We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people Comfortable place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cashew Nut Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cashew Nut Guest House to your Saves list
The Cashew Nut Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Psaa Krom Road | Vahear Cham Village, Svaydankum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Perth australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great people Comfortable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great place to stay, with one of the main features, being the knowledge and information freely given by the owner, Alan. he sat with us and helped plan our days and arranged guides for us for our trips to the temples. He also had lots of advice on places to eat and things to do around town. As, in the past he has been a guide for Intrepid Tours, he was also able to give us information about Laos and Vietnam. Unfortunately he spolit us with his first choice of tour guides, who's name was Alann, she was probably the best guide we have ever had and her knowledge of the temples was excellent and her English was also excellent. The other great thing was their Tukuk driver, Mr Bob, who arrived in a couple of minutes of being called and then drove you to wherever you were going and waited till you were ready to come back and bought you back. As to the place itself, the room was large and comfortable, with soft beds, the aircon works and the water is hot. Continental Breakfast is included and coffe and tea was available all the time. The staff were very friendly and some spoke better English than others but they are learning all the time.
We would highly recommend "The Cashew Nut".

Room Tip: Probably at the back as the light comes in a bit early in the morning at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    61
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
116
52
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

You couldn't have asked for better staff. Alan, Khemrak and co were always there to help with whatever you needed. Alan, having previously worked for Intrepid travel, was very knowledgable about Cambodia and Laos, which is where we are heading next, and was able to give us ready information on where to go, what to see etc. When we arrived we were given a suggested itinerary for visiting the temples, which turned out to be a fantastic trip by tuk tuk. Watching the sunrise at Angkor is a must AND at 4.30am, they will have a packed breakfast for you to take...win!!

The rooftop area was great for chilling out, watching sunsets etc...though maybe they could put a bar or just a filled fridge up there?! The room was clean with no problems except for the AC unit being pretty weak.

On leaving, the girls in reception gave us some Cambodian money origami as a sign of good luck, which was a very nice touch.

Would definitely recommend, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cashewnut19, Manager at The Cashew Nut Guest House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks also for bringing up a couple of things that required our attention. All our air conditioners are in the process of being serviced, cleaned and will blowing be blowing Artic Ice cold air in no time. ;-) We are looking into options for our awesome sunset lounge and have come up will a solution that should suit and enhance the sunset experience for all our guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review. We fully appreciate everyone's comments as it help us keep improving and to deliver the best costumer service that we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bludenz
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 5 days in Sept. and were really made to feel at home. Alan has some great tips
and Khemrak the manager always has a smile and an answer to every question. The beds are great (never slept better in S.E.A ). The rooftop is fantastic for chilling (great view) we also met some really nice fellow travelers there. Mr Bob, Alans recommended tuk tuk driver (Angkor etc)
is a really nice guy and very interesting to talk too. Resumee, great place,great service,very helpful smiling staff. Im planning our next visit !.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Can only agree with everyone else - this is in a top spot and good value for money, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean.

Free tea and coffee all day and the breakfast is all you need, if you need more it is not far to go.

I can't stress enough how nice the staff were, helpful, super friendly and smiling, always smiling - the rooftop is just lovely for a nice relax - lot of stairs though! the wi-fi was free and good reception all over. We were able to make a Skype video call to our son back in Australia and show him the view from the rooftop with our phone - very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here in april this year and it was the most friendly of places we stayed in our 2 months of travelling. The staff spoke great english and one lady had some fantastic stories to tell us and explained a lot of cambodian culture to us.
If we are ever that way again we shall definietly stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Albie, the owner is a not just a great guesthouse runner but a personal and friendly advisor to your trips. being new to Siem Reap he helped suggest a great itinerary, hired a trust tuk tuk driver for me and let me use their bike for free! I also cycled with Albie and Raw Travel, he was a great tour guide, always prepared and willing to cater to the groups needs.
The rooms are very comfortable and you can choose between different prices for the budget that suits you. Breakfast is even included, wifi and a nice distance away from the bustle of the tourist town.
No regrets staying here, and hope you say the same!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The selling point was the staff. The Cambodian staff was very friendly, polite and personal (one waved us goodbye when we left)! The Australian owner knows a lott about things to do and how to do it in a way young travelers like. He told us a lot, i repeat, a lot! He showed real interest in our stay.

Besides that the breakfast was the best we've seen so far (compared to other cheap breakfasts). They have a nice teracce in front and a rooftop lounge area.All of it was very clean.

A definit Top Choise in our opinion. We stayed there 3 nights this month.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cashew Nut Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cashew Nut Guest House

Address: Psaa Krom Road | Vahear Cham Village, Svaydankum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cashew Nut Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trip Advisor award winning Cashew Nut Guest house is situated only a short 8 minutes walk away from the lively markets and the restaurant/bar scene, making it the perfect place to base yourself during your stay in Siem Reap. Our newly refurnished, spotlessly clean, 9 room guest house has been designed to meet all travelers needs and requirements to ensure you don't have anything to worry about during your stay. Steve the manager has worked in the hotel industry for the past 7 years and has a wealth of experience, information and advice about traveling throughout the region which he is more than happy to share with fellow travelers. There is something for everyone at the Cashew Nut Guest House which promises 5 Star service at a budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cashew Nut Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cashew Nut Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.