We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tasting menu! A must go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuisine Wat Damnak

Cuisine Wat Damnak
Between Psa Dey Hoy market and Angkor High School | Wat Damnak village, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
+855 77 347 762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 509 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $28
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing tasting menu! A must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We are on our honeymoon and this was our best dinner so far! We both got a different tasting menu and split each course (6 courses for US $26!). We took a tuk tuk and loved going through a grittier neighborhood to this beautiful Haven of deliciousness. I discovered I love frog and beef cheek!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    106
    45
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“on a quiet street, but near hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just one menu for the evening, so call ahead if food allergies. Considers their menu Cambodian Fusion--great use of local ingredients, some French, some Khmer. Still trying to replicate their grapefruit meringue dessert and I don't usually even like meringue!

Very good food, great service, nice pacing. Easy tuk-tuk ride from any hotel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place for Dinner in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were told by our hotel that this place was the best for good Khmer food in Siem Reap. We were definietly not dissapointed. It was off the beaten track and a little hard to find walking in the dark (you might want to take a tuk tuk there), but that really added to the atmosphere for us. We had a 5 course meal that was fantastic and a great way to sample some very well prepared Khmer food. It is worth the visit. You just can't get a meal as good as this in North America for the price you pay here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding, Creative Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Loved our experience at Cuisine Wat Damnak. The set menu is reasonably priced, and included a variety of intriguing flavors and dishes. The service was outstanding, as was the communication from the restaurant when trying to make a reservation (a must, as we saw several groups turned away that arrived without a reservation the night we were there.) Would absolutely encourage anyone looking for a unique Khmer-fusion dining experience to try this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great ambience is to be found at this lovely out of the way restaurant. The service is excellent, as is the wine. The food however is the establishment's real draw-card. The two weekly menus consist of 6 courses of locally sourced and wonderfully cooked khmer inspired food that bursts with flavours and textures. Watermelon salad with dried fish, Seafood pancake with khmer sausage and yam and Langoustine with rice paddy crab yellow curry were amongst the amazing morsels on offer last night. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuisine Wat Damnak also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cuisine Wat Damnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuisine Wat Damnak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.