We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff, service second-to-none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cashew Nut Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cashew Nut Guest House to your Saves list
The Cashew Nut Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Psaa Krom Road | Vahear Cham Village, Svaydankum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
1 review
“Extremely helpful staff, service second-to-none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, secure, and air-conditioned; for the price you can't really ask for much more. The buffet breakfast is free and impressively varied with lots of fresh fruits on offer, and they also have free wifi and bottles of water.

Just that would make it a good place to stay, but the friendly and enthusiastic staff really make this place shine. They arranged a reliable tuk-tuk driver to collect us from the airport and transport us around the various Angkor sights (according to an itinerary provided by the guesthouse) during our stay, they were happy to arrange transport to and accommodation in Phnom Penh for us and the owner Alan even spent some time sharing some invaluable tips (and comprehensive info sheets) for other places in Cambodia and Vietnam.

They really made what could have been a daunting few days into a stress-free and very enjoyable experience and I would encourage anyone visiting Siem Reap to stay here and benefit from their expertise!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    60
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
116
51
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

we realy enjoyed to stay at the cashewnut guesthouse. the staff there is very helpful, friendly and the allways open for intresting discussions. so we could understand cambodia much better!!!
the rooms are simply but clean! the breakfast is great, too. with fresh fruits!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cashew Nut May 20-23, 3 nights; and enjoyed our stay immensely. We are fairy sad to be leaving actually and wish we had more time. The B&B is about 15 mins from the airport via tuk tuk and they arranged to have their personal driver pick us up free of charge (tips are always appreciated obviously and $2 goes a long way here). We stayed in the deluxe room which was only $19 and included queen size bed, TV and good cable, hot water and running toilet, 2 free bottles of water each day (if you indicated you would like you're room serviced, leave them the key before you head out the day and they will take care of it), A/C and your own private patio with a great view of the street. Breakfast was definitely above average in my opinion and self serve including choices of water, bread with jams or PB, omelet, yogurts, fruits like mango/pineapple, coffee, milk, and cornflakes. Served 7-9 am everyday. The property also had a great rooftop patio with fans, pappasan chairs and tables, and a fifth floor view of the city. Tuktuks are easily available outside the property and getting to town will cost you $1-2. You can walk but it would probably take you 15 mins and it simply isn't worth it for the price of a ride. The owner Alan is a former tour guide and helped us put together a great Angkor itinerary for both days of our stay including a tuk tuk driver for $15/day. His staff is local, very friendly, professional, and will help with anything at the drop of a dime. Aside from breakfast, they offer $1 beers, water, and a variety of snacks only and will order in food for you for a $1 charge. Really great place and Siem Reap/Angkor is truly magical. Would definitely return and stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe was $19, on 2nd floor and looked out over the road and city. Other rooms were located toward...
See more room tips
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great guest house,with excellent, friendly and very helpful staff. Received a warm and genuine welcome upon arrival. Great value with lots of little touches making it a great base in Siem Reap. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christhchurch
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and have been delighted with the outstanding service at The Cashew Nut. It's such a nice refuge from the chaos out on the street and the staff are brilliant and will do their best to help you. We had Alan arrange us a tour guide (Ms. Alann) to take us through Angkor Wat/Angkor Thom etc, and I couldn't recommend her enough. The staff also arranged us a tuk tuk driver to take us out to the temples over two days - he supplied endless bottles of water for us and was very friendly and reliable. When you've finished at the temples it's nice to have a quick rest and refresh yourself before heading out again for dinner, and The Cashew Nut is perfect for that.

It is slightly out of the way, but that's actually a good thing as it means you'll get to sleep away from the constant horns of the traffic. It's a 3 minute, 1 USD tuk tuk ride from the old market/pub street area and all of the drivers seem to know how to get there.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Air conditioning. Cambodia is hot, you want a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in the deluxe room. It was basic, clean, safe and with air-conditioning. What more do you need? Always ready with advise on what to do, where to go and what drivers to use...what not to eat that you bought @ the market! Everything they suggested was wonderful, I only wish we were not quite so old and tired to have done more! Even after full days touring the temples you are still a decent walking distance into town or a cheap tuk tuk. Pub Street / Old Market really is an interesting night scene not to be missed either.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe which is upstairs, private balcony but overlooks the junction in the street. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stop searching and go to The Cashew Nut. Everything is perfect!!! The staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave us all the informations we needed regarding Siem Reap, Angkor Wat, journey to Thailand,... They booked for us a Tuk-Tuk to go to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat. They came to pick us up when we arrived at Siem Reap and they dropped us off to the bus to Bangkok. They can help you for everything!! The room was very comfortable and very clean. Good location in Siem Reap. The breakfast was very good with fruits, toasts, omelette, jam, butter, cereals, tea, coffee. When we left very early to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat, they packed our breakfast to take it away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cashew Nut Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cashew Nut Guest House

Address: Psaa Krom Road | Vahear Cham Village, Svaydankum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cashew Nut Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trip Advisor award winning Cashew Nut Guest house is situated only a short 8 minutes walk away from the lively markets and the restaurant/bar scene, making it the perfect place to base yourself during your stay in Siem Reap. Our newly refurnished, spotlessly clean, 9 room guest house has been designed to meet all travelers needs and requirements to ensure you don't have anything to worry about during your stay. Steve the manager has worked in the hotel industry for the past 7 years and has a wealth of experience, information and advice about traveling throughout the region which he is more than happy to share with fellow travelers. There is something for everyone at the Cashew Nut Guest House which promises 5 Star service at a budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cashew Nut Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cashew Nut Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.