We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khmer Food and Khmer Family Operated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of For Life Restaurant

For Life Restaurant
The Lane | Mondul 1 Village, Sangakat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
(855) 12 545 426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 425 restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Cambodian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Khmer Food and Khmer Family Operated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Everything is good. I've eaten here most days for two weeks. It's fantastic food made with love by a Khmer family. A great way to explore Khmer cuisine. Tremendously nice people and cheap beer too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    47
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
farfar-n-away
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant run by locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This little restaurant is tucked away in an alley just off Pub Street. It is owned and run by a local Khmer family, with family members working the restaurant. Mom does the cooking.
Service is slow (believe only one person is cooking) but the food is worth the wait. Possibly some of the best Khmer food in town. Very fresh with excellent complex flavors. Portions are generous and very inexpensive. For a large main dish, $2.5-3.
Excellent restaurant!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My friends and I ate here a few times during our service/volunteer program, and we had a great variety of food all days. Our local tour guide ordered our food, and each day we were pleasantly surprised with what was placed before us. We tried veggie curry (my personal fave), potato soup, veggie tempura, noodles, the carnivores ate different meat dishes including frogs, and we had a banana dessert and another dessert that came wrapped in banana leaves (it was a gelatin-type of sweet treat). The Angkor and Anchor beer was cold and cheap, so that made it even more enjoyable. Overall, it was a nice place to have lunch. Good service, too. The only thing I can't comment on is the price - we had already prepaid for our meals thru the program, but our teas and beers were all about a dollar each, if that helps.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Stunning food, interesting surrounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We went quite early in the evening and sat outside and watched the lights of the surrounding eateries come on as they opened. Our order was the Mango salad as a starter followed by the fish amok a traditional Cambodian dish. Even us as non foodies found this delicious. We drank the local brew - Angkor beer and the whole meal came to 11USD really good value for money and sitting outside the people watching was fun.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious, delicious, delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This is a very very nice resturant with brilliant service, even better food and very cheap! We ordered appetizers, 3 mains 2 large Angkor beers and soft drinks all for $17.50. Very generous portions too! Highly recommend for anyone in siem reap. Will be heading back here for sure!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed For Life Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to For Life Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage For Life Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.