We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 times in 3 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il forno

il forno
the lane, off pub street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855-(0)-78208174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 425 restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We created Il Forno in 2011 after many years dreaming of opening a traditional Italian Restaurant outside Italy where we would serve authentic Italian food like our grandmothers used to cook. The only addition to our grandmother's kitchen was the building of an original stone brick fire wood oven from where to make pizzas according to the southern italian tradition. We pride to import every single ingredient ( veggie & fruits aside)on our menu directly from Italy and to make all our food home made and fresh daily. Our fantastic team of chefs/cooks start their day very early to prepare our pizza dough that need 10/12 hours before its naturally risen and to prepare home made tagliatelle, tortellini , gnocchi and so on , exactly like we used to in Italy half a century ago.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“3 times in 3 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had 3 delicious meals at il Forno and tried many items on their menus, all their dishes were over the top . Fresh seafood starters, perfectly thin crusted pizzas with premium Italian toppings, the sea crab ravioli with saffron and the sea bass with fresh vanilla we had for Christmas are probably our favorites. This was the most popular restaurant in town so book or head there before 6.30 or after 9 pm to get seated and to avoid waiting for your food. don't expect American or Australian style pizza here , all you get here is the authentic one!!!
Enjoy

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    447
    205
    45
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Siem Reap. The food is just delicious and the staff are really friendly. There is nice al fresco dining however because of this, it can get quite hot in the dry season. You can also bring your vegetarian friends there as there are also vego options. I personally always order the Carbonara (really authentic) and the Eggplant Mezzine thing (sorry, I don't know how to spell it but it's really yummy!). They also have a great tiramisu which can run out so get in early! It's not cheap but it's not expensive compared to the prices you expect to pay at home. The overall dining experience really makes you feel like you're not in Cambodia but down some alley way in Italy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disorganised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Being hard to find didn't put us off, but after ordering it took over 30 mins for the starters to arrive and we had to wait long for the main courses too. We were not offered bread or anything else while we were waiting, apart from breadsticks, which didn't arrive because they were 'all gone'. One main course didn't arrive until everyone else had finished eating, and was not as advertised on the menu: potato crisps replaced the vegatables...... We weren't expecting a top notch Italian in this part of the world, but it was still a big disappointment. The waiters are smiling and cheerful, but the service itself is completely disorganised.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very good Italian ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had pizza, caprese, eggplant parmasean and seafood skewers. Everything was delicious. Nice setting just off pub street. My only complaint is prices are a bit high for the neighborhood, and they don't take credit card.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent, bravo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Tried for two days to find this place, but it was so much worth the effort. The restaurant is down a lane way off Pub Street and not where our map placed it. We had the potato gnocchi in a four cheese sauce and it was simply divine - the gnocchi themselves melted in the mouth and were complemented by the intensely tasty sauce. Too often gnocchi can be rubbery and tough - il Forno's chef has learnt how to produce a gnocchi that is without equal. The deserts we had were also excellent. We will return to this restaurant a few more times before we leave, and I'd recommend that you search it out also

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il forno also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to il forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.