We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good resteraunt and wonderfull pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanell

Kanell
7 Makara Street | Wat Damnak Area, Siem Reap 00, Cambodia
(855) 063 966 244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 508 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: French, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good resteraunt and wonderfull pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were looking for a nice pool to cool off, and we found Kanell - which functions as a restaurant and pool.
The pool itself is wonderful - very clean, quite large and sweet water - not overly chloridized. At least when we were there - we had it to itself. The pool is free but you are obligated to spend at least 5$ on food or beverages (no problem to do that whit their pool menu).

The restaurant itself is set in a pretty garden. Menu both local and western. All of our party loved their food. I had a steak that was really good.

The toilets are also very clean.

Prices are a bit on the high side - probably the only drawback.

We would definitely go their again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    59
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Super supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great food in a lovely garden setting, friendly service, delicious veggie curry one of the best I've had, overall good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great concept!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Since our hotel didn't have a pool and the ocean so to speak is a bit far away, we ended up spending our "days off" from the temples here. Lovely concept which means that you can stay for lunch, hang by the pool, have dessert, coffee, whatever. We never had dinner in the evening though.
Nice garden with lots of shadow to enjoy the meal, good food with reasonable prices. The pool is clean, you get to borrow towels and you have free access to the pool area if you order food or drinks for 5$ per person. Friendly staff too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“French Island ( but you will also be served very good local cuisine)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We love Asian food! But once in a while it is very nice to go for "Western" for a change. One place you can do that, and can do that very well, if you are in Siem Reap is the Kanell, run by a French couple. The entrecôte Bordelaise I ate there was as French as French can be. And if you prefer Asian cuisine, go there anyway. They serve very nice Khmer dishes as well! We had dinner at the Kanell twice during our stay, once on the airy terrace of the main building and once in one of the pavillons in the spacious, lush gardens (which can be very romantic, actually), and both dinners were very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Scenery with a Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Come for lunch and go for a swim, the food is french and cambodian and mixed wonderfully together. For the price of a drink, one has access to a very nice swimming pool (and bar and food service) or one can dine alfresco throughout the very private and well maintained garden. The restaurant is very accommodating for small or larger groups (as well as children).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanell also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Kanell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.