We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuisine Wat Damnak

Cuisine Wat Damnak
Between Psa Dey Hoy market and Angkor High School | Wat Damnak village, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
+855 77 347 762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 477 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $24 - $28
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We made a reservation for dinner based on previous TA reviews and a look at the weekly menu. This is absolutely the best value for the quality of food, presentation and service. Run by a couple, each week they create two price fixed menu options. Five or six course for around $25 US. Lovely home setting - on our way to the restaurant, we thought our driver was lost because it is not in the touristy area. But it is not to be missed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    96
    36
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“High expectations not quite met”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had heard so much about this restaurant and our expectations were very high. The meal was very good, and for the quality reasonably priced. The ambience in the restaurant is fine, although the tables behind us were moved around during dinner which was a bit disruptive. We were there with teenage children who were not to enthralled by some of the items on the menu, but all in all it was a very good evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Superb tasting menu in a peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked this by email a couple of weeks before leaving for Cambodia and it really lived up to its reviews. Superb six course tasting menu with a real depth of flavours and presentation accompanied by an excellent wine menu. Couldn't fault the food or service - a highlight of our trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“High Asian Gastronomie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was strongly recommended to that restaurant by one of my friend that had experienced it and extremely good feedbacks from his relatives.
I did an online and onsite reservation that was hold properly and kindly. It was reconfirmed by email.
The quiet setting with different athmospheres of rooms in an extremly tasteful setting make you relax as soon as you seat. You can chose terrasse, aircond room or the nice upper stairs rooms with open windows.
The best is anyway the food. I am a real gourmet and I am looking always for delicate surprising food. French chefs in Asia are opening french restaurants, but usually cooking french food with directly imported ingredients from France. It's not the case here, and really the adaptation of the Chef to local products with french delicate technique is wonderful. The taste of the different herbs in salad brought me directly to Luang Prabang, Vietnam or Thailand at their best.
The marriage of flavors, the setting of the plates shows a great knowledge of Asian tastes and a strong control of art from the Chef.
Highest congratulations.
From welcoming to setting, to food, all was perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hidden a ways from the bustle of the touristy part of the city, this refuge offers amazing food. We had the six course dinner on our last night in town and it was the perfect sendoff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuisine Wat Damnak also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cuisine Wat Damnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuisine Wat Damnak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.