We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pool and Palm Villa ~ The heart of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pool and Palm Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Pool and Palm Villa to your Saves list
The Pool and Palm Villa
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   137 Thmey Village | Sway Dangkum District, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Pool and Palm Villa ~ The heart of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Impeccable resort, service excellent, rooms wonderful, excellent location. This was my first stay at "The Pool & Palm Villa " with my hubby and 2 friends. The check-in was such a breeze and love the extra touches to my beautiful room which decorated in honeymoon concept ;). The porridge for breakfast is highly recommended. The surroundings within the resort is awesome and the pool is very clean. The staff was amazingly helpful with things and very accommodating. Will definately go there again.Thank you once again to both Rahim & Cees for a nice stay. Not forgetting to all the staff like Tai, Bun Leang and the others which I can't recall. ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
49
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Myself and 3 others shared a family room which was perfect for our party of 4. Our stay here felt like living in a village but with a better-looking house, not the hut-kind. It's very calm and peaceful. We didn't mind the occasional music from neighbours coz they weren't that loud anyway. Every one of the staffs were friendly and helpful. Not to mention the owners, Rahim and Cees, who were very casual in their approach. Best hosts ever! They suggested places to go and helped arranged for tuk-tuk to take us to places. You should check out their pool! My skin felt so smooth after swimming in it for the whole afternoon! It's treated with salt instead of chlorine, that's why. Prior to arrival, I had arranged a surprise birthday cake for one of our travelling party. On our last night, Rahim took the trouble to ride into town to get the cake and we had an awesome surprise for the birthday girl! Thank you Rahim and Cees! We hope to be back and see you all soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were so impressed with the villa that the staff escort us to our villa we thought we were in the receptionist office due to the very spacious common living room. The villa always felt so cozy even in the afternoon which made us so reluctant to leave the villa for tours. The location of the villa is not too bad. It's very near to the town/pub street. We actually walked back from pub street a few times while enjoying the cold breeze at night. We didn't have to worry about transportation at all because the staffs there were very attentive and helpful. They arranged everything for us including the transportation for the temples tour. Another plus point of the villa would be the swimming pool. I love it as i didn't feel i was swimming in chlorine like other pools. The pool is very natural and if i'm not mistaken the chlorine was replaced with salt, which is why i think it is awesome! They also serve very delicious food. My favorites are the fried noodle and khmer porridge (breakfast). Wish i could have more of that! No doubt this is one of the best places to stay in Siem Reap! The only thing i feel badly for would be not getting to meet the owner of the villa because he was overseas during my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived over 2 hours late as our flight was delayed, and being late at night we figured our hotel arranged pickup would be long gone. To our surprise he was not. We were whisked to the hotel, which is three separate houses amidst a stunning garden area. We were greeted by the manager and given a complementary beverage which was delicious, they even keep the kitchen staff later then normal incase we wanted to eat after the long flight.
Our room was massive, comfortable and clean. The hotel arranged a tuk-tuk guide for us to visit the Wats and temples. The guide "Kim" was great and one of the highlights of our trip as he was very knowledgeable and well spoken.
We also took a dip in the pool which was very refreshing and clean. The food is also very good for breakfast and dinner.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.

The only negative points if you can call them that. It is about 3 mins by tuk-tuk out of town, which is not a big deal as it is a free service from the hotel. and if we wanted to get picky the water pressure was pretty low, but who really cares about that stuff anyways when everything else is outstanding.

Go stay there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We traveled as a group of 4 in July 2013 and stayed in one of the villas. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Very cozy common living room for each house and perfect balconies in every room to sit out with your evening drink. Very affordable prices for the quality of rooms. The pool is awesome and you never want to leave it.
The most outstanding part of this place is the staff and the guys that run this place (who by the way are friends now as well). Cees and Rahim and their staff are doing a fabulous job of running this establishment in the true spirit that is needed to make travelers comfortable and feel at home. Thank you all for such a memorable trip and especially for all your help while we were there. Will cherish all the conversations we had with you. See you soon.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow this place is amazing! We are staying at Haks House which is very cheap and cheerful but after a couple of days in the heat we wanted a dip in the pool....Hak told us about the Pool and Palm which is literally just 5 doors down the road. The pool and gardens are beautiful and the pool is very, very clean. We were told we had 2 options...$4 for a soft drink and pool all day or $6 for a soft drink, food and pool all day...would recommend the $6 as the food is delicious (lok lak and fried cashew). The staff are also lovely!! Delighted to have found this place for a day off from sight seeing :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Pool & Palm is catered for families and matured crowd. It's slightly off from the main centre but at Siem Reap, tuk-tuks are everywhere. Therefore, you needn't worry. It is 300 metres on the west from Build Bright University. Pool & Palm is indeed a niche accommodation offering as the complexes are spread sporadically within the compound that's verdant with lush tropical bush and trees. The congregation point of this place is the swimming pool and the lounging area is where guests have their meals & checking their emails or even reading books whilst listening to the sound of tropical rain. Staff is attentive & be patient with their English because all of them originated from small villages. The family unit, which is by the main road is absolutely massive. Wi-Fi signal there is almost non-existent. Whenever there are Khmer funeral sessions held nearby, be prepared for continuous chanting amplified through loud speakers. There's nothing that ear plugs won't solve & it doesn't bother me at all as it accentuates further the languid nature of Cambodia being a tropical country. There are nice touches to the design but the infrastructure of the country is letting it down. For example, the waterfall shower head is useless without having adequate main pressure. Power plugs are not well thought out and they are located at interesting places. The hotel provides an ample of toiletries. The host, Rahim is an absolute charming & gentle soul, who has been dabbing into charity causes. By staying here, we are indirectly helping the staff to get an education as Rahim set up a scholarship trust to ensure that the staff would be trained with life skills so that they can look after themselves. It's all a holistic approach towards giving Cambodia a helping hand and not giving hand-outs. Highly recommended and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you require Wi-Fi facility, do request the rooms that are the closest to the pool. If you want s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pool and Palm Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pool and Palm Villa

Address: 137 Thmey Village | Sway Dangkum District, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pool and Palm Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pool and Palm Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pool And Palm Villa Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pool and Palm Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.