We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to watch the world go by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambodian Soup Restaurant

Cambodian Soup Restaurant
Pub Street | Mondul 1, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
+85515999909
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 478 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Continental, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to watch the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A great place to watch the world go by - especially with a glass of Angkor draft beer at 50c.

Comfortable chairs for drinking and people watching - although a little less so if having a meal. Reasonably priced 'snacky' dishes like spare rips and eggplant. They have a BBQ grill and also offer cooking classes.

A nice place to relax.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    68
    23
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We just keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Cambodia Soup staff are amazingly friendly. From the first time we stepped in for a drink we have been remembered and well looked after..we were interested in going to the first ever kickboxing event in Siem Reap and they went out if their way to find out as much info about it for us...They wave to us when we walk past with a big grin on their face so happy to see us and so excited to tell us they saw us on tv at the kickboxing. The rice paper rolls are just amazing and make for a great snack with an ice cold beer...everytime we are on Pub St we always stop for a break here :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Cheap Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate here twice, both times the food was excellent. I had the fish amok which I thought was really nice and my husband had pork spare ribs which were good. Second time I had grilled eggplant with pork, can't remember what my husband had.
Overall good food, reasonable price and great for a beer and people watching.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva York, Nueva York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Acceptable, needs to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Limp, dead noodles and overcooked broccoli and morning glory. One of the worst noodle dishes we ate in Cambodia. Amok, however, was very tasty although not very fresh. I guess that speaks to my partiality to anything with coconut milk in it. Still, if you are caught between after lunch-before dinner and are templed-out, this is a good spot to have a beer and watch the crowds strolling along Pub Street.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My Go To Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After six visits to Siem Reap in the last four years, I keep gravitating back to Cambodia Soup Kitchen both for luch and dinner. Partly because it is conviently located on Pub Street where you can spot familiar faces, invite them in for a drink or a meal, as well as meet interesting guests from all over teh world at teh next table; partly because it has good reasonably priced food (especially the grilled offerings cooked streetside) and because of the friendly staff many of whom I now know. Service as in virtually every Cambodian restaurant and bar is extremely slow and inattentive--but that's the way it goes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodian Soup Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodian Soup Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambodian Soup Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.