We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing relaxing day at the pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanell

Kanell
7 Makara Street | Wat Damnak Area, Siem Reap 00, Cambodia
(855) 063 966 244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 473 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing day at the pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Cannot rate this place highly enough! The pool area was spotless and very secluded even though it's in the heart of siem reap. It's free to use the pool all day as long as you spend $5 on food/drink you also get given a towel. The staff are amazing and provided us our meal by the pool side under a beautiful gazebo. I loved it here and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    49
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad but not good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a dinner here me and my family. The place is just beautiful and the service is very professional. The food though has been disappointing, knowing the chef and his wife were both chefs when they were in Paris. We ordered a filet de boeuf which came still iced at the table and two entrecôte really not good quality. The rest was ok but if you decide to go, I would not recommend meat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Confusing, awful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our last dinner in Siem Reap was here after reading all the excellent reviews, but we were so disappointed and let down. The setting was beautiful and romantic and the staff were good, however the menu was all over the place and the food was in edible for most of the dishes we ordered. The best thing about the menu was the French champagne we drank. The menu went from France to Cambodia, to India and Thailand, which is odd and it was very difficult to choose something which appealed. The amuse Bouche were two sad soggy salada biscuits with who knows what on there- I couldn't eat it. The smoked salmon entree was average at best, served with what looked like very white tip top bread. The spring rolls were definitely not made in house and a green mango salad was not green, it was ripe and terribly over salted, again could not eat it. Our dishes came out in an opposite order to what we had requested, and our dinner so bad, we cancelled another dish we had ordered, fearing it to be just as bad as the rest. Go for the setting and champagne, definitely not the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect steak and chips with a cracking Pinot Noir.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Tasty food with a good wide mix of western and local dishes to choose from. The surroundings were intimate and as long as you remember the bug spray, eating outside adds to the atmosphere. We drank a cracking Languedoc Pinot Noir - (worth trying a glass or two) and enjoyed Khmer dishes alongside a classic steak au poivre.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Aargau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“For a dinner for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The is probably one of the most romantic place in Siem Reap to have dinner. Not far from the city center and easy to reach the restaurant welcomes with a nice garden where a few seperated dinner places invite for an intimate dinner for 2 or more. The menue we got served by the friendly personnel was tasty and nicely arranged.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanell also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Kanell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.