 20 dollars a day.
the city centre of siam reap with the pub street and the night market is only a five minutes tuk-tuk ride away. (it cost´s about 1-2 dollars and the tuk-tuk drivers from the guest house are very friendly as well)
you can also book the tuk-tuk drivers for a trip to the temples in angkor for about 15-20 dollars a day!!!
even if there is no swimming pool, you can use a beautiful pool only ten minutes walking away from the guest house. (7 dollars including a drink and a delicous dish wich you can choose from the menue)
special thanks to kemrak, who was one of the friendliest and most helpful employee we have ever met. he organized everything for us with a smile!
thank you again kemrak and greetings to the "nutters" from stephanie and peter from austria!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cashewnut19, Owner at The Cashew Nut Guest House, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks Stephanie and Peter for your wonderful review. We are super happy to hear you enjoyed your time here in Siem Reap and our services. Hopefully you can stay with us again soon! ;-)
Warm Regards
The Cashew Nut team (or Nutters!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    70
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
124
55
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Unfortunately I was not able to stay as they were full, but the owner Al, took time out of his busy day and gave me a wealth of information that undoubtedly changed my Cambodia experience.
Al is a very experienced tour guide of many years, and is happy to share his valuable information with you.
He set me up with a great tuk tuk driver that is one of a few he regularly works with, and if you do stay there be sure to ask for Bob. Speaks great English and is an instantly likeable guy.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed three nights at the Cashew. From the minute you arrive the staff go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome. I signed up for a great one day trip around Angkor, seeing the distant river temple, organised by themselves and their affable tuk tuk driver. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable- great value for money. I enjoyed my chats with Khamrak and the other staff and there's a lovely roof terrace where you can read. Recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed two nights at cashew nut. Very welcoming staff, we got cool towels and a glass of cold water, perfect after a crazy bus ride!
The owner is really friendly, helping us organizing a tuk tuk driver for our temple tour, recommending restaurants and places to go. Room is very clean and nice, with a small balcony. Breakfast and pickup from bus station included.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

For the low price paid, the Cashew Nut Guesthouse far surpassed our expectations. The staff are very helpful and the rooms surprisingly large. We stayed in both AC and fan rooms and both were good and had comfortable beds. The staff also provide you with a list of recommended activities and a schedule for visiting the temples which we found very useful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice little hotel, 10 minute walk from pub street and all the restaurants and market. Room was clean with great shower, ac and comfy beds. Staff were really great and helpful when booking trips. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staff welcoming and re-assuring, good breakfast, clean, good wifi, water and towels when we arrived, TV with dvd. A short Tuk Tuk ride or 15 min walk from great local food and markets. Great advice on where to visit and when that meets your time in Siem Reap. A great source to ask any questions about Cambodia. They organised the bus for us from Siem Reap to Phom Phen with no hitches. They recommended a great Tuk Tuk driver (Siehe) who looked after us extremely well on our 3 1/2 days in Siem Reap. You dont have to be a backpacker to enjoy this place. Has a real homely feel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cashew Nut Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cashew Nut Guest House

Address: Psaa Krom Road | Vahear Cham Village, Svaydankum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 383 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cashew Nut Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trip Advisor award winning Cashew Nut Guest house is situated only a short 8 minutes walk away from the lively markets and the restaurant/bar scene, making it the perfect place to base yourself during your stay in Siem Reap. Our newly refurnished, spotlessly clean, 9 room guest house has been designed to meet all travelers needs and requirements to ensure you don't have anything to worry about during your stay. Steve the manager has worked in the hotel industry for the past 7 years and has a wealth of experience, information and advice about traveling throughout the region which he is more than happy to share with fellow travelers. There is something for everyone at the Cashew Nut Guest House which promises 5 Star service at a budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cashew Nut Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cashew Nut Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.